We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Bit of Class”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in St Andrews
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
161 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“A Bit of Class”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

My wife and I enjoyed two days here at the Rusacks, which is our second stay at the hotel. It exudes class and is wonderfully situated right next to the 18th fairway and green of the Old Course, which is magical, if like me, you love your golf. Our only reservations were about the extra we had to pay for kippers at breakfast and additional also for lattes. Do they really need to do that?

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank topfellman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    559
    374
    194
    68
    36
See reviews for
192
667
33
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

I booked this hotel as a surprise for my husband's 60th birthday and it didn't fail to meet my expectations. The hotel reception staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome. The room they first gave us was lovely but we only had a very small corner view of the golf course. I spoke to the receptionists and asked if they had a room with a better view. They explained that we had booked an Executive King room and that was all they had of that type of room. We thanked them and left to explore the hotel, one of the receptionists came looking for us and said that she did have a room with a lovely bay window overlooking the old course but it had two double beds in it. She gave us the key so we could have a look and wow! What a view and the room was amazing too! We changed rooms immediately and were so glad we did as the weather that weekend was also very good and we sat at the bay window in the afternoon just drinking in the view and the whole ambience of the hotel.

We were on a DBB rate & ate in the hotel all weekend. The food was excellent - al a carte in the evening so not huge portions but still more than enough by the time you got through the 3 courses. My only criticism of the hotel was the slow service for breakfast on our first morning. From what I could see, this was due to a mixture of shortage of staff and the majority of guests all arriving for breakfast around the same time - after 9.00 am. Keeping this in mind we came down for breakfast earlier on the Sunday and this seemed to resolve the problem.

Sorry if this review has been a bit long but I wanted to make it as accurate as possible.

Room Tip: We were originally in 325 but moved to 326 just next door, but the difference in the view was amazin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carole A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

My daughter and I spent a week at Rusacks Hotel in October, and it was truly perfect! All of the staff were incredibly friendly and cheerful (even when the weather wasn't so lovely)! Our room was beautiful, situated in a corner of the hotel with views of the golf course. Both the room and the washroom were recently redone, with a very comfortable bed and seating area, where we had our breakfast each morning. The location is perfect, as the hotel is right in town. But what truly makes this hotel special is the service. Not only was it perfect while we were there, but they helped us out tremendously when my daughter's luggage was lost by the airline. They agreed to store it at the hotel for two weeks, even though we were not staying at the hotel at the time. We will definitely make this our go-to hotel for all future trips to St. Andrews (of which there will be many, as our daughter is a student at the university there). For other parents of students at St. Andrews, I highly recommend this hotel as your home away from home while you visit your children!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank efamily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights in early January. Our room was lovely, super clean, really comfy bed, I don't like it when you book a double and get 2 singles pushed together, but it was comfy! When you book this hotel you expect sea and golf views but we were at the back of the hotel with views of the extractor fans! My only other issue with the room was every time someone in our lobby came in or out the door slammed and was actually really noisy. The water tank in our room was super loud too, every time someone in the room next door had a shower or flushed the loo it filled up & just sounded like running water. These are all little niggles but when you've had a 7 hour drive and just want to sleep its really irritating!!
The hotel itself is beautiful, the surroundings are amazing, we walked on the golf course & the beach so many times, day and night, it's breathtaking.

The staff at the hotel are really friendly, and the breakfast was lovely. We didn't eat at the Rocca restaurant, but did drink in both bars. My tip would be go downstairs and pay over £1 less per pint!!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank puddle4000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

My son and I stayed at The Rusacks Hotel on Christmas Day. The Christmas meal was amazing and the service from staff was friendly and attentive - perfect for Christmas Day. However the staff scored top marks when they went way beyond 'good service' and made my son's year. The old course was open to the public on Xmas day, something which we were unaware of before we arrived. After finding out that he could play a round, my son was disappointed that we were travelling without golf clubs and of course every shop and facility at St Andrews was closed. However the staff at The Rusacks stepped up to the mark and both the receptionist and one of the other staff made it their personal mission to find golf clubs for my son - beg, borrow or steal! Mission accomplished after begging and borrowing, and a few holes of golf were played on the St Andrew's Old Course in the late afternoon - for my son, an unforgettable experience.
All of the staff at this hotel were friendly and helpful and chatted to us and we felt like we were staying in a large and lovely private stately home.
Great Xmas lunch and super breakfast at the Rocca restaurant in the Hotel.
And of course the best location in St Andrews, the old course is steps away, as well as the famous little bridge.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fife scotland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

we have regularly stayed at or dined at this fantastic hotel where the service and quality and value for money is considered exceptional matching the exceptional location overlooking The Old Course 1st and 18th fairways and the R and A and famous Swilkin Bridge ...what could be better??..try the New Year Hogmanay extravaganza at Rocoa restaurant in the hotel with in-dining table cabaret and fireworks at midnight followed by a disco into the early dramming hours

staff are excellent and food is sublime...keep up the good work...and I believe there is golf around to supplement the experience!!! a true gem!!

Room Tip: the Old Tom Morris room is exceptional but any sea-view room or course-view room is terrific
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B10FifeScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
379 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

We decided to visit St Andrews for New Years Eve but made a conscious decision we did not want an over-priced "Hogmanay Experience". The Rusacks Hotel was able to deliver just what we wanted. The room at the front of the hotel was most acceptable if a little cosy and we were not told it was a shower only room. The ambience in the hotel not surprisingly is dominated by golf. That said it was most pleasant. The breakfast in the restaurant overlooking the Old Course and the West Sands was well presented in an attentive unfussy manner. The location of the hotel makes it perfect for walking the extensive West Sands and the golf courses. It is also well located for exploring the town. The facilities in the hotel are a bit limited but most visitors are there for the golf so that is to be expected. A point of note is that Macdonald Hotels are dog friendly. We would definitely choose this hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room with a sea/golf course view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IanMac1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
3.2 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 18 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,981 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#3 of 18 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
#10 of 18 in St Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#2 of 18 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#5 of 18 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
0.5 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#6 of 18 in St Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Rusacks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Rusacks Hotel

Property: Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Address: Pilmour Links, St Andrews KY16 9JQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in St Andrews
#5 Luxury Hotel in St Andrews
#5 Romantic Hotel in St Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Rusacks Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel in St Andrews is a golfers paradise. Overlooking the world famous Old Course, you can indulge in a round or simply watch others tee'ing off from our comfortable R Bar. Our award-winning Rocca Bar & Grill serves the finest and freshest food against the backdrop of the Old Course's 18th hole. Our luxurious bedrooms are the perfect place to rest your head after a day exploring this beautiful seaside town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotelopia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Rusacks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Rusacks St Andrews
Hotel Macdonald Rusacks
Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel St Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing