We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and very welcoming hosts.”
Review of Deveron House

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Andrews
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Deveron House
Ranked #44 of 73 St Andrews B&B and Inns
Asia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Excellent location and very welcoming hosts.”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

I stayed at this B&B for four nights as my child was starting at the University. From reservation to arrival Marion was very warm and welcoming. Deveron House is ideally located and is very near to the University, it's opposite Yonger Hall and walking distance into the town. Free parking is located directly outside the B&B although it is often full but spaces start to become available after 5pm. The decor of the Bed and Breakfast is very dated so much so that it is rather depressing. The breakfast room seems to be the only bright room in the property. The room was very small and cramped, very dark and the window was covered up by a wardrobe, very dingy. Both room and bathroom were clean enough. The mattress had certainly seen better days as had the pillows which didn't make for the most comfortable nights sleep. The bathroom was spacious and the shower was fine with decent water pressure. The room had a small flat screen TV which worked well. However, at the top of the building the wifi was very unreliable so my advice would be to take a room on the first floor if you need reliable wifi and have luggage to carry. Breakfast was generally cooked to order by Graham who was again an excellent host. There wasn't a huge choice but what was provided was very nice.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are much quieter and rooms on the lower floor have better wifi and are brighter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank greatholsAsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    11
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
13
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Stayed 2 nights this week in this comfortable 6 bedroom guesthouse right in the centre of the old town.
Graham and Marion were very friendly and helpful and made me feel most welcome.
The room (#5) was nicely decorated, had a comfortable king sized bed, ensuite shower room, flat screen TV and fast free wifi.

I will return

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Recently had a Weekend at Deveron GuestHouse with a good Friend.
We Received a very Warm Welcome into lovely Accomadation.
Spottless and Breakfast Was a Great Start to our (BoysVocation).

We have to say Marion/Graham are Profesionals in this Field.
This will be on our List next time without a Doubt.
Davie/Kenny.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 431davidg431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Spending a large amount of time travelling I have to admit that I prefer the anonymity of hotels but this guest house is so centrally located it is an ideal place to place if visiting this historic and attractive city. I was working for the 5 days of my stay at the university - just across the road - so would have preferred a more business-friendly environment with a desk but the free wi-fi connection was very useful. The breakfasts are individually prepared and nourishing but very limited in selection, which became noticeable after 3 or 4 days of the same, and vegetarians were not catered for. Conversation with the host was lengthy if focused upon golf but restricted otherwise. The rooms are comfortable if a little cramped and the bathroom in my room was in need of repairs in that the tap fittings were loose and the shaver-socket did not have any power. Whether in St Andrew's for work or pleasure everywhere is within 5 minutes walk of the guest-hose - university, golf course, beach, cathedral, restaurants and shops - so that alone justifies the otherwise quite high cost per night.

Room Tip: Only 6 rooms available so no preference except that the stairs are quite steep and the rooms are loc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilrea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

I have just returned from staying for 3 nights with Marion who treated us well and along with her staff make you feel very welcome, the purpose of the visit being a Wedding at the University across the street. I am not into Golf which St Andrews is famous for but if you are then you will certainly be in your element. :-)
It is located within walking distance of all of the local sites and attractions and when you walk out the door take the first street on the left which will take you onto Market Street which is the main shopping area in town.
I plan to return sometime in the future to explore the local area at my leisure because the Wedding i was there for took up 3 of the 4 days we were there which just flew in for this reason. :-)

Room Tip: Room 1 is a twin Room on the first floor if this is what you require.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John-M-Anderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

I had an urgent requirement for a hotel on the same day and Marion was able to fit my wife and I in, which was fantastic. We weren't there for long, only 1 night, but we were looked after so very well. Marion made us feel so welcome, treated us like friends and we got chatting for ages over breakfast. Having a wedding that day, I wanted to fill up on breakfast and there was so much on offer I was certainly full! we saw Marion a couple of days later in the town and she remembers us and stopped for a chat, which was great. would definitely go back and would certainly recommend to others for a personal good quality B and B

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bryan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 May 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights, as did some friends of ours from England. To say Marion and Graham made us feel welcome is an understatement!!! They treated us like old friends! We had never stayed at a B&B or Guest House and weren't sure what to expect --- it was SOOOOOO much nicer than staying in a hotel. Our double room was perfect - the location couldn't be beat (a short walk to the Old Course and to shopping and great restaurants). Deveron House is very charming, but most importantly, very welcoming!!! We would definitely stay here again and recommend it highly.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Law1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
0.0 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#4 of 16 in St Andrews
361 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ardgowan Hotel
Ardgowan Hotel
#8 of 16 in St Andrews
500 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#12 of 16 in St Andrews
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Greyfriars Hotel
Greyfriars Hotel
#10 of 16 in St Andrews
306 reviews
0.3 mi away
Five Pilmour Place
Five Pilmour Place
#16 of 73 in St Andrews
159 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hoppity House
Hoppity House
#14 of 73 in St Andrews
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deveron House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deveron House

Property: Deveron House
Address: 64 North Street, St Andrews KY16 9AH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in St Andrews
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Deveron House St Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing