We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Greyfriars Inn(St Andrews)(Great Value!)
US$185
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Rufflets Hotel(St Andrews)
US$248
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Albany Hotel(St Andrews)(Great Value!)
US$235
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Du Vin(St Andrews)
US$256
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$230
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$237
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$192
getaroom.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$516
HotelsClick
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$439
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$294
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Dunvegan Hotel(St Andrews)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Russell Hotel(St Andrews)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,408)
Filter reviews
1,408 results
Traveller rating
636
418
227
83
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
636
418
227
83
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrocca restaurantgastro pubgolf coursecream tealovely hotelamazing locationwest sandsreception staffshort breakpublic areasfirst classfantastic viewsdouble roomone night stayplay golfbreakfast roomlovely room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,079 - 1,084 of 1,408 reviews
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Recently spent 2 days at this lovely hotel on business.A warm friendly hotel with staff that cant do enough for you. A very comfrtable hotel with superb food and a great location. Room looked out over the golf course to the see and had all facilities required. Will definately be back for leisure break in the future.

Room Tip: I am sure all will be of superb quality but one looking over the golf course adds to the splendour of the location
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris F, General Manager at Macdonald Rusacks Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for posting your review on Tripadviror. It is staff that makes a good hotel so it is great in my position as General Manager of the Rusacks to hear such comments. Our food is second to none and now with 3 rosettes we are pushing from strength to strength. Its great to hear you enjoyed it so much and look forward to welcoming you back hopefully some time soon.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

This a favourite hotel of ours and never fails to please. All staff are excellent but a special mention to Lia on reception who welcomed us warmly and appeared to be at reception round the clock! A very comfortable room good breakfasts and a wonderful dinner in Rocca made it a special couple of days. We are already booked for December and January so they must be getting it right!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank STARKEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris F, General Manager at Macdonald Rusacks Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to put your opinion of the Rusacks onto Tripadvisor. We work extremely hard at the Rusacks to make our hotel the best in St Andrews and the secret to this is treating every guest like they are in our own home. Lia is the like the backbone of the hotel and thoroughly deserves all the praise she gets so thank you for your kind words. Our food is second to none and the bedrooms have just undergone a refurbishment which all in all leaves us working in a hotel that makes us very proud. Thank you again for you kind words and I hope to see you back one day in the future.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We were at this hotel at the end of October and generally it was really good - very smart room, reasonable price, good breakfast looking out over the old course, good service in the main - the only gripe and a reasonable one at that was that we got back one night just before 11 to find the bar closed and locked and no-one able to serve a drink other than bottled beer. Shame because otherwise this would have got 5 stars.

Room Tip: The third floor had just been refurbished and our room there was first class
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrushM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris F, General Manager at Macdonald Rusacks Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Dear Guest

Its great to hear you had a fabulous stay with us at the Rusacks. Our food, location and beautifully refurbished rooms are a credit to St Andrews. Please accept my apologies with regards to the bar service. It is something I am looking into as you should be able to get served anything late at night. Thank you for taking the time to write about the Rusacks on Tripadvisor and I hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

I really enjoyed staying in this hotel.. The price was good, but it had the feeling of luxury without being over the top. Plenty of food choices, friendly staff, free car park, good breakfast. Couldn't get the wifi to work in the basement room I was in, but otherwise no problems. Very pleased with this hotel and would definitely stay again if I need to visit St Andrews. It is on the sea front, less than 10 minutes walk to the town or University.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Welsh--reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris F, General Manager at Macdonald Rusacks Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Dear guest

Thank you for taking the time to write of your stay on Tripadvisor. We have many positive at the Rusacks and you have done a good job of listing them. Our location is second to none, our prices reflect great value for money, we have a great balance of tradition and history whilst at the same time giving our guests a feeling of luxury, our food is cooked by an award winning chef and last but not least our friendly Scottish hospitality is famous for miles. You will be glad to hear our Wifi is now in every room so no need to worry on your return.

Thank you again for you comment and I hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

this hotel is full of golfing history overlooking the 18th hole. The hotel is very comfortable with and excellent restaurant serving fine dining experience.
The food and service is second to none.
The breakfast was disapointing with very slow service

Room Tip: ask for a room to the rear overlooking the golf course
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank billmitchison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris F, General Manager at Macdonald Rusacks Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Dear guest

Thank you for posting your thoughts on your stay at the Rusacks. Im glad that you liked the hotel and the food as we try very hard to make sure we are the best hotel in St Andrews. It is however disappointing to hear about your breakfast experience. Breakfast is the most important meal of the day and we put a lot of effort into getting it right. I have shared your comments with the breakfast Manager and the Executive Chef to ensure we do everything in our power to ensure other guests don’t experience the same wait. Thank you again for you comment and I hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews