We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely graduation meal”
Review of Rocca Restaurant

Rocca Restaurant
Ranked #37 of 149 Restaurants in St Andrews
Price range: US$27 - US$73
Cuisines: Italian, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: At Rocca St Andrews our recipe for success is a fusion of exquisite food with a backdrop of one of the world's most famous sporting locations - the Old Course. Like the many champions that have graced the hallowed course, we too top the leaderboard as one of only 25 restaurants in the country with three AA Rosettes in 2013 - a reward for the creativity and passion of the Rocca family. The stunning view over the 18th means guests enjoy much more than just a delicious meal. Our menu features Scottish cooking with an Italian twist. Fresh ingredients are sourced from artisan producers either on our doorstep or in Tuscany and there is something to suit every palate. With a real pedigree in both our front-of-house and in our kitchen, you can rest assured a visit to Rocca will live long in the memory. Come and visit us and let our passion for food become your passion for delicious dining.
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We booked a long time in advance because of demand during Graduation Week and were surprised to bag the best view in the house! Stunning. Thank you.
Very good food. Oustanding cocktails too.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank chobhamlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocca G, Guest Relations Manager at Rocca Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your dining experience at Rocca Grill during Graduation Week.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit all enhanced with a window table!

Guest Relations manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (568)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

316 - 320 of 570 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

We had lunch here with our traveling group. This hotel had the most perfect view of the golf course and North Sea. Lunch was probably the best we had on our entire trip....poached salmon, salad with light vinagrette, and potatoes. We were celebrating some birthdays, so a delicious cake had been ordered and served for dessert. This was truly a wonderful stop on a Sunday afternoon before doing some walking around St. Andrew's.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank christa m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Ate at the Rusacks Hotel main restaurant at a table overlooking the Old Course Golf Course and the Club House. We had booked the table several days before to make sure we got one with a view, which I suggest you do especially during the summer months.

The starters were a delight of fresh scallops in a lobster sauce served with a selection of freshly baked local breads.

My locally bred fillet steak arrived cooked to perfection along with hand cut chips and a small selection of fresh local vegetables. The pepper sauce served separately just added to the fabulous flavour.

My wifes local turbot was just delicious and could not be faulted.

The service from the welcome through the whole meal was excellent, close enough to get accessed but not close enough to get in the way.

It is on the expensive side with costs include 4 glasses of wine totalling £140.00, so £70.00/ head.

If you wish to have a 5* meal in an international setting, you would have to look far to better this!

If you are going to splash out on one meal when in St Andrews I would suggest here.

It has to be one of the best meals we have had in the UK.

Although the Hotel itself is 4* , I would suggest this restaurant is above that... a great experience!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Demented999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Having recently visited St Andrews to play golf on the Old Course as a special treat, the experience was further enhanced by dining at the fabulous Rocca restaurant. Overlooking the 18th green of this historic course, Rocca offers excellent freshly cooked food made with locally sourced ingredients. I thoroughly enjoyed the starter of Lobster with Pasta made with saffron and my main course of spiced duck with peach.
Fantastic food served by friendly caring staff in an idyllic setting does not get any better than this. No visit to St Andrews would be complete without a visit to Rocca.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocca G, Guest Relations Manager at Rocca Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience at Rocca Grill which we truly appreciate.

Along with playing golf on the Old Course you then experienced great dining at this stunning location and all the seasonal dishes we have to offer.

I will relate your service comments to all the team at Rocca.

Thank you

Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Had an amazing dinner here last night, both of us chose the filet steak and we agreed it was the best steak we have eaten! Really great service, attentive knowledgable and polite. Special thanks to Finn and Stefano (the boys behind the bar!!!) who were awesome banter and made us some excellent cocktails!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Skennedy0909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocca G, Guest Relations Manager at Rocca Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Thank you for your recent review on Rocca Grill.

I will convey your comments to Stef and Finn who do a great job in Rbar with the cocktails along with the "banter" !

Our beef is renowned for its supreme quality which you truly appreciated.

Thank you.

Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rocca Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Rocca Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing