We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and tasty”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
St. Nicholas Farmhouse
Ranked #47 of 73 St Andrews B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 July 2013

It is situated on the east sands of st. andrews and you need a car to go to the city centre. The room was a little bit older furnished but was comfortable and it was almost a flat. It included a living room and a little kitchen with a fridge and a microwave. The breakfast was a full scottish one and you could help yourself to as much as you liked.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RubnerU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (71)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2013

We stayed at a number of hotels, B&B’s and Self-catering Cottages during our six week visit to the UK. We looked forward to our last number of days in the UK in St Andrews as we were also attending a conference at the University of St Andrews. Unfortunately, for all the good ratings it got, St Nicholas Farmhouse was a big disappointment for us.
Everywhere we’ve stayed, we were surprised at the extent to which our hosts have gone to make us feel welcome and at home. We were also impressed with the fact that everything was meticulously clean and tidy.
Firstly, I can't say that our host made us feel welcome as she was going on about how busy she is and that she is only working part-time at St Nicholas Farmhouse.
Our first experience, walking into the house was the smell of mould and cat urine. Although the room was spacious, the bed was not nearly as neatly made as any of the other places we’ve stayed. To be honest, we did not feel comfortable to sleep at St Nicholas Farmhouse.
Needless to say, we were very disappointed and decided not to stay. As it was already 4:30pm, we found ourselves in a real predicament. Fortunately, the guys at Information helped us to get accommodation. Unfortunately finding a place at such short notice came at a price that cut deep into our budget.
I’m glad for all the good comments elsewhere on this site but it was definitely not our experience.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BasievanRooyen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

My sister and I spent 5 nights. Although the owners were on holiday, Evelyn took excellent care of all of our needs while we were there. The room was spacious (bedroom, kitchenette with microwave, teapot, and mini-fridge, bathroom, and sun-room with television) which was great for the longer period. The breakfast always always featured fresh berries and was cooked to order. The walk in town was easy either by beach or more directly -- and being out of the busy center was perfect. Freckles the cat was a fast friend, too!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sg4427408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We were lucky to find St. Nicholas Farmhouse for a one night stay in St. Andrews (I had a hard time finding somewhere that would just take us for the one night!) We were greeted by the housekeeper when we arrived early to drop off our luggage. Our room was great with a king size bed with also 2 twin beds. The location could not have been better as we walked on the coastal path into St. Andrews which was only about a 10 minute walk. Breakfast was very good too!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovetotravel2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Bill and Ann are the lovely hosts of St. Nicholas Farmhouse - a cozy B&B along the sea in St. Andrews. The room my girlfriend and I stayed in on July 2013 had an ensuite bathroom, kitchen area, king size bed and walk out sunroom with a view to the backyard. Breakfast was delicious - eggs, bacon, sausage, tomatoes, sauteed mushrooms, fruits, yogurt, cereal. You name it they had it. I would definitely recommend St. Nicholas Farmhouse!!

PS. there isn't a swimming pool or fitness centre - it's easy to take a jog down the beach though!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michaelj1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

We stayed for one night on our journey home from Shetland.
Large room with 4 beds in in 2 singles and a king size(another 2 singles-together) with spacious ensuite.
Clean and well presented.
Little touches like biscuits and fridge with bottle of water in room were nice.
Breakfast was a bountiful feast of cereal,fresh fruit,yoghurt,full cooked buffet and toast.
Bill and Ann were great hosts with lots of tales about there travels.
Easy 5-10min walk into town along costal path into town is also a treat.
Slept really well and would definately stay again

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelBeeDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Our overnight stay at this B & B was really comfortable, I loved the room which had a separate television, seating area and a little kitchenette. I would have been happy to stay longer. The breakfast was lovely with a lot of personal touches, like the fresh berries, the chocolate on the side plate and a great selection of lovely jams. I would definitely return again. Ann and Bill were great hosts and we listened to many interesting stories about their travels around the world.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JJEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
1 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#6 of 17 in St Andrews
420 reviews
0 mi away
Vicarsford Lodge
Vicarsford Lodge
#3 of 3 in Leuchars
39 reviews
5.1 mi away
Kingsbarns B&B
Kingsbarns B&B
#3 of 3 in Kingsbarns
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa
7.5 mi away
Drumoig Golf Hotel
Drumoig Golf Hotel
#1 of 1 in Drumoig
229 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Inn at Lathones
The Inn at Lathones
#1 of 1 in Lathones
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Nicholas Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Nicholas Farmhouse

Address: East Sands, St Andrews KY16 8LH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in St Andrews
Price Range: £68 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Nicholas Farmhouse 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your St. Nicholas Farmhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Nicholas Farmhouse St Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing