We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
Review of Rocca Restaurant

Rocca Restaurant
Ranked #32 of 147 Restaurants in St Andrews
Price range: US$26 - US$71
Cuisines: Italian, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: At Rocca St Andrews our recipe for success is a fusion of exquisite food with a backdrop of one of the world's most famous sporting locations - the Old Course. Like the many champions that have graced the hallowed course, we too top the leaderboard as one of only 25 restaurants in the country with three AA Rosettes in 2013 - a reward for the creativity and passion of the Rocca family. The stunning view over the 18th means guests enjoy much more than just a delicious meal. Our menu features Scottish cooking with an Italian twist. Fresh ingredients are sourced from artisan producers either on our doorstep or in Tuscany and there is something to suit every palate. With a real pedigree in both our front-of-house and in our kitchen, you can rest assured a visit to Rocca will live long in the memory. Come and visit us and let our passion for food become your passion for delicious dining.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Had booked for anniversary meal and as promised they gave us a brilliant table overlooking the 18th , the food was fantastic , staff very professional and welcoming , atmosphere and setting finished it off

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris_SA1709VF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maura P, Guest Relations Manager at Rocca Restaurant, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
We are so pleased your anniversary dinner at Rocca was memorable and very much appreciate your comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    345
    124
    50
    26
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Elegance and style - and good food.”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

What a glorious view over the Old Course and the Firth of Tay beyond! If you go in June, it stays light until you leave. This is a formal restaurant, with formal but impeccable service. We went for the graduation dinner, but had a wide choice, and everything was beautifully presented and delicious. The starters were a delight, from the dainty edible flowers to the fresh ingredients cooked in an unusual way. The main course was substantial and excellent, and the desserts delicious. The spacious rooms, place settings, service, even the tiny fresh rolls, added to a feeling of pleasurable indulgence. We had coffee and drinks in the bar afterwards - a slightly different view, from comfortable leather sofas. Of course it was expensive, but we felt we had had a real treat.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dorothy_butters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maura P, Guest Relations Manager at Rocca Restaurant, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Thank you for your very complimentary review on your recent visit to Rocca to celebrate Graduation.

Your comments are greatly appreciated and will be shared with all our team.



Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
438 reviews
185 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We made reservations at Rocca weeks in advance requesting a table with a view of the Old Course. Our confirmation email Sia d they would send us a reminder emIl two hours before our reservation. When we didn't receive it, we phoned to find out why. They lost our reservation. They told us they would squeeze us I if we came 15 minutes before we were originally scheduled. We arrived to find we were the only people in the restaurant. We were not seated near a window?Since the restaurant never was more than half full at its busiest, we could not understand why they couldn't take us at our original time, especially since we had a written confirmation,and they had made the error.

A big part of the reason people eat here is because of the view of 18th green on the Old Course. For some odd reason, they frosted part of the windows which blocks the views.

The music was odd new age which wasn't really conducive to an expensive meal.

The choices are limited, but the food was fine. Service really dropped off as more people came into the restaurant. It took them a while to take our dessert order,and we had to ask for the check.

When the gentleman brought the charge machine, he prefaced the swipe with ,"If the charge doesn't go through, it probably isn't your card. It is our temperamental machine. " Rocco's credit machine was different than most other establishments we had visited. The man swiped our charge card three times. It said to call the card company. He just took a different card which finally went through. Why would you not get a new machine instead of inconveniencing your customers?

All in all, we were very disappointed in what was an expensive dinner for Kay food and poor service.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LibbyH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocca G, Public Relations Manager at Rocca Restaurant, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for your recent review.

Apologies for the mix up with your reservation and I am pleased that we could allocate you a table. Your booking was made through a third party booking site with an automated response
All bookings made on our website are replied and confirmed in person.

Re you comment on frosted windows??
None of our windows in Rocca are frosted over.
See photo on TA home page for Rocca Grill or our website.

We have never had any negative feed back on our back ground music in fact quite the contrary, always complimentary, but will pass on your comment to the Restaurant Manager.

Our current A la carte menu offers 17 starters and 18 main courses, therefore I find your comment on limited choice surprising.

As explained to many diners from the USA and Canada, the UK and Europe now uses Chip and Pin technology for credit card transactions.
Cards with no chip are being declined/referred more and more often.
This process is used to reduce credit card fraud.

.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Dinner at Rocca Grill McDonalds Rusack Hotel ,St.Andrews”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

St Andrews being an extremely popular town for international visitors the Rocco Grill should be a must for extended visiting travellers in this iconic golfing resort. We have a holiday home in St Andrews and selected this upmarket restaurant to celebrate my wife's birthday accompanied by my daughter and family a total of five persons.
We were seated ideally with window seat enjoying fantastic views of the iconic eighteenth hole
and Royal & Ancient Club House with further wonderful views of associated beach and sea.
The food and service was excellent and ambiance superb. I have rated all aspects of this establishment as very good but really is excellent. However we must leave a little for improvement although during my visit it would be difficult to improve. A must to experience.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Douglas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocca G, Guest Relations Manager at Rocca Restaurant, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for your review and delighted you enjoyed your meal and cocktails all enhanced with a window table to soak up the stunning view.

I will pass on your compliments to all the team at Rocca.

Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Lovely graduation meal”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We booked a long time in advance because of demand during Graduation Week and were surprised to bag the best view in the house! Stunning. Thank you.
Very good food. Oustanding cocktails too.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank chobhamlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocca G, Guest Relations Manager at Rocca Restaurant, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your dining experience at Rocca Grill during Graduation Week.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit all enhanced with a window table!

Guest Relations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rocca Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Rocca Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing