We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere and service”
Review of Zizzi - St Andrews

Zizzi - St Andrews
Ranked #85 of 142 Restaurants in St Andrews
Price range: US$11 - US$25
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: At Zizzi we like to do things a little differently. We don’t do over-complicated recipes or scrimpy portion sizes. We’re all about the well-chosen ingredients, simply put together to make exceptional Italian food.St Andrew's might be famous for its golf, but it's also home to Zizzi on South Street. If you're making a special trip to the cinema, theatre or even concerts, we're only a 10 minute walk away. Better still, maybe you just don't want to cook, in which case come enjoy some fine Italian cuisin alongside a glass or two of Prosecco. A deceptively small front opens into a spacious, relaxing restaurant able to cater for large parties and intimate diners.Dine al fresco with an outdoor dining area for sunny weather. And if you’re celebrating something special, see if our private dining area is right for you.
St Monans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and service”
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

We were served by a very attentive and helpful waitress. The decor has been updated since our last visit. I am not sure if I like the tree growing out of the floor! The starters were tasty but we found the main courses lacked flavour. My partner had the King Prawn Linguine and counted six prawns in the dish. The desserts were the highlight of the meal. We would recommend the ChocolateToffee and Lemon sundaes.There was a good buzz in the place - patronised by families and couples. Although the restaurant was busy service was prompt.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank scottishfisherlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    131
    60
    40
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Won't be back”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Visited last Tuesday evening 6pm, I'm a regular here and had been in the previous week with my wife and dented a£100 note in the process, decided to take the kids there for a early tea on a week night, bad move, the place was half empty , waited 20 mins to get drinks ordered, then another 20 for them to get delivered, 20 minis later the starters turned up along with the kids mains, waited a further 30 m for our mains to turn up , by this time the my kids were doing what bored kids do ! Ask how long are we going to be ?? I won't be back , we emailed the manager after getting no where with the staff on duty, guess what no response.. ,, ,.. Next time I want a pizza I will go to dominoes round the corner and eat it in the car .

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank racingcee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunblane, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Enjoyed a lovely lunch sitting in the sun here yesterday. Great tasting food. Very good service. We liked the lower calorie options.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindyloopylou12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Zizzi Top”
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Looked on Trip Advisor and saw Little Italy (#2) but booked up. So round the corner to Zizzi and welcomed to our table. Nice atmosphere and people clearly enjoying their food.

Breadstick starter were good to set the scene. We had Skinny and Rustic pizzas and loved the dough and the toppings on both were great (Buffalo and Veggie). Topped off with Lemon Sundae & Tiramasu - both superb. All washed down with Pigot Grigio blush and finished with a limoncelo.

We are a hard couple to please food wise but Zizzi's made us very happy at the end of a long day (another story).

Highly recommended on this showing and can't believe it is only rated at #43 (7 Jul 14).

Helpful?
Thank Bob E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alloa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“where did you get that smile”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I don't know about you but when there are so many like for like eateries out there it is the little things that matter, Zizzi in St Andrews is a perfect example.

Good menu with food cooked and presented well in a clean, bustling atmosphere of happy people...so what makes the difference...well the disabled access was good (though the lovely clean toilets are a trifle small for a wheelchair) so what was it.

Simple ... a female and a male combined to seat us..take our orders and serve us (they all do that!!...dont they) yes they do but not always with a smile which honestly displays welcome and have a good time quite so honestly.

That is all it was...no gimmicks on the menu or free balloons for the kids, all it took was a genuine warm welcome with an honest desire to see you enjoyed the whole experience...Well Done to them they are rare in todays patina of normality.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank darthonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Zizzi - St Andrews also viewed

St Andrews, Fife
 
St Andrews, Fife
 
St Andrews, Fife
 

Been to Zizzi - St Andrews? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing