We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a pleasure this was!”
Review of Rufflets Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rufflets Hotel
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in St Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“What a pleasure this was!”
Reviewed 5 December 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights,3rd and 4th December 2013 on a 5pm voucher and it was excellent from beginning to end.The hotel is beautifully decorated and our room(36) was lovely.The food in the restaurant was a real treat,and the staff in the restaurant were very,very friendly especially Angela.All the staff in the hotel were really pleasant and very helpfull ,we had a problem when checking out as the Forth Road Bridge was closed and the staff went out of their way to help us with this by finding out info on this,very kind indeed,thankyou.One small suggestion (not a complaint) perhaps background music in the restaurant could be a little louder as it really couldnt be heard!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank malz0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Many thanks for the feedback - and it is good to hear the staff getting mentioned (and Angela yet again by name - she is a star!).

Glad that you managed to get back home alright after all the storms that day - and hope that the next time the weather will be better for you.

Regards

Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    864
    194
    60
    12
    8
See reviews for
231
636
17
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coatbridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Came here for my dads 70th birthday with the family,6 adults 4 children.We had both family rooms
and a double room,all the rooms were great and both family rooms are ideal for a family of four.Service and food on both dinner and breakfast over the two days was great.The staff could not do enough to help.

Room Tip: Family room in main building is fantastic for a family of four.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear Gordon

Really pleased to read how much you enjoyed the family celebration at Rufflets recently, and especially so with the family accommodation.

We do have the two family rooms (both with 2 separate bedrooms and family bathrooms), and are in fact going to be developing a 3rd family option in the main hotel in February next year. These rooms, in addition to the self-catering lodges, do give our clients great options for the extended family.

Also pleased to see that you enjoyed the food and the service - and that it was all pitched right for the whole party.

Regards

Stephen Owen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

I booked the dinner bed and breakfast deal with the rufflets hotel for my mums birthday. I would like to thank all the staff for making the stay so special. All the staff were extremely professional and very friendly nothing was to much trouble they even organised flowers to be in my mums room for her arrival.
The food was of excellent quality and taste and the waiters and waitresses were attentive in a very friendly way without being obtrusive.
Thanks to all the staff, keep doing what you are doing. We plan to return in the near future.
Kind regards
Diane o'neil

Room Tip: All rooms looked lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevotherevo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
Dear Diane

I am delighted to read how much you enjoyed the stay at the hotel for your mother's special birthday - and that the team's hard work helped make it all that bit more special.

We will keep on doing what we do - but will always be looking to see how we can get better!

Hope to see you soon.

Regards

Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

I was on my own and stayed just one night but had a lovely room and an excellent breakfast. It's like a little home from home and I have now stayed several times generally with my wife. The location is out of town which means it is very quiet and secluded but then requires some effort at organising transport. I took my bicycle a couple of years ago which worked really well!

Room Tip: I have always had good rooms and the out of tow location means they are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
I was pleased to read that you had enjoyed the return visit to the hotel, even though you were on your own this time around.

Rufflets is a very special place - and yes - we are on the outskirts of the town which does give the peace and tranquility, and understand that it takes a bit more effort to sort out the transport.

We are only 10 minutes from the train station, and there is a decent public bus that stops at the hotel to take guests into town. If a taxi is needed, again it is a short journey, and only costs £5 for the trip.

Maybe next time you could bring your bike again - there are some fabulous cycle paths in the immediate area that suit all sorts of biking, and we do have secure places to leave bikes over-night.

With my best regards

Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 December 2013

My wife and I come most years at this time to take advantage of the very reasonable terms. Slightly out of town, it is an ideal base from which to play some of the superb St. Andrews' courses. Staff could not be more helpful or diligent, our 'superior' room was spacious and fully modernised within the charming old house and the dining room food and wines were of a very high standard. We could not recommend Rufflets more highly.

Room Tip: We took a Superior room, on the second floor, to the rear, overlooking the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
Dear James

Many thanks for leaving your thoughts following your recent stay at Rufflets - and I was pleased to read that you had enjoyed one of our Superior Rooms - they are worth that little bit extra!

Indeed we are a great place to visit, and close to many of the great golf courses, and even through the winter, they all play (at least the links courses) really well.

And thank you for the comment about the staff - we all do try to provide the quality service that is expected, but with a warm friendly smile.

Regards

Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Stayed one night at Rufflets hotel as a birthday treat for my husband and instantly impressed with the standard of service.The receptionist personally showed us to our room which was very appealing, with a spacious bathroom and en-suit. Staff at dinner were attentive without being obtrusive,the food was excellent and the wine list impressive and not overpriced. The turn down service with the teddy in the bed and the hot water bottle, finished of a lovely day. Breakfast again was superb with wide variety and not confined to the usual favourites

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Disappointing_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
We are all pleased to read how impressed you both were with the recent stay at Rufflets.

Unobtrusive service is something that we work very hard to provide - all matched up with the high quality of food provision and comfort.

Rufus the Bear is frequently mentioned in dispatches - and at this time of year, the hot-water bottle always goes down well!

Many thanks for the feedback - hope to see you again soon.

With my best regards,

Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tillicoultry
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We came back again to Rufflets as we have thoroughly enjoyed our previous stays here, and once again we were delighted with all aspects of our stay. To begin with we found we had been given an upgrade to a large Turret room as we were previous visitors, and the room was wonderful, spacious and comfortable in every way. Having returned to our room after a most enjoyable dinner on the first night of our break we found the "do not disturb" teddy who lives in the room was holding a "Welcome back" card for us (what a nice touch!), the bed was turned down, curtains drawn and table lamps lit, all adding to our pleasure at being back there! The meals were delicious and varied and the staff did everything to make sure visitors to the hotel felt comfortable and cared for. We look forward to our next stay there very much

Room Tip: If you can, choose the Turret room, No. 11, a spacious room, with a very comfortable sitting area ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valerius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear Valerius,

Many thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback - and thank you for the kind comments.

We do work hard to continue to maintain the high standards across the hotel - with so many repeat clients, we do need to keep up the quality.

In January, we will be closing for alomost 3 weeks, and will be carrying out some of our annual refurbishments, and will be doing work in a number of bedrooms and bathrooms - so I hope that you will be able to come back soon to see what we have been doing!

Care and comfort is what all the staff aim to provide - and we are delighted to be able to read when the hard work pays off.

Thank you again,

Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
4.3 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 17 in St Andrews
3,193 reviews
1.5 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#7 of 17 in St Andrews
1,286 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#5 of 17 in St Andrews
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#13 of 17 in St Andrews
675 reviews
1.9 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#3 of 17 in St Andrews
395 reviews
6.2 mi away
Drumoig Golf Hotel
Drumoig Golf Hotel
#1 of 1 in Drumoig
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rufflets Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rufflets Hotel

Property: Rufflets Hotel
Address: Strathkinness Low Road, St Andrews KY16 9TX, Scotland (Formerly Rufflets Country House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in St Andrews
#1 Family Hotel in St Andrews
#2 Luxury Hotel in St Andrews
#2 Romantic Hotel in St Andrews
#6 Business Hotel in St Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rufflets Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury family hotel, situated in 10 acres of secluded gardens, has been under the same family ownership for over 60 years. Located a few minutes' drive from the centre of town, golf courses and beaches, the hotel is popular with couples and families. Rufflets is surrounded by mature gardens which supply the fine dining restaurant. Free parking and WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct and Cancelon so you can book your Rufflets Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rufflets Country House Hotel St. Andrews
Rufflets Country Hotel
Rufflets Country St Andrews
Rufflets Hotel St Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing