We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“As warm as toast” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Balmashie Premier Holiday Cottages

Balmashie Premier Holiday Cottages
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Andrews
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Balmashie Premier Holiday Cottages
St Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“As warm as toast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013

Our daughter and family, who live in Elgin, come to St Andrews each year around Xmas time to meet up with us. Unfortunately one of their children is severely asthmatic and is liable to react badly to our dog suffused house, no matter how assiduously it is cleaned before she arrives. Fortunately one of the Balmashie cottages is kept pet free, so we are able to enjoy their company for a few days.
Their youngest child was a bit below par for a day, but the heating was very effective and kept her as warm as toast while she recovered.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C_Donald_Sinclair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a 3 night stay at theses lovely cottages and they were just perfect. My sister was getting married at the kinkell Byre, so almost the whole family stayed here. There is loads of space for the kids to run around and it's within walking distance to the fairmont and the beach. There is everything you could need, tea, coffee, milk provided really comfy beds and lovely and clean. Thank you for a fantastic stay.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Katy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

I recently stayed in cottage number 2 with a group of 7 friends. The cottage was perfect - nice big clean bedrooms with lots of wardrobe space, big kitchen, massive comfy sofas and dining area. The people running the cottages were so kind and helpful - we couldn't have asked for more. At only a 5 minute drive away, I would strongly recommend Balmashie cottages to anyone (groups/families) looking to stay near St. Andrews.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lauren A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2013

We had a look at Balmashie on a previous visit to St. Andrews and decided to try it out on our latest trip. It was important that our holiday should be relaxing. Our past experience with B&Bs is that having to get up at a set time for breakfast and having to eat out in the evenings can be quite trying after a few days. Balmashie proved to be the ideal solution. The facilities in the cottages are excellent and they are so comfortable that we were happy to spend much of our time there. When not indoors we were out walking in the vicinity as the landscape around Balmashie is inspiring. Many thanks Louise and Iain... we'll be back!

Room Tip: We stayed in cottages 4 and 5 (4 person). Both were excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013

We needed pet-free accommodation over the Xmas period for our daughter and her family. They cannot stay in our house because one of the children is severely asthmatic and is allergic to our dogs.The Balmashie people could not of been more helpful in arranging for a suitable cottage and about returning a charger that had been left behind.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank C_Donald_Sinclair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forest Row, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

we had such a wonderful holiday at balmashie cottages this summer. Perfect for children and dogs- beautiful views, excellent equipment, comfortable living and much much more. We used the hotel near by for swimming, cocktails and lunch! So lovely knowing i can return to my home town with my partner and children, and have a fab place to stay!! just booking next year!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uist
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2012

We had a wonderful week at Balmashie Cottages from 13th to 20th October 2012. As our daughter was getting married at Kinkell Byre on the 18th of October, we decided to block book several of the cottages for different family members. The location is ideal and Iain and Louise are eager to please and are very efficient and thoughtful. The cottages are reasonably priced and were ideal for our needs; all are well-equipped, spotlessly clean and very cosy. The Bothy proved to be a peaceful haven for the bride as she prepared for the big day; in fact she liked it so much that the bride and groom decided to stay on there for a couple of days after the wedding. We have fond memories of our week at Balmashie Cottages and hope to return one day.

Room Tip: Cottage 9 has three sofas and all the rooms are on the one level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeigiTownsend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
0.0 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 18 in St Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,932 reviews
0.0 mi away
Morton of Pitmilly Countryside Resort
0.0 mi away
Vicarsford Lodge
Vicarsford Lodge
#3 of 4 in Leuchars
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Drumoig Golf Hotel
Drumoig Golf Hotel
#1 of 1 in Drumoig
4.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Inn at Lathones
The Inn at Lathones
#1 of 1 in Lathones
4.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pinewood Country House
Pinewood Country House
#1 of 2 in St Michaels
5.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balmashie Premier Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balmashie Premier Holiday Cottages

Property: Balmashie Premier Holiday Cottages
Address: St Andrews KY16 8PN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 17 Speciality Lodging in St Andrews
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balmashie is a charming development of 10 self-catering cottages less than 3 miles from St Andrews. We offer a haven for guests with well equipped cottages and spectacular views over the Torrance and Kittocks Golf Course and out to the North Sea. In the grounds we have a putting green, practice nets and a pitching green with bunkers. For those not taking part in golf we have access to reasonable rates for the Spa facilities at the Fairmont Hotel and are also only minutes from the Fife Coastal Path. For younger guests we have a play area, a games room and football nets. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Balmashie Premier Holiday Cottages St Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing