We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for a Golf Trip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kinburn Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kinburn Guest House
Ranked #29 of 77 St Andrews B&B and Inns
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect for a Golf Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013

A lovely welcome from Elaine and her husband at this lovely guest house no more than 5 minutes walk from the town or the golf courses.Clean comfortable and good showers with a good breakfast at a time to suit. Finding somewhere with 4 twin rooms was excellent and parking nearby.
Will be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yowie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    8
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
15
24
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

I was taken by the tartan carpet and the wood panelling in the pictures. when we arrived after a 7 hour journey from London, we were welcomed warmly and for me, it couldn't have been better; an incredibly comfortable bed, crisp white sheets, super clean and wonderful hosts. We were there to see our daughter who is at the university and she was invited to come in the morning to have breakfast with us. all very very generous and welcoming.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 164Squirrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsingborg, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2013

We were a group of three and stayed three nights at the fantastic Kinburn Guest House.
We liked everything about the place, starting with Elaine making us breakfast in the morning, and ending with Derek waiting for us when we got home to hear about todays round of golf.

If you are looking for a friendly guesthouse with clean and large rooms this is the place to stay!

See you next year Elaine and Derek, we will be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stefan977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

Spent one night at this fantastic guest house when meeting with my former classmates for a reunion. Definitely THE place to stay if you are looking for a low-key accommodation with excellent rooms and service. Thank you, Elaine!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vlad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

My stay at Kinburn recently was perfect. I wanted basic accommodation for a one night business trip. The welcome was excellent, very friendly and helpful. The room was big, clean with an excellent shower and good quality freeview TV. There was a nice hospitality tray with cookies, tea coffee etc too. It's a good 'solid' old house so the chance of noise are very small, which was what I need! Breakfast was excellent and Elaine was the perfect host all round. Couldn't recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: Just pick up the phone and ask! We rely too much on faceless email these days!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tompy1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2013

We spend 2 nights at Kinburn Guest House in September and Elaine and Derek were lovely and excellent hosts. The Guest House is in a great location and and the rooms are clean and comfortable. The breakfasts were good and there was a choice of continental or cooked. Derek even gave us a lift into town for the wedding we were attending which was a lovely personal touch and greatly appreciated! I would recommend this lovely guest house to anyone wanting to have a home from home in St Andrews.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank I_luv_travelling2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

We loved our stay at Kinburn Guest House. Elaine and Derek were amazing, the food was exquisite, the room was huge and comfy, everything was spotless and the location was perfect. We walked all over St. Andrews and enjoyed the sites and sounds of the town. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WendeWylie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
0.2 mi away
Ardgowan Hotel
Ardgowan Hotel
#6 of 18 in St Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#5 of 18 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
0.3 mi away
Braeside House
Braeside House
#40 of 77 in St Andrews
5.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
34 Argyle Street Guesthouse
34 Argyle Street Guesthouse
#1 of 77 in St Andrews
5.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.8 mi away
The New Inn St Andrews
The New Inn St Andrews
#48 of 77 in St Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
0.2 mi away
Agnes Blackadder Hall - University of St Andrews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinburn Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinburn Guest House

Property: Kinburn Guest House
Address: 5 Kinburn Place | Doubledykes Road, St Andrews KY16 9DT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in St Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kinburn Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kinburn Guest House is located in a prime residential area of St Andrews, just two minutes walk from the town centre and five minutes to the major golf courses, sports facilities, the University, beach and the bus station, Kinburn is also ideally placed for both the tourist and business person alike and offers quality b&b accommodation. Kinburn offers luxury bed and breakfast accommodation to a maximum ten guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Kinburn Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kinburn Guest House St Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing