We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tough Track”

The Duke's St Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Duke's, owned and managed by the Old Course Hotel, is a lush, heathland golf course perched on the hillside just a few minutes from the hotel. Noted in Golf World's Top 100 Courses in the Scotland, this championship 18-hole course has magnificent greens, beautiful fairways, a fleet of electric golf buggies and five tees on every hole, making it most appealing to golfers of all abilities. Don't forget to visit The Duke's Clubhouse, a popular and relaxed dining venue with stunning views of St Andrews and beyond. The award-winning Duke’s Clubhouse offers a hearty selection of traditional food to warm the cockles of any weary golfer’s heart - tune in to the post-golfing analysis over a pint of beer or head on to the deck and catch a few rays of sun with a gin and tonic in hand.
St Andrews, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Tough Track”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I have played the Dukes on several occassions .
It is becoming a better golf course..however as its inland greens and fairways can be effected by heavy conditions.
Lovely Club house and amazing views , but due to its location , never very busy , so lacks a bit of atmosphere .
You will need to be a good golfer to tame this beast.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank vincent w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    22
    7
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
north carolina
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
“Duke is King”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Absolutely loved this place.. more of an American style course than traditional Scottish links.. reminded me of Pine Valley and Primland. Tough course but fair, and well marked so you can find your way. Some awesome views on the back nine overlooking St. Andrews. The golf shop staff was fantastic, and the starter and folks at the starter shack/10th tee snack bar were incredibly friendly. And a good tip for planning your next golf trip-- after carrying our bags for 3 rounds, it was a nice break on the feet and shoulders to use a cart (buggy) for one round before we went back to walking again.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank wanderlost57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Drainage issues”
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

The course and club are setup very good from the start, a fantastic long drive way that is tree lined up to a neat clubhouse. A average practise ground and putting green are by a well organised and very friendly starters hut. The pro shop is well stocked and are equally as friendly which runs throughout the whole club, which makes a big difference. The clubhouse is finished to a high standard and gives you the feel its a club that wants to go somewhere. The course layout is very good and that is why I have given it a high rating despite the more drainage systems it has in place. We had not had that much rain recently and all good courses normally drain well throughout the year, the fairways were soft and very wet in places that made the course even longer. If you choose to play this course make sure it is in the height of summer and I would say this course is better than the Torrence course nearby but in the bay there are much better courses that are playable all year round. The lunch was good and what I would expect from this establishment, everything is there but the drainage.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Harry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We aren't golfers, but were staying very close by and fancied lunch at the Duke's clubhouse to enjoy the fabulous view of St Andrews. We weren't disappointed. The service was very friendly and efficient, the food was very tasty and the portions extremely generous. It was quiet, because so early in the season. Recommended.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank NatalieWatford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fun course”
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Partner played here as part of discounted deal with Old Course Hotel. Got a cart thrown in which I enjoyed driving around. Holes were beautiful and club house was lovely. Not as iconic as the Old Course but still good.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Snow D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Duke's St Andrews also viewed

 

Been to The Duke's St Andrews? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing