We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip to the 'Home of Golf'”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in St Andrews
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Great location overlooking the 1st and 18th fairways with views out to sea. Very friendly welcome from all staff, most accommodating in organising some quick lunch prior to a round of golf. Rooms were a good size and very well prepared, bathrooms were slightly small for two guys sharing ! lol We had a very early tee time on day 2 but the staff in the breakfast room prepared some hot food in readiness for us, most appreciated by us all.
Given the superb location together with the welcoming staff, I will definitely stay here on my next visit to St Andrews.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris F, General Manager at Macdonald Rusacks Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of the Rusacks Hotel onto Tripadvisor. The staff at the hotel really make it a great place to come stray and of course to work. Hopefully the early morning food didn’t put you off your golf swing. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,373)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

998 - 1,004 of 1,373 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2014

Nice traditional Scottish building overlooking the beach & golf course & lovely picturesque views from the champagne bar. Hotel is very obviously tailored for the American golf tourist.

We were advise at check-in the gastro pub would be closed at 6pm for a private function - that's where we had actually planned to have our dinner & spend the evening !!!! If we had known this prior to booking we would not have booked.

The bedroom was fine & bed very comfortable, but the bathroom disgusting. In-grained dirt on the floor tiles, bath panel with paint flaking off, towel rail did not work, only 1 shampoo & 1 bath foam despite 2 guests in room.

The smell in the champagne bar was absolutely disgusting - there is obviously a problem with drains & sewage. It's not pleasant paying top dollar for a couple of drinks & sitting in the stench of human sh11tt. We moved to the hotel main sitting areas with our extortionately priced drinks.

There was a long queue for breakfast & the buffet part was ok, although some of the food items were not replaced, but the cooked breakfast was undercooked & cold.

On check-out there was a £1 charity charge on the bill. I don't mind giving to charity but I have never in my life had a hotel bill with a charity donation included.

When checking out I was advised that if I paid by credit card there would be a £3 charge, but if I paid by debit card or cash there would be no charge. Between business & leisure I stay approx. 60 nights p.a. in hotels & I've never been advised there is a credit card charge or charity donation charge when settling my bill.

We won't stay at this hotel ever again. It ruined what should have been a great Easter break.

To summarise: great location, fantastic views, nice common areas, filthy bathroom, smelly champagne bar, closed gastro pub, cold cooked breakfast, additional unforeseen charges at check-out.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Penguin0210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris F, General Manager at Macdonald Rusacks Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of the Rusacks Hotel onto Tripadvisor. I am truly sorry you didn’t know our One Under pub was closed on the evening of your stay. It is something we have spoke about as a team so that we do not make the same mistake again. Most of our 70 bed rooms were refurbished last year with the remainder to be finished this winter. Im very sorry you didn’t think your bathroom was up to the standard you would expect. I have personally looked at every bathroom in the hotel to ensure that appropriate work is being prioritized with our maintenance team and that all bathrooms are of a high standard. Scottish water are finishing off a 4 month upgrade project of water pipes in the area which has caused an occasional smell however I am happy to report that the works are almost finished. Macdonlad hotels are very proud of our charity work and the £1 on your bill is of course optional and can be taken off your bill at your request.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a one night stay and would certainly recommend it. It is in an ideal location, staff are very friendly and room was spotlessly clean and just what we wanted. Breakfast was lovely overlooking the 18th on the old course. We will certainly return.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Bendysb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris F, General Manager at Macdonald Rusacks Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of the Rusacks Hotel onto Tripadvisor and thank you so much for your recommendation. We take great pride in our food and our service. Davie our head chef was the youngest Chef in the UK to receive the coveted Michelin star and anything that leaves his kitchen is always of the highest standard. Hopefully Ill have the opportunity to personally welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

The location of the hotel is excellent, adjacent to the 18th fairway of the Old Course. The rooms are pleasant but no more, the bathroom had a number of cracked floor tiles and the room was a little cramped. Breakfast was reasonable - service was a bit slow and the breakfast was not of good quality, it was okay - no more. Lounge areas in and adjacent to reception are pleasant and the staff are mostly very helpful - I had a problem with my room key card on three occasions which was a bit of a nuisance but, generally, the hotel is decent enough and, as I said earlier, the location is second to none. Perhaps if it were to apply high quality service and principles then this could be an outstanding hotel. I would recommend staying here as a golfer.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

My husband and I stayed here in Feb04 but we have stayed here many times and each time there has been something different to see and do. Our room overlooked the 18th.hole which we both enjoyed my husband more that me because he does play golf. There are plenty of eating places in St.Andrews all reasonable price we did have breakfast at the hotel which was excellent we ate in the restaurant which is located down stairs in the hotel which is called The One Below which was excellent the waiter & bar staff were first class service was very quick highly recommended. All staff at the hotel friendly & helpful. There are nice good shops for a browse or to buy there is just one small supermarket Tesco's which was really handy to get little things for the day,plenty of sightseeing to do beach lovely to walk on we thought it would be cold & windy while we were there but it was sunny .Nice to see all the different nations students all friendly yes we do like St.Andrews can't wait for our next trip.

Room Tip: we always have good rooms but golf course rooms are the best if you like golf plus you get a sea vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janfra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

A great hotel to stay in for exploring St Andrews. We have now stayed in this hotel twice and both times it has been enjoyable. We had a great room which seemed like it had been recently renovated and also with a view down the 1st/18th on the old course.
The room was clean and spacious even with two sets of golf clubs! Staff were both welcoming and friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Dated hotel with very poor service, rooms have no baths, a must after a long day on the golf coarse. Restaurant is good all be it dreadfully slow and understaffed. Large televisions at reception showing spa and swimming pool lovely we were thinking only to be informed this is a sister hotel 2 hours away. Heading back to old coarse hotel next year and can't wait. Avoid Rusacks if you want a good nights sleep!!!!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank redknife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
3.2 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 17 in St Andrews
3,543 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#5 of 17 in St Andrews
573 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#11 of 17 in St Andrews
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#2 of 17 in St Andrews
1,241 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#7 of 17 in St Andrews
428 reviews
0.5 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#3 of 17 in St Andrews
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Rusacks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Rusacks Hotel

Address: Pilmour Links, St Andrews KY16 9JQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in St Andrews
#5 Romantic Hotel in St Andrews
#5 Luxury Hotel in St Andrews
Price Range: £94 - £417 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Rusacks Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel in St Andrews is a golfers paradise. Overlooking the world famous Old Course, you can indulge in a round or simply watch others tee'ing off from our comfortable R Bar. Our award-winning Rocca Bar & Grill serves the finest and freshest food against the backdrop of the Old Course's 18th hole. Our luxurious bedrooms are the perfect place to rest your head after a day exploring this beautiful seaside town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Macdonald Rusacks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Rusacks St Andrews
Hotel Macdonald Rusacks
Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel St Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing