We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great fine dining experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rocca Restaurant

Rocca Restaurant
Ranked #24 of 141 Restaurants in St Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$26 - US$70
Cuisines: European, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, View
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: At Rocca St Andrews our recipe for success is a fusion of exquisite food with a backdrop of one of the world's most famous sporting locations - the Old Course. Like the many champions that have graced the hallowed course, we too top the leaderboard as one of only 25 restaurants in the country with three AA Rosettes in 2013 - a reward for the creativity and passion of the Rocca family. The stunning view over the 18th means guests enjoy much more than just a delicious meal. Our menu features Scottish cooking with an Italian twist. Fresh ingredients are sourced from artisan producers either on our doorstep or in Tuscany and there is something to suit every palate. With a real pedigree in both our front-of-house and in our kitchen, you can rest assured a visit to Rocca will live long in the memory. Come and visit us and let our passion for food become your passion for delicious dining.
Aberdeen
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great fine dining experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Had an amazing dinner here last night, both of us chose the filet steak and we agreed it was the best steak we have eaten! Really great service, attentive knowledgable and polite. Special thanks to Finn and Stefano (the boys behind the bar!!!) who were awesome banter and made us some excellent cocktails!!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Skennedy0909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocca G, Guest Relations Manager at Rocca Restaurant, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Thank you for your recent review on Rocca Grill.

I will convey your comments to Stef and Finn who do a great job in Rbar with the cocktails along with the "banter" !

Our beef is renowned for its supreme quality which you truly appreciated.

Thank you.

Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    342
    120
    42
    18
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Never Disappoints! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

This is my third time to the Rocca Grill at the Russucks Hotel on the 18th Green of the Old Course! What a treat to meet Mr. Rocca who added so much personality and attention to detail to the evening! We all loved our meals of lamb cooked in hay, pasta with lobster, yummy truffle fries, delicious creative homemade sorbets and little treats of strawberry macaroons! If you are in St. Andrews you need to make this restaurant one of your first choices!

Helpful?
1 Thank HollyG573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocca G, Guest Relations Manager at Rocca Restaurant, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear Holly,

Thank you for your glowing review on your 3rd visit to Rocca Grill.

The summer menu is full of local, seasonal Scottish produce and you seem to have experienced many of the skillful dishes created by our chefs. Our Anstruther lobster is delivered daily and the season is never long enough!

We look forward to your next visit.

Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

Visited two months ago for the first time and I am now dying to return. The meat quality is out of this world and the chefs definitely mastered the art of perfect cooking. Service is knowledgeable and our waiter was fantastic! We will definitely come back!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocca G, Guest Relations Manager at Rocca Restaurant, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear Andrew,

Thank you for your recent review at Rocca Grill.
We are renowned for our meat quality and ever changing seasonal menus which you have truly appreciated.
We look forward to your next visit.

Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
116 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Historic and good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

This rustic and historic hotel is fun to stay in. Reserve the front corner table in the dining room for 30 minutes before sun set and have a great dinner overlooking the 18th green on the Old Course at sunset. You will never forget the experience.... There were 8 in our party and we did it and will never forget the dinner...

Mike O'Neill

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CU4NO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

I've had plenty of meals in top restaurants around the world and this has to rate as one of the top ones. The service is quick and friendly whilst at the same time, I never felt rushed. The food was cooked to perfection and the selection of wines was as good as I've had. If you go to St. Andrews you are probably going for the golf and the views over the 18th fairway are excellent. This is a must if you visit the area!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocca G, Guest Relations Manager at Rocca Restaurant, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your fantastic review and appreciation towards all that goes together to make an evening as memorable for you at Rocca Grill.



Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rocca Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Rocca Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing