We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick late lunch” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The One Under Gastro Pub

The One Under Gastro Pub
Ranked #71 of 141 Restaurants in St Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$44
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Description: The first gastropub in the famed ���Home of Golf���, St. Andrews, The One Under is a superb combination of relaxed bar and high quality restaurant. Located just a stone���s throw from the links and the wave-battered craggy coastline, it���s the ideal place to warm oneself after a round of golf or a windswept walk. The One Under is chicly appointed in masculine tones of grey and brown, dark woods and tactile textiles with wing backed chairs for sinking in to and low slung sofas to snuggle upon, creating a real lazy Sunday afternoon atmosphere throughout the week. Passionate about delivering quality, The One Under stays true to the gastropub philosophy of simple food done well. The kitchen insists on the best possible produce, locally sourced from Scotland���s well-stocked natural larder and delivered fresh, ready to be cooked to order. Classic dishes with a European flavour make up the menu here at The One Under with both large a la carte style dishes and smaller snacks offering flexibility. The bar is stocked with a wide range of wines, beers and spirits and The One Under elects to show selected sporting events including major golfing tournaments on a big screen.
Gaborone, Botswana
Level Contributor
121 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Quick late lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Had a walk past and saw the sign - certainly catching the eye and quite an apt name.

A good locally brewed beer and a burger. Had to walk downstairs to order the beer and food but that didn't take anything away from the experience.... took a seat upstairs next to the car park entrance, overlooking the 18th Fairway of the Old Course at one of the 2 tables just below the stairs going up. The food was quick and tasty, burger was nicely done and not just a normal ketch-up, good break-away from Heinz. The burger is lavishly soaked with onions and bacon.

Certainly a place to visit when it is sunny and there are seats available outside next to the entrance.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Oiltraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    59
    32
    26
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
“Impressed by the One Under.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

I don't really do this often, but was so blown away by my experience at the One Under that I felt I had to write a review.

As a vegetarian it is often hard to find good places to eat out, we often feel like we are an afterthought. This was not the case at the One Under. I had the mushrooms on toast and Bridie and was thoroughly impressed by the thought and intricacy that had gone in to the dishes. Plus, they tasted great! With a fair few vegetarian options I am excited to go back and try more next time I'm in St. Andrews.

The friend I dined with, a meat-eater, used the word 'sensational' to describe the duck starter and commented that the plaice was cooked to perfection. Rest assured we left with full bellies and thoroughly impressed.

I'd also like to commend our server Leslie who was incredibly welcoming, friendly and witty. She is a credit to the business. We were both also incredibly impressed by the cleanliness of the establishment and the atmosphere was so comfortable that we stayed for a drink after our meal.

In short: great location, great service, great atmosphere and great food.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Adamcliff91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Superb!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

On a recent visit to St. Andrews we came across the one under after a stroll towards the famous '18th hole.' Famished and looking for somewhere child friendly ( not many in St. Andrews) we wondered in and as it was so busy we weren't sure if they had a free table but they managed to fit us in. The young man who welcomed us and our children couldn't have been more helpful and hospitable. From the drinks to the children's menu and our food it was just superb service and a fantastic meal, could not recommend the place highly enough. A great find and will definitely come back, maybe next time without the children and some cocktails!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Louise F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Great lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

I have been a regular here for few years now and it has to be the best pub food in st Andrews, quality of the food has always been a pot on. I came here about a week ago and I had crab cocktail followed by whole place and I got to say it was faultless, needless to say I will return.

Helpful?
Thank Adrian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, Georgia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great location, not a good pub experience!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

Location is great, across the street from The Old Course, if you want a view this is not the restaurant. When we arrived, there were two tables with customers, so figuring dinner would be quick. It wasn't. The bread arrived quickly, the rest took 45 minutes for a Caesar salad, fish & chips, one pasta with mussels, one mussels only and a half order of lobster. While waiting, another waiter tried to bring us someone else's order. Thankfully, when our order arrived, we didn't have any problems. The Caesar salad was served in a small bowl & hard to work with in cutting it, so used the flat bread dish & worked well. The lobster or Caesar weren't good. Sad to write this, noticed a sign from Trip Advisor for 2013 in excellence. Management must of changed.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Riojas2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The One Under Gastro Pub also viewed

 

Been to The One Under Gastro Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing