We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to beat”

West Port Bar & Kitchen
Ranked #42 of 149 Restaurants in St Andrews
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Business meetings, Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

We came to Westport for dinner after spending our bank holiday in st.andrews. Although not full there was a lovely buzz and a warm greeting. We were shown to a nice table in the window and ordered off the "dine out" menu. This was very good value and although anxious as to what we would get we were not disappointed. Food was excellent value for money and with the gentle persuasion of our waiter (rory?) we went for a rather nice bottle of wine. Thoroughly enjoyed our day in st.andrews and west port was a great end!

Thank Ashclark14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WPBK, General Manager at West Port Bar & Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Hello. I am so glad that you enjoyed your meal with us & thank you for giving us a fab review on tripadvisor. Hope to see you next time that you are down our way :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (397)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

251 - 255 of 397 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2014

We took advantage of an "Itison" promotion which offered a choice of main course and and a pint of beer or glass of wine for 2 people for less than £14. You are never sure just what to expect with this type of promotion but on this occasion the West Port exceeded all our expectations. The service was friendly and the food was well cooked and plentiful.

If it had not been for the Itison promotion we would not have considered the West Port but we will certainly return.

Thank joabil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WPBK, General Manager at West Port Bar & Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2014

Hello

Thank you so much for your fantastic review that you gave us on Tripadvisor. You are right that you never do know with the likes of the It Is On promotion if you are getting a bargain or not - but I sure you will agree that this one is almost too good to be true. I am so glad that we lived up to your hopes and look forward to seeing you again.

Kindest regards
Jim & West Port team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Enjoyed the food very much. Ambiance was modern and inviting. Service was great and with a smile. Highly recommended!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank nyuoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WPBK, General Manager at West Port Bar & Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2014

Thank you so much for your fantastic review on Tripadvisor. I am so happy that you enjoyed your meal with us & that the team looked after you so well.

Many thanks
Jim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

Have been here a few times but the last one was disappointing. The staff are lovely and very welcoming but the food is letting it down. Size of portions and quality not up to usual standard. Had the vegetarian pasta and it was luke warm and missing the chilli so was very bland.

Thank Poohbear50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WPBK, General Manager at West Port Bar & Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Hello

I am sorry to read that you were disappointed again with your food when visiting us. It is such a shame that our food does not appear to be to your liking, especially as we are receiving such great feedback from our many of hundreds of diners each week at the moment. On a happier note though it is great to read that the staff have been looking after you when you have been in and that you took the time mention this is greatly appreciated.

Many thanks
Jim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We visited on Thursday 10th April on arrival we were well looked after by the waitresses they were very helpful as we had a 10 week old baby in our party and ensured the baby was catered for but can't say the same about the meal we had we ordered 4 steak pies and a hot dog and chips. When our meals arrived the steak pie looked good not for long as we cut into it the gravy was watery and tasteless bottom of the pastry was a soggy mess the veg was cold the only thumbs up was my grandsons hot dog. Then had to wait an eternity on the sweets when they did arrive the donuts were cold not as described on menu it said hot donuts with chocolate sauce we did ask or them to be heated up this wasn't a problem we were looking forward to our meals as we had trailed St. Andrews looking for some where that catered for children and a menu that suited children we thought we had found the right place as there is many places to choose from that cater for children next time we vist st Andrews we will use the tail end chippy

Thank valerie02larbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WPBK, Manager at West Port Bar & Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Hello Valerie

I am sorry to read that you were not happy with the food when you visited us last week. This is certainly not the standard that we strive so hard to maintain and I am very disappointed about this. I shall be investigating this matter further to see if there was any reason behind your meal not being to standard.

Kind regards
Jim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed West Port Bar & Kitchen also viewed

St Andrews, Fife
 

Been to West Port Bar & Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing