We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rufflets Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$318
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$283
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Greyfriars Inn(St Andrews)
US$157
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$453
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$228
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairmont St Andrews(St Andrews)
US$306
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Hotel Du Vin(St Andrews)
US$245
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$211
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Albany Hotel(St Andrews)
US$167
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$162
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Ardgowan Hotel(St Andrews)
US$218
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$560
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,293)
Filter reviews
1,293 results
Traveller rating
981
223
67
12
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
981
223
67
12
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsturret roomcountry house hotelhomemade shortbreadkinness lodgemolton brown toiletriesterrace restaurantstunning gardensorchard suitea hot water bottleteddy bearfirst classfour poster bedthe main hotelturn down servicelovely hotelafternoon teahigh standard
Filter
Updating list...
957 - 962 of 1,293 reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2013

We visited the hotel to attend our son's wedding this weekend. From arriving to leaving everything was perfect. The room we were allocated could not have been better. We would like to comment on the excellent housekeeping and the attention to detail. The nightly "turn down" service is a real bonus. It is encouraging to find a hotel that vacuums the rooms daily. My wife and I hope to return very soon for another weekend break.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kenneth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2013

Dear Kenneth

Delighted to read your review, and the team are all pleased to be able to read that their hard work has paid off.

Even though it was early March, you were certainly blessed wiht some great weather for your son's wedding.

Hope to see you and your wife again very soon.

With regards from all the team,

Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013

A lovely established hotel set in beautiful grounds in a great location. The hotel offers comfortable rooms, good food and wine with a warm welcome from friendly staff. The bar has an extensive range of single malt whiskies. Free wi-fi throughout the hotel and your own personal teddy bear complete the facilities provided to guarantee a pleasant stay.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank John737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2013

Dear John

Most grateful that you have taken the time to write the review after your last visit to Rufflets.

Comfort, a warm welcome and friendly staff is what we are all about, and I was especially pleased to read that you had enjoyed one or two of our selection of over 100 whiskies (although I hope that you didn't try them all on one night!).

Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards

Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Beautiful property, very comfortable reception rooms. Lovely large bedroom, very nicely furnished. Unfortunately bathroom small and cramped, kept banging door on toilet roll which was behind door! Rooms quite noisy with creaking floorboards and bathroom fans. Overlooking
car park with street lamp directly opposite room. Food was good but mains were like starters - ok for me but my husband not satisfied.

Room Tip: Choose 2nd floor
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lilian10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2013

Delighted to hear that - at least for the most part - that you had enjoyed the 2 night stay at Rufflets.

We will have a look at the reason for the banging door in the bathroom, but I do hpe that you enjoyed the fabulous big walk-in shower that we have in that room.

Anyway, I do hope that you will be able to come back and visit us soon.

Regards,

Stephen Owen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013

My husband and I had a two night stay with dinner, bed & breakfast as part of my 40th birthday celebrations in October. We were looking for a hotel that would give us a quiet and relaxing break from our busy family life. The Rufflets turned out to be the ideal choice! We had an Itison voucher which covered the room and all our food, and my husband paid a small fee to upgrade us to a turrett room. This was a great extra and the room was just wonderful! We were made so welcome by all the staff and felt instantly comfortable in the hotel. It is stylish and chic without being pretentious, with a really welcoming family-run feel. Once we had checked-in we were delighted to sit on a sofa by one of the open fires, sipping wine and having a light lunch in a lovely quiet lounge. The service by all the staff was faultless and we felt very at ease to relax in the hotel (and not a child in sight which was perfect for us!). The food was delicious and portion sizes ideal so that we could just manage to finish three courses. I was delighted with several small guestures that the staff made for my birthday, including a free glass of fizz before dinner and sitting us at the best table in the restaurant. The hotel is the ideal distance from St. Andrews to be wonderfully quiet but also an easy walk into the town (approximately half an hour). St. Andrews is such a charming and beautiful place, we have been there many times. The hotel gardens are very traunquil and naturally beautiful, we had a lovely view of them from the balcony of our room and a walk round them on our final morning. When we reluctantly had to check out at the end of our stay, we felt wonderfully relaxed and delighted with the whole experience! We will definitely be returning - it is a real haven and ideal for busy parents to enjoy some quality time together.

Room Tip: The turret rooms are particularly special.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarahlovesfood934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2013

Dear Sarah

We are all really pleased to be able to read how much our efforts helped make your birthday stay at the hotel so special.

The Turret Rooms are very popular (and we have two) - and from what we hear they are very much worth the extra money.

We are in the process of developing two more rooms into Superior Rooms, which once we have finished them will give an extra dimension to the range of rooms our guests can chose from.

Hope to see you again soon.

With my best regards,

Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013

Excellent stay - to spoil ourselves we booked one of the Turret rooms - we were not disappointed! The four poster bed and jacuzzi bath were pure luxury. Rufus the bear was a good touch. Dinner was very good and the selection for breakfast was impressive. Service was very friendly from all staff - Angela was especially helpful (obtaining the scallop receipe from the chef and recommending several whiskys from the bar!). I am usually disappointed about one aspect of a hotel stay though I scored 100% for Rufflets - we'll be back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2013

Dear Chris

Many thanks for taking the time to post this review - and I am really pleased to see that we have scored 100% with you - and the rest of the team are equally pleased (especially Angela)!

You will just have to come back and sample more of the whisky that we have available (over 100 different ones....) and do let us know how you get on with the scallop dish when you make it at home.

With my best regards,

Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews