We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic But Good Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
St. Nicholas Farmhouse
Ranked #47 of 73 St Andrews B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 June 2011

The location of this B & B is great, not far at all from the town centre and easy to find. Bill and Ann were both very welcoming to us and our nine month old daughter.
We stayed in a double room which also had a kitchenette, small sunroom and ensuite (it looked like perhaps it was a self contained annexe at some point for a relative). The room in general was quite tired and in need of updating/refurbishment, but was clean and comfortable.
Breakfast the next morning was quite nice and certainly filled a hole.
I think given the location, service and size of the accomodation this property is quite good value.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FifiDZure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (70)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2011

My son and I stayed here two nights, and our hostess could not have been more wonderful. Tidy, clean and well lit rooms, good sized bathroom, and wonderfuo breakfast. My son was worn out from the trip, and our hosts could nto have been more caring and accomodating. Room was large and very pleasant.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DMB52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2011

We stayed here for one night whilst on a driving holiday through Scotland in August 2007. I have fond memories of the warm welcome, and of Ann's fantastic breakfast. St Nicholas is exactly how a B&B should be: homely, welcoming, excellent value and very comfortable.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kauffmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2010

I was shocked at how much many places in St Andrews cost when I was looking and this place was on £30pppn for B&B, so as it was 1 night, we booked.

The location is about a 10 mins walk to the harbour and 15 mins to the main town, so handy and it is just behind the beach.
We had no issue parking as there was plenty of room.
Our room was very good. It was large and the bed was huge (2 singles fitted together properly). There was ample tea/coffee making facilities and there was a small fridge too. I would rate the room as 4*.

I am used to B&Bs asking you to tell them what time you want breakfast and what you want in your cooked breakfast the night before and then having it freshly cooked when you come down for breakfast. I was disappointed here though. With the exception of eggs, the rest of the cooked breakfast had been cooked up earlier and left in a warm buffet. It was not as hot as it should have been and the freshness was gone.

The owners were nowhere to be seen as they were away one a long holiday. We were greeted by a student and shown to our room, so not the usual nice welcome we have had at other places.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CazMoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2010

The room was nice with a small refrigerator. The breakfast was good and the location was close to St. Andrews.

Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank MaryQue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2010

As soon as we arrived at the B & B, we were immediately greeted by the lovely owners, Ann and Bill. We were given an enjoyable tour, with some helpful demonstrations of how things worked, like the door. They were amazingly friendly and helped us in every way to suit our personal needs: we were able to extend our stay for a few hours and our request to use the internet was swiftly granted.

During breakfast, we were given unlimited options of cereal and a range of fruit and juice to choose from. We thought that was the end, but we were also served full English breakfasts with white and brown toasts. We had the choice for how we wanted the eggs as well: the variety is from poached to scrambled to boiled.

The room we stayed in was spacious but at the same time, it felt very cozy, just like home. The ensuite was immaculouly cleaned to high standards with no traces of dirt. We also found generous packets of biscuits and cookies for us in the room and can we just say that they taste amazing? The heating is always on and there is a good ventilation system - we were never too hot or cold. We also found that the furnitures were placed with considerable thought and care within the room and ensuite: we thought putting a chair in the ensuite was very convenient. We were surprised that there was another room in the B & B, especially designed for wheel chiar users. Also, in the porch and hallways, there are sensor lights, which proved to be very helpful, especially at night time.

The location is ideal: it is very close to restaurants and shops in the town centre. To add to this as a bonus, the beach is only a 5 minute walk away! The neighbourhood appeared friendly and helpful, so you could go out with peace of mind whilst leaving your car at the car park.

We felt this B & B would make a good alternative to staying at an expensive hotel, with the feeling of being at home, which most places fail to provide. We would recommend this anyone visiting St Andrews and we would certainly be going to this B & B if we have the chance to visit the town again.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rainb0w9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2009

The Californians, being on their honeymoon, were obviously blinded by love!

The entrance appears to be the back door of the farm house so we were conducted past a row of hooks draped with coats and through a dim corridor and staircase where the lights are controlled by motion sensors. This is not satisfactorily safe as you have to descend several stairs in the dark before the lights come on. We saw no notices in relation to action in the event Fire.

No complimentary toiletries other than soap so bring your own shampoo and shower gel. The toilet area was less than gleaming and a large dish on the window sill, like the lampshades in the bedroom, was coated in dust so thick it was becoming fluff. Of the pile of towels presented, no two matched. There was nowhere, like a shelf, to put one's toiletries nor were there any towel rails - in the bathroom of a room for four people - no towel rails!!! A good comfortable bed but, although the room was spacious, it was only superficially clean and the biscuits were not replenished after our first day.

No choice of fruit juice at breakfast and, if required, more orange juice has to be asked for. Toast comes as two brown and two white regardless of preference. Fruit and yoghurt are available and there is a good range of cereals. Whether you are ready for it or not, a plate bearing your one fried egg (no option of two) is laid on a hostess trolley to get cold whilst you finish your cereal. A cat was seen to be prowling on a counter top in the kitchen. The kitchen, dining area and adjacent open-plan lounge were all untidy and, as such, unwelcoming.

Bill and Ann are pleasant enough and almost overly attentive folk but how they achieved 3 stars is beyond us. We rely on the star system and this is the only time in many years that we have felt it failed us. We are not allergic to cats but I do not expect one to be brushing against my legs whilst I am eating. There is no place for family pets in a B&B dining room. The location is conveniently close to the beach affording a pleasant walk into town.

The tariff is rightly cheap but for our next visit to St Andrews we will pay more in the hope of tidier and more hygienic accommodation more worthy of its stars.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toptravellingman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
0.7 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#3 of 17 in St Andrews
427 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ardgowan Hotel
Ardgowan Hotel
#9 of 17 in St Andrews
526 reviews
7.4 mi away
Drumoig Golf Hotel
Drumoig Golf Hotel
#1 of 1 in Drumoig
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#11 of 17 in St Andrews
688 reviews
5.7 mi away
The St Michaels Inn
The St Michaels Inn
#1 of 1 in Leuchars
126 reviews
6.5 mi away
Vicarsford Lodge
Vicarsford Lodge
#3 of 3 in Leuchars
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Nicholas Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Nicholas Farmhouse

Address: East Sands, St Andrews KY16 8LH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in St Andrews
Price Range: £66 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Nicholas Farmhouse 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your St. Nicholas Farmhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Nicholas Farmhouse St Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing