We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good but no whisky in Scotland?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in St Andrews
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
686 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
“Pretty good but no whisky in Scotland?”
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We were at this hotel at the end of October and generally it was really good - very smart room, reasonable price, good breakfast looking out over the old course, good service in the main - the only gripe and a reasonable one at that was that we got back one night just before 11 to find the bar closed and locked and no-one able to serve a drink other than bottled beer. Shame because otherwise this would have got 5 stars.

Room Tip: The third floor had just been refurbished and our room there was first class
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrushM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris F, General Manager at Macdonald Rusacks Hotel, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Dear Guest

Its great to hear you had a fabulous stay with us at the Rusacks. Our food, location and beautifully refurbished rooms are a credit to St Andrews. Please accept my apologies with regards to the bar service. It is something I am looking into as you should be able to get served anything late at night. Thank you for taking the time to write about the Rusacks on Tripadvisor and I hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,273 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    577
    389
    201
    69
    37
See reviews for
195
699
33
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

I really enjoyed staying in this hotel.. The price was good, but it had the feeling of luxury without being over the top. Plenty of food choices, friendly staff, free car park, good breakfast. Couldn't get the wifi to work in the basement room I was in, but otherwise no problems. Very pleased with this hotel and would definitely stay again if I need to visit St Andrews. It is on the sea front, less than 10 minutes walk to the town or University.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Welsh--reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris F, General Manager at Macdonald Rusacks Hotel, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear guest

Thank you for taking the time to write of your stay on Tripadvisor. We have many positive at the Rusacks and you have done a good job of listing them. Our location is second to none, our prices reflect great value for money, we have a great balance of tradition and history whilst at the same time giving our guests a feeling of luxury, our food is cooked by an award winning chef and last but not least our friendly Scottish hospitality is famous for miles. You will be glad to hear our Wifi is now in every room so no need to worry on your return.

Thank you again for you comment and I hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
274 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

this hotel is full of golfing history overlooking the 18th hole. The hotel is very comfortable with and excellent restaurant serving fine dining experience.
The food and service is second to none.
The breakfast was disapointing with very slow service

Room Tip: ask for a room to the rear overlooking the golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billmitchison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris F, General Manager at Macdonald Rusacks Hotel, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear guest

Thank you for posting your thoughts on your stay at the Rusacks. Im glad that you liked the hotel and the food as we try very hard to make sure we are the best hotel in St Andrews. It is however disappointing to hear about your breakfast experience. Breakfast is the most important meal of the day and we put a lot of effort into getting it right. I have shared your comments with the breakfast Manager and the Executive Chef to ensure we do everything in our power to ensure other guests don’t experience the same wait. Thank you again for you comment and I hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Very impressed with this hotel.
The staff were very polite and attentive, without being overbearing.
A very pleasant stay.
Car parking is in short supply, but there isn't much that can be done to alleviate.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris F, General Manager at Macdonald Rusacks Hotel, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear guest

Thank you for you short note regarding your stay at the Rusacks. Im glad we got it right for you and I will pass on you comment to the team. We do have limited car parking spaces however we have hundreds of free car parking on our door step that our guests can use. Thank you again and I hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, UK
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for 1 night for conference. Is a nice hotel, great location if you are a golf fan. Tried dinner, breakfast and lunch here and the food was of a good quality. Decent service and rooms tidy enough. My room view was not great but not issue for me. Only issue stopping it getting full marks is a couple of issues with room odd bits and could not use shower as not giving warm water.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moon_uk_dundee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris F, General Manager at Macdonald Rusacks Hotel, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of the Macdonald Rusacks hotel on Tripadvisor. Im so glad you enjoyed you stay with us however it is unfortunate to hear that you had a problem with your shower and I hope you accept my apologies for any inconvenience this caused you. The Rusacks is in a great location for any golf fan as it sits right on the 18th of the old course and is a short walk into the center of St Andrews. Hopefully we will see you back one day.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

This hotel is all about location as it is located right on the 18th fairway of the Old Course. The rooms with a view of the course are definitely preferred. The rooms are not large but are well appointed and clean. The restaurant called Rocca is a real gem. The breakfast was very good!

Room Tip: Pay the price and go with a room with the view of the 18th!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris F, General Manager at Macdonald Rusacks Hotel, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of the Rusacks on Tripadvisor. The team and I are all very proud to work in such an iconic Hotel that not only has a great history but has the service and hospitality culture that Scottish folk are famous for all over the world. It is great to hear you also enjoyer our Rocca Grill which now has 3 AA rosettes.

I hope to welcome you back one day.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel with my son as we were looking at St Andrews university.I was disappointed in our room as it was very dark and the view was dismal.The bathroom is in need of major updating as the bath panel was cracked and the shower had very little pressure.I tried to open thebathroom window and it was covered in black mildew so obviously hadnt been cleaned or opened in a while!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris F, General Manager at Macdonald Rusacks Hotel, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear guest

Firstly I would like to thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts on Tripadviror. I’m sorry to hear that you thought the light was a little low in you room and that the cleanliness was not what you expected. The cleanliness of the Rusacks is high on my priority list as I have always been taught that a dirty hotel is a poorly managed hotel. We take pride in how clean the hotel is and with the help of my award winning Head Housekeeper we will address your points immediately. Our newly refurbished rooms are still very traditional however low lighting is not something I have encountered as the General Manager of the Hotel however please be assured if you are ever back at the Rusack and need extra lighting in your room please do not hesitate to ask and we will kindly arrange. Thank you once again and I hope you return to St Andrews and stay with us at the Rusacks.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
3.2 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 17 in St Andrews
3,155 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#5 of 17 in St Andrews
486 reviews
1.5 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#1 of 17 in St Andrews
1,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#13 of 17 in St Andrews
672 reviews
0.5 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#3 of 17 in St Andrews
377 reviews
0.2 mi away
Greyfriars Hotel
Greyfriars Hotel
#11 of 17 in St Andrews
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Rusacks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Rusacks Hotel

Property: Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Address: Pilmour Links, St Andrews KY16 9JQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in St Andrews
#5 Romantic Hotel in St Andrews
#5 Luxury Hotel in St Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Rusacks Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel in St Andrews is a golfers paradise. Overlooking the world famous Old Course, you can indulge in a round or simply watch others tee'ing off from our comfortable R Bar. Our award-winning Rocca Bar & Grill serves the finest and freshest food against the backdrop of the Old Course's 18th hole. Our luxurious bedrooms are the perfect place to rest your head after a day exploring this beautiful seaside town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Macdonald Rusacks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Rusacks St Andrews
Hotel Macdonald Rusacks
Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel St Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing