We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great wee restaurant”

West Port Bar & Kitchen
Ranked #41 of 141 Restaurants in St Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Scottish, International, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, After-hours, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great wee restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

St Andrews was really busy on a Saturday night and we had almost given up hope of finding a place for a good meal (after walking the Fife coastal path for most of the day!) when we came across West Port. Just what we needed - good reasonably priced food, good friendly service and friendly atmosphere. There were also a few quieter parts of the bar to have a drink and watch sport on tv after our meal.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank dorothy g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    142
    43
    22
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great place, great food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

It was a Friday night in St Andrews and everywhere was busy, noisy and overpriced. Luckily we remembered the West Port. Lovely staff, very attentive, great food, No fuss, no drama just a lovely meal.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EileenMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Visited the Westport a couple of months ago for the first time in years. I must say that I love what they have done with the place. We just came in for drinks and my girlfriend sampled one to many of their cocktails(there was a huge list, something for everyone.) we had great chat with the bar man Andy and he recommended a few good cocktails, and where we should head after. Definitely be back soon

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joeyb1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent cocktails and lovely staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Recently visited Westport for drinks and dinner with a large group of friends. The food was good but cocktails were amazing, I particularly enjoyed the Ruby Slipper. A special mention goes to our waitress Lorna who was very attentive, pleasant and could not do enough for us to make our meal even more enjoyable.

Looking forward to visiting again soon!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cupar
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

I've been to the Westport a few times, and it never fails to live up to it's reputation. My fiancé really enjoys their wide variety of cocktails, and I love the choices of whisky and beer! We dined here recently and the good was exceptional. Andy, our server, was full of recommendations and I had the pulled pork which was amazing. I'll definitely be back. Thanks guys at the WestPort!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GeorgeyBe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed West Port Bar & Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to West Port Bar & Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing