We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, warm welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kinburn Guest House
Ranked #27 of 72 St Andrews B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hampshire, UK
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great location, warm welcome”
Reviewed 19 July 2013

This was our 2nd stay and it was as good as the first. Great location, beautifully decorated and the breakfasts are very tasty! The bed was so comfortable - best nights sleep i"d had in a while. Not right in the heart of town but that meant it wasn't noisy and St Andrews is so small you can walk everywhere in 5 minutes anyway. Would definitely stay again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lostcommuter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    9
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
17
25
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St Andrews, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Myself and a fellow golfer stayed for 3 nights in late June at Kinburn Guest House. The house is so convenient for the golf courses, pubs & restaurants. Parking was no problem. The accommodation is absolutely spotless and of the highest quality. We thoroughly enjoyed the breakfasts that Elaine cooked for us. (Home made bread and jam is so good). I cannot recommend this guest house highly enough.
We have already booked another trip in September.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 375Carlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn, Washington, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Just spent a couple of days at Kinburn House with Elaine and Derek. Great hosts and very comfortable B&B. Would highly recommend to stay there while in St. Andrews. Very enjoyable!
Location was good and we could walk to The Old Course as well as the shopping and restaurant areas. The hospitality of the hosts was outstanding!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Myself and 3 friends recently stayed at the Kinburn Guest House, Elaine and Derek were wonderful hosts, the room was a good size and the washing facilities very nice. The location was excellent, no more than a 5-10 minute walk to the main golf courses and/or the main town centre. They gave us an excellent recommendation for dinner on Sunday and Derek even gave us a lift into town to the restaurant which was certainly above and beyond what we would have expected from our hosts. Breakfast was also excellent. In short i cannot recommend their B & B too highly and if i come back to St Andrews for another golfing break i will certainly make their B & B my first port of call for availability.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tom_uk1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duluth, Georgia, United States
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Very clean and comfortable B&B within a couple minutes walk to the center of St. Andrews. Bed was extremely comfortable! Parking was on a street across the road from the home, and if you arrive during the weekday, it can be difficult to find a spot until after 5PM. Breakfast was good, but not over the top.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LNH0613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013 via mobile

Elaine & Derek were excellent hosts. Everything was faultless - nice clean rooms, decent size & good breakfast. What more could 8 guys on a golf trip want?! Would definitely stay here again (if Elaine will have us!)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DAB60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

A lovely welcome from Elaine and her husband at this lovely guest house no more than 5 minutes walk from the town or the golf courses.Clean comfortable and good showers with a good breakfast at a time to suit. Finding somewhere with 4 twin rooms was excellent and parking nearby.
Will be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yowie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#13 of 17 in St Andrews
672 reviews
0.3 mi away
Braeside House
Braeside House
#41 of 72 in St Andrews
116 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairways of St Andrews
Fairways of St Andrews
#7 of 72 in St Andrews
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
No12 Bed & Breakfast, St Andrews
0.2 mi away
St Andrews Tourist Hostel
St Andrews Tourist Hostel
#17 of 17 in St Andrews
71 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Spindle Bed and Breakfast
The Spindle Bed and Breakfast
#39 of 72 in St Andrews
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinburn Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinburn Guest House

Property: Kinburn Guest House
Address: 5 Kinburn Place | Doubledykes Road, St Andrews KY16 9DT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in St Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kinburn Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kinburn Guest House is located in a prime residential area of St Andrews, just two minutes walk from the town centre and five minutes to the major golf courses, sports facilities, the University, beach and the bus station, Kinburn is also ideally placed for both the tourist and business person alike and offers quality b&b accommodation. Kinburn offers luxury bed and breakfast accommodation to a maximum ten guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Agoda so you can book your Kinburn Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kinburn Guest House St Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing