We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our Favourite Chinese in St Andrews” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Dining Room

The Dining Room
Ranked #106 of 141 Restaurants in St Andrews
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
St Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Our Favourite Chinese in St Andrews”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

Food at lunch is excellent value.
increases greatly for Evening A la Carte .
Quality of cooking is superb and staff very attentive.
Could do with a new stair carpet.
Everything else great.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank vincent w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    43
    28
    19
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Alnwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good food but nothing else.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

Had dinner here despite some poor reviews. Have to say the food is good but waaaaay overpriced. Service is bare minimum, menu is bafflingly long, in fact there's no point
listing everything wrong because I'd be here all day. a totally depressing dining experience however as I said before, the food is relatively good quality (although as in my case what is served may differ from what was ordered). If you still choose to eat here I'd suggest a take away and perhaps check your order before you leave to avoid disappointment.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dostania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“We will return.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

During a visit to St Andrews saw their menu and decided to go for their dinner menu. Had a really enjoyable meal. Starters and mains were really good. Two of us had duck for main which was as good as I have had. Crispy skin and melt in the mouth meat. The other person in our group had beef which arrived sizzling and the fact that we had empty plates with only rice left was testament to our enjoyment. Price was very good and service was just right after a slight wait for a table as the owner? was on the phone to a customer. We will go back again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank meandutrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Andrews, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrible Customer Service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

This is the last time we will ever use the Dining Room in St Andrews after previous disappointing experiences. The owner was the most awful woman I have ever had the misfortune to deal with. The restaurant messed up our telephone order, and then expected us to pay the difference before they would deliver to us, this was after waiting over an hour from placing our order and paying for it over the phone. The owner then blamed a junior member of staff and asked why we wouldn't FORGIVE him for his mistake! The difference in the price was a mere £3.50 but she was determined that even on an order of over sixty pounds, she was going to squeeze that extra few pounds from us, even though it was a member of her staff's mistake, and that it had been more than an hour since our order was placed, and still not delivered. I do hope our order was put in the bin and not passed on to any other dining room customers. NEVER AGAIN!!! They have disappointed us for the last time this time. Most of the staff who work there are lovely, but the owner is a nightmare woman to deal with.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank disappointed n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Andrews, United Kingdom
1 review
“best Chinese food in St Andrews and impeccable service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

By far the best Chinese food in St Andrews. The staff and service is very friendly and accommodating, great menu variety and tasty, fresh food. They also do take-away which is awesome for the busy student schedule and does not compromise anything in taste.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Haley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Dining Room also viewed

St Andrews, Fife
St Andrews, Fife
 

Been to The Dining Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing