We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Girls weekend away”

Balmashie Premier Holiday Cottages
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Andrews
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Balmashie Premier Holiday Cottages
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Thank you for the stay in your beautiful cosy cottages! They were very comfortable, had everything you needed and the setting is stunning with sea views. We were very lucky to have sunshine the whole weekend as well. The only disappointing thing about the weekend having to leave but we will be back as we had one of the best weekends away!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (41)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2012

We stayed at Balmashie over Hogmany as our daughter was getting married nearby-we booked out all the cottages for the wedding party and we couldn't have had a better time! The location is stunning and the staff were wonderful. They were so accommodating and helpful-nothing was too much bother.

The cottages are very clean and have everything you could need. The bothy is a lot more modern and cosy-but all the cottage were nicely decorated and welcoming. some of the cottages are blessed with spectacular views, that are absolutely breathtaking. The location is perfect-so peaceful, yet very near to all the local amenities. It is also an exceptionally safe place for kids and a very peaceful place to relax.

We really couldn't have had a better stay. Thanks to the clean cottages, beautiful location and exceptional staff. It was brilliant!!!

Mary Conway
Hamilton

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryDolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

We booked a number of the cottages at Balmashie as a base for our wedding in July of this year. The service and standard of all the accommodation was absolutely first class!

Given the reason for booking the cottages, we asked Louise and Ian to assist us with a number of things which were probably over and above the norm - additional bed sheets for the various guests who came and went over our wedding weekend, barbeques etc etc. They were absolutely fabulous, with nothing being too much trouble. One of our most treasured memories from our 'big weekend' will be the time we spent at Balmashie surrounded by our friends and family. Simply amazing!

Room Tip: All rooms are great and the Bothy is fantastic...far bigger than the name suggests!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CammyandKateWatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Milton wrote 'Paradise Lost' --------- well Balmashie is 'Paradise Found'
We have just returned from our yearly holiday at 'Balmashie' [this being our eleventh year]
The reason we return year after year is we find it very relaxing. The cottages are very welcoming, well equipped, cosy and clean, and the settee's and the beds are very comfortable. The views are spectacular, and if you enjoy watching golf you will be well rewarded. There is plenty to see and do both in St. Andrew's and the surrounding area, both for adults and families.
Louise and Iain who are responsible for the bookings and organisation of Balmashie are great, and if you have any questions nothing is too much trouble.
We have no hesitation in recommending 'Balmashie' [we have already booked our holiday for next year]
Kind Regards,
Douglas & Pauline Mitchell

Room Tip: Whichever cottage you choose you are not overlooked, and they all have wonderful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MitchellsLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

Enjoyed a fantastic weekend with friends in Cottages 8 & 9. Very clean and great attention to detail - down to the coffee, tea bags, sugar and carton of milk provided so that we could have a much needed cuppa on arrival - as well as a nice packet of shortbread!!

A little way out of the centre of town but easy to reach by car or taxi and also enjoyed a substantial discount off the spa facilities in the nearby Fairmont hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank debstevenson99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2011

Lovely Views, we enjoyed the walk through the golf course every day, it was so peaceful. The perfect place to unwind.
The cottages are warm and feel cosy. The beds are comfortable.
The laundry is great, dried clothes very quickly, saves taking to much luggage.
We went to the world famous fish and chip shop in Anstruther, and all thought is was great.
St Andrews is also a lovely town to visit.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EFRALSTON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2011

Balmashie is great for families. Handy for St Andrews but also in the country. The house was well furnished if the pine units are now slightly dated but overall perfectly acceptable. A bit quirky was that the cutlery was really quite cheap and mixed and there were not enough forks. Not a big problem but something it would take £10 to fix.

Don't hesitate.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Turntheheatdown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
0 mi away
Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa
0 mi away
Drumoig Golf Hotel
Drumoig Golf Hotel
#1 of 1 in Drumoig
229 reviews
0 mi away
The Inn at Lathones
The Inn at Lathones
#1 of 1 in Lathones
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#5 of 17 in St Andrews
3,499 reviews
0 mi away
The Inn at Kingsbarns
The Inn at Kingsbarns
#1 of 3 in Kingsbarns
211 reviews
0 mi away
Pinewood Country House
Pinewood Country House
#1 of 2 in St Michaels
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balmashie Premier Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balmashie Premier Holiday Cottages

Address: St Andrews KY16 8PN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 19 Speciality Lodging in St Andrews
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balmashie is a charming development of 10 self-catering cottages less than 3 miles from St Andrews. We offer a haven for guests with well equipped cottages and spectacular views over the Torrance and Kittocks Golf Course and out to the North Sea. In the grounds we have a putting green, practice nets and a pitching green with bunkers. For those not taking part in golf we have access to reasonable rates for the Spa facilities at the Fairmont Hotel and are also only minutes from the Fife Coastal Path. For younger guests we have a play area, a games room and football nets. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Balmashie Premier Holiday Cottages St Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing