We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique and wonderful renovation; superb food and service”

Lone Star Bed & Breakfast Haven
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Andrews
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lone Star Bed & Breakfast Haven
Ranked #49 of 73 St Andrews B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 March 2011

We enjoyed the outstanding hospitality of the owners, Bill and Cheryl. The food, traditional with a gourmet twist, was outstanding.
JS

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank ALERG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (24)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 24 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2011

Friends recommended the Lone Star as a wonderful retreat. Was on golfing expedition with 7 doctor friends staying in St. Andrews. The group joined me for a wonderful 6+ course feast with Cheryl and Bill hosting. Was the highlight of our trip! Even if you can’t get a room here a call to arrange a scrumptious meal is well worth doing!

Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
5  Thank WillyLum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2011

This is such a hidden gem right outside St Andrews. We have stayed here three times now & I wouldn't stay anywhere else. It is the perfect place for those who want great rooms (esp. the bathrooms!) and the best meals in Scotland. We go to Scotland every year and have stayed in dozens of hotels, b&bs, and castles and we have had a WIDE range of experiences. The owners are a very funny golfing Scotsman and a sunny Texan who happens to be the most amazing gourmet chef. The beds are heaven with sheets like butter, plus they even have a "pillow bar" for pillow snobs like me. All the bathrooms are unique with great plumbing and superb showers - a novelty in Scotland. Next is the food, I can truly say some of my very favorite meals ever have been here.
Just FYI, the website doesn't do it justice, and the location is tricky, it's originally a 17th century(?) carriage house with working farm outbuildings around it so you have to go down a bumpy farm road to get there.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank trippingthestars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2010

This was our second stay at Lone Star and this stay was even better than the first. We stayed for 2 nights in October 2009 and 2 nights in November 2010.

Our room had a wonderful bed with an ensuite bath and shower. Each room in the house is set out differently, ours also had a lovely sofa and chair.

WiFi is available if you ask and works well. The room also had both a digital radio and iPod dock.

The breakfast was wonderful with a selection of cearals, fresh bread, fresh cooked food and fresh fruit. We had menus prepared for our stay for each morning. We had one evening meal which was as always beautifully prepared and lovely to eat.

Tea and Coffee was also available for us and the owners were happy to provide us with a key for the property so we could return easily when we had been visiting the local area.

St Andrews has a number of attractions. There is the golf course, with which the owners are well connected, along with a number of resturants (some of which have been seen on UK National television). St Andrews is also located between Edniburgh and Dundee and near a number historical Scottish sites.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank John_RUSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2010

Last July we had a trip in Scotland and stay 3 fabulous nights at Lone Star B&B . We were supposed to stay 2 nights but because we like it so much , we stayed a third night.
Located about 8 minutes from St-Andrews center in a quiet and secret area, quite easy to find with the road direction they gave us par mail before our arrival.
We had a very warm welcome, from Cheryl who offer us to enjoy most of the house as weel as the nice garden. She cooked for us delicious appetizers and served us
an "inoubliable" dinner....I would like to go back for a cooking class one day... she is a great "chef"....a real one.
The room had, like the rest of the house, a nice decoration and the bed was really confortable with top quality linen and nice classical music for relaxing.
The bathroom was large and modern.
Breakfast was as good as the dinner with homemade breads, muffins, jams, fruits from the garden, smoked salmon......

I keep a really god "souvenir" from Lone Star B&B and recommanded it.

Elaine Davidson, Québec Canada

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank edavids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2010

My husband and I stayed 3 nights in May 2010. We loved the place! This is a beautiful B&B both inside and outside, with a lovely outdoor dining area. And the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. The rooms and private bathrooms were exceptional. Yes, it's a little hard to find, but located in a scenic area that is convenient to St. Andrews and a lot of other historic sights located within easy driving distance. This is the perfect place to stay if you want to explore Eastern Scotland, or play golf, but probably not a good a good choice if you are looking for nightlife or things to do within walking distance.
Cheryl is a great cook and our breakfasts were tasty and inventive, featuring fresh eggs laid by her own hens. If our explorations had left time for a special dinner, I'm sure that would have been excellent also. Cheryl and Bill were great hosts! We hope to go back.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MagellanGrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2010

We stayed there for our son's graduation. It is like a best kept secret - so special & different with exceptional food. A rare find.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Housetutor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
0.0 mi away
Drumoig Golf Hotel
Drumoig Golf Hotel
#1 of 1 in Drumoig
224 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 17 in St Andrews
3,316 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Inn at Lathones
The Inn at Lathones
#1 of 1 in Lathones
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Vicarsford Lodge
Vicarsford Lodge
#3 of 3 in Leuchars
38 reviews
0.0 mi away
Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Pinewood Country House
Pinewood Country House
#1 of 2 in St Michaels
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lone Star Bed & Breakfast Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lone Star Bed & Breakfast Haven

Address: St Andrews KY16 8NA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in St Andrews
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Lone Star Bed & Breakfast Haven St Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing