We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Greyfriars Inn(St Andrews)(Great Value!)
US$185
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$440
US$248
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rufflets Hotel(St Andrews)
US$249
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Albany Hotel(St Andrews)(Great Value!)
US$236
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$208
US$187
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$521
US$384
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Du Vin(St Andrews)
US$257
US$231
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Russell Hotel(St Andrews)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,407)
Filter reviews
1,407 results
Traveller rating
635
418
227
83
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
635
418
227
83
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrocca restaurantgastro pubgolf coursecream tealovely hotelamazing locationwest sandsreception staffshort breakpublic areasfirst classfantastic viewsdouble roomone night stayplay golfbreakfast roomlovely room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,039 - 1,044 of 1,407 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2014

So enjoyable that we stayed an extra night. Dogs walk straight on to the 18fairway at the Old Course and then on to the Chariots of Fire huge beach. Hard to better for either a short stay or longer trip to Fife. St Andrews also enjoys excellent restaurants and pubs

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Stayed recently.Booked in advance ,I then phoned to upgrade for a sea view as a surprise for my husband as we were celebrating our ruby wedding.Sea view ?No,view of car park we were given.So disappointed.To pay £120.00 extra was a waste.Never again will I upgrade,especially when you read that people get an upgrade for nothing and a sea view.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mh53_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Just back from a stay at the Rusacks hotel and we couldn’t fault it. Booked a classic king room and were pleasantly surprised to be put in the Bing Crosby suite with fantastic views over the 18th hole of the old course and St Andrews bay.
Room appeared to have been recently refurbished and was very comfortable.
Another highlight was the breakfast, not the greasy type you get at some hotels, but a fantastic cooked to order breakfast brought to your table with again great views of the 18th hole.

My only criticism of this hotel would be the very poor shower, not a lot of pressure on the top floor!! But other than that a great stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scottish_Ross_1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris F, General Manager at Macdonald Rusacks Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Dear guest

Thank you for your kind words. We went through a room’s refurbishment in 2013 which has greatly improved the offering at the Rusacks. The rooms have stayed true to the history and splendor of the old building but has given it a modern and contemporary feel. I would have to agree that our views are out of this world looking over the 18th hole of the old course and the beach…..it doesn’t get much better. Ill make sure I pass you feedback on to the chef as wee take great pride in our breakfast. Hopefully ill have the chance to welcome you back to the Rusacks in the future.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Stayed here as had a wedding in St Andrews - so glad we did. Room was amazing - such a comfy bed!! Only critcism would be the breakfast - not that great and it was so busy so the service was slow, plus had to wait for a table. We would defintely return though.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank dior123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris F, General Manager at Macdonald Rusacks Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Dear guest

Thank you for posting your thoughts on Tripadvisor. Its great to hear you had a great stay and lover our superb new beds. Ill make sure I pass you feedback on to the chef and our Restaurant manager as wee take great pride in our breakfast. Hopefully ill have the chance to welcome you back to the Rusacks in the future.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We spent two nights here as we were attending a wedding in St Andrews. The location is perfect and what a view! Overlooking the 1st/18th fairway of the old course you have the best outlook over to the beach. We phoned the day before to ask for early entry and they assured us that they would "do their best" and the staff certainly did! Our room (and another five rooms from our party) were ready on our arrival . Service was excellent and inobtrusive. Our room was ideal with plenty of storage + an iron and ironing board and trouser press. Big comfortable bed too! Might be worth asking for a room overlooking the golf course so you can enjoy the stunning view! Breakfast was also first class and the hot items were cooked to order. Definitely a hotel to go back to.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IanlorScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris F, General Manager at Macdonald Rusacks Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Dear guest

Thank you for your kind words. Its great to hear you had a great stay and loved our superb new beds. Our views are amazing which makes it well worthwhile upgrading to out golf facing rooms. Ill make sure I pass you feedback on to the Chef and our Restaurant manager as we work hard to get our breakfast right and we are very aware that it needs to keep evolving to stay ahead of the market. . Hopefully ill have the chance to welcome you back to the Rusacks in the future. PS I hope you had fun at the wedding.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews