We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely place to stay on the edge of St Andrews”
Review of Easter Kincaple

Easter Kincaple
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Andrews
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Easter Kincaple
Ranked #58 of 72 St Andrews B&B and Inns
Wirral
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A lovely place to stay on the edge of St Andrews”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Whilst this place is categorised as a B.and B. it has all the attributes of a countryside hotel. Very welcoming host .... and lovely homemade shortbread served up!
The bedrooom we had was beautifully decorated as were the other rooms downstairs for the use of the guests. Breakfasts were first class and there was a lot of variety on the menu. The indoor swimming pool looked new and was a real bonus.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nixpix365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
6
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
77 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

Very comfortable place to stay . It's a bit more than your average B and B . Mrs Conolly was charming. The bedrooms are large and airy and the bed was oh so comfy . We only stayed one night so didn't have time to try the pool . I recommend the Haggis for breakfast . Lovely quiet spot that's very handy for St. Andrews .

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank NeilStubbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

The location to St. Andrew's golf courses is perfect. It was priced fairly for it's location and accommodation amenities.

The draw backs I had stem from the cleanliness of the suite, checkout time and quality of the breakfast food. There are only five or so total bedrooms in the home/bed and breakfast, so it seemed like our suite probably serves as the daughter's room when not occupied by paying guests. We kept finding long strands of brown hair on the floor of the bathroom and stuck in their white towels. And since my husband likes to walk around barefoot, despite my insistence on flip-flops and slippers, strands of hair got stuck to his feet at one point.

We mentioned this to the owners who completely cleaned the room and bathroom, but (in a weird, nice way) blamed us for the human hair by leaving the windows cracked open. Something about flies bringing in long strands of brown hair into the non-air conditioned room, which we privately thought were absurd.

Another issue includes the worn, used, non-plastic-covered slippers that were first provided for us in our room. I also question if the bathrobes were cleaned after the last guest. Again, seemingly new, plastic-covered slippers were left in the closet after we complained about the bathroom hair.

We assumed that checkout was noon like most of the hotels we stay in, but checkout time is 10:30 a.m. We were not told of this and nothing in the room stated this, so we were in a bit of a rush to pack after breakfast, which included the poorest quality bread I've ever had at a buisness that claims to be luxury -- not fresh baked bread, but the Wonder Bread quality that gets stuck to the top of your mouth.

All in all, the heated swimming pool was amazing, the family, though quirky, were nice and addressed all of the issues we mentioned and you really can't beat the location so close to St. Andrew's Golf Course.

Room Tip: Give them enough warning in order to get a truly clean room, and know that checkout time is 10:30 a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IEIID
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EK55StAndrews, Manager at Easter Kincaple, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
On the behalf of the B&B theses guests tried there hardest to bargin down the price.There are 6 bedrooms in the house(daughter has her own room) my mother was asked to clean the room after the guests had used it what a mess.As for the slippers and bathrobes which were new as we werent long opened when the guests stayed.The guests in the room hadnt read the folder as it clearly states 10.30 check out.I asked them to vacate the room at 11.30am.Breakfast clearly states 7.00am to 9.15am or pior to an arrangement.No bread was served at breakfast but the guests had their own items with them.There is toast and potato scones in the breakfast menu.My mother has an irish accent as my parents moved from Ireland 20 years ago but has strong Scottish roots.At breakfast one of the guests asked with a note of sarcasm if it was an irish or scottish breakfast.My mother was upset as we try to source everything in Fife and are very much Scottish.Also the scones that are freshly baked on arrival has many conments of perfection. I (the daughter) was asked about the pool at 10pm if they can use it.I (the daughter) made an exception for the guests as the pool shuts at 10pm and let the guests use it.I will never do that again as the guests did not come out of it until after 12 midnight.The next day we had to remove long brown hair out of the pool.This is a farmhouse B&B and a family home not a hotel.In future I would advise to read the guest folder. P.S Daughter runs the B&B. The bathroom was in a total mess when the guests left with lots of long brown hair left behind.I wonder were the hair came from.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waverly, Iowa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

After a half day nosing around St. Andrews, we stumbled onto this B&B. The place is on a working farm, working very well growing Angus beef, barley and wheat. The rooms are really spacious and completely ready for use. Excellent breakfast. Friendly people, who gave us a nice tour of the farm. If you are visiting St. Andrews, golfing St. Andrews, etc. stay here! It is a good value. QUIET PLACE!!!

Room Tip: all good,,,,no big difference,
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mahgreb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
2.3 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#4 of 17 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
4.2 mi away
Vicarsford Lodge
Vicarsford Lodge
#3 of 3 in Leuchars
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
3.4 mi away
Pinewood Country House
Pinewood Country House
#1 of 2 in St Michaels
5.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Braeside House
Braeside House
#42 of 72 in St Andrews
5.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
1.9 mi away
Knockhill Farm Bed & Breakfast
Knockhill Farm Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 6 in Strathkinness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
1.8 mi away
Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Easter Kincaple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Easter Kincaple

Property: Easter Kincaple
Address: Guardbridge Road, St Andrews KY16 9SG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in St Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Easter Kincaple is an elegant country home which is less than 2 miles from St Andrews. Guests can enjoy the privacy, comfort and use of their own public reception rooms. The house, walled garden & working farm land is nestled in its own 750 acres. The property borders with St Andrews, the sea, golf courses & neighbouring villages. The views are breathtaking across the water, fields of seasonal crops and of course the all familiar, distinctive skyline of St Andrews. For golf lovers, the Swilken Burn runs through the property. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Easter Kincaple St Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing