We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Grange at St Andrews

The Grange at St Andrews
Ranked #1 of 141 Restaurants in St Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$18 - US$58
Cuisines: European, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, View, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Grange Inn is a lovely 17th Century converted farmhouse. The Restaurant serves modern Scottish cuisine using the freshest of local produce available.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“One of the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

We went as a group of 5 to celebrate my father in laws 80th birthday. From the time of arrival the service was excellent, respectful but not patronising. The food was wonderful. Beautifully cooked and presented. In particular I would recommend the Orange Panne Cotte desert which was to die for. Tremendous!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank PennyT59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    384
    48
    4
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Back to its best”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

The Grange is back to its best after a couple of years of mediocrity. Chef John Kelly has produced an excellent menu with the dishes beautifully presented. Staff were welcoming and friendly and the wine list is comprehensive with many good wines at reasonable prices. The three course dinner was £38, not cheap but the quality was worth the extra expense.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Arabjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
usa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very special night”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We spent 5 days in St. Andrews. While we didn't go to any other higher end restaurants we did culminate our trip by going to The Grange. It was everything that the excellent reviews indicated the occasion would be like. From the time we entered the door until the time we left, the night was thoroughly enjoyable. My two sons and I finished in the bar area with the son of the owners giving us a solo on his bagpipes. The whole evening we felt like we got special attention. and of course the selections of food and the taste and presentations were excellent. We would highly recommend anyone staying in St. Andrews to go to the Grange for an excellent evening.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ponziUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
175 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Memorable Dinner and Evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

I would be so disappointed if I had missed our dinner at the Grange. Absolutely delicious, great family restaurant, beautiful location, full of charm and fun. Please try it! A party of 4, we all found something we loved, from low fat, vegetarian, to decadent. Salads, main course, dessert, all spectacular. I am so happy to read all about all the other positive experiences. If I lived locally, I'm sure I'd be here all the time!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Ann T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
western ma
Level Contributor
126 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“earns its #1 spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

A little out of town overlooking St. Andrews and the sea. Small dining room with 2 or 3 course fixed price menu. The selections were varied so it was easy to find something we each liked. The service was very attentive and friendly. The two students were chatty but didn't interfere with our meal. The food was cooked to perfection. If we were staying longer we would have gone back another night.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank hughesnetWesternMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Grange at St Andrews also viewed

 

Been to The Grange at St Andrews? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing