We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best in St. Andrews”
Review of Rocca Restaurant

Rocca Restaurant
Ranked #24 of 142 Restaurants in St Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$26 - US$71
Cuisines: European, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Business meetings, View
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: At Rocca St Andrews our recipe for success is a fusion of exquisite food with a backdrop of one of the world's most famous sporting locations - the Old Course. Like the many champions that have graced the hallowed course, we too top the leaderboard as one of only 25 restaurants in the country with three AA Rosettes in 2013 - a reward for the creativity and passion of the Rocca family. The stunning view over the 18th means guests enjoy much more than just a delicious meal. Our menu features Scottish cooking with an Italian twist. Fresh ingredients are sourced from artisan producers either on our doorstep or in Tuscany and there is something to suit every palate. With a real pedigree in both our front-of-house and in our kitchen, you can rest assured a visit to Rocca will live long in the memory. Come and visit us and let our passion for food become your passion for delicious dining.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Simply the best in St. Andrews”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Having been recommended to dine at Rocca by friends we certainly were not disappointed! Starting in the relaxed yet sophisticated ambience of the Rbar for pre dinner drinks, which contains an extensive range of drinks to cater for every customer including some of the more quirky and local drinks - all expertly prepared by the barman set the tone nicely for the evening.

We were then shown through to our table in the stylishly modern restaurant with excellent views over the Old Course and recommended a lovely Italian white wine to go with the start of our meal by the sommelier, Lorenzo. He proved very knowledgeable and passionate when helping us make the right wine choice to suit the meal and the Italian red was just as delicious. Amy, who was in charge for the evening took our orders and was excellent at looking after us all evening. The 4 of us shared the "Pata Negra" Iberico ham as an appetiser which came recommended by the staff and was simply prepared yet excellent, respecting the quality of the ingredient. I personally had the starter portion of Pappardelle alla Ragu and then the Rabbit for main. Both were delicious and expertly presented and then I finished the meal with a highlight of a dessert - the Perthshire Raspberry Souffle was exceptional and ranks highly in my favourite desserts.

All 4 of us were very pleased with the meal and the superb quality of service by all staff on the night. We also got to meet Adrian, who is one of the owners, and he made us feel most welcome and seemed really passionate about the Scottish/Italian style of cuisine stemming from his own Italian roots. At the end of the evening we also met the Head Chef, Davey, and got to thank him for a wonderful meal. I would say Rocca is a must visit when it comes to fine dining in St. Andrews and memorable experience overall. I am very much looking forward to going back...lets hope the souffle is still on!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pieraccinis, Guest Relations Manager at Rocca Restaurant, responded to this review, 19 October 2014
Your review and compliments on your recent visit to Rocca is very much appreciated and so gratifying for the staff to be commended on their skills and customer service.

We are delighted you enjoyed a variety of our seasonal dishes along with the wine suggestions.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    343
    124
    45
    20
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Banchory
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Short stay in St Andrews”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Friendly and helpful staff including porter. Room clean and comfortable. Hallways not hoovered for two days whilst we were there. Good selection for breakfast however quality of coffee and lack of bread choice other than sliced mass produced "bread".
Hotel in excellent location but getting tired and badly needing a re-paint. We've stayed at MacDonald hotels many times over the years and have noticed a gradual descent into mediocrity which is a shame as the locations are all good.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Beautiful decor, fantastic view and very decent food.”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Cannot complain about Rocca and would recommend within the multiple nice eateries in St Andrews.

The service was polite and promt, the ambience is nice and the decor is lovely.
The view (obviously at it's best if you are lucky enough to get a table by the window) is just superb!

The prices were very reasonable and the food was fresh and well prepared.
We enjoyed the Chateaubriand fillet, which was of excellent quality and did not disappoint.
And there was more than enough of it for 2 adults and "the bairn"!

The truffle friess were just to die for!! Please do try them if visiting Rocca.

All in all a very nice restaurant with a varied enough menu...fillet and lobster, what else can you ask for? Oh yes, nice wines! Granted! The house red is an extremely reasonable Chilean Cabernet Sauvignon and if you are feeling a little more adventurous there is a more than decent wine list to choose from that includes some very exciting fine Italian wines (if you are prepared to splash on them).
Will definitely be back!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CCP1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue R, Guest Relations Manager at Rocca Restaurant, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
We seem to have ticked all the boxes on your visit to Rocca Grill, thank you for such a great review.

I will pass on your compliments to all our team and we look forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Regards
Sue Robb
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sensational”
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

This is the third time I have stayed in St Andrews and the Rusacks is by far and away the best accommodation I've stayed in.

The veiws over the golf course were something you would never tire of looking at, especially if you are a fan of golf.

Having the good fortune of staying there on one of the warmest days of the year the views over the West Sands were also magnificent.

The hotel is situated very close to the town centre which has a surprising amount of shops, bars and restaurants.

The interior of the hotel was also beautiful, again if you are a golf fan you'll love it.

Our room has possibly the best view in the country and I dont think im overstating when I say that.

The beds were very very comfortable and all the fixtures and fittings worked and were built to a high level. The bathrobes were great although given the heat it wasn't on for long.

We only had breakfast, although the food for the restaurant is seemingly highly regarded. (We ate at the Steak Barn which was a surprisingly different and the food was great.)

Breakfast was good and included black pudding and potato scones which is always a bonus.

The staff were helpful and friendly throughout our stay. The girl on receptionensured we had a taxi brought to us in double quick time so that we didnt miss our train.

If I ever go back to St Andrews then I will be sure to try and stay there again.

Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Incredible view and food”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We had a table right next to the window that allowed us to look out over the 18th on the Old Course. I had the Dornoch Lamb which was delicious and I would fly back from the States just for that. Service was great and the prices were good.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alex R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue R, Guest Relations Manager at Rocca Restaurant, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
We would like to thank you for your review on your dining experience at Rocca Grill.

The Dornoch lamb dish has been very popular with our diners and we will let you know in advance for next seasons so you can book that flight!!

Regards
Sue Robb
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rocca Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Rocca Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing