We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rufflets Hotel
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in St Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

What a lovely place to stay and work. We stayed for 2 nights and all the staff are so nice and show an interest and understand customer service. You can even tell they enjoy their work. The management are always on hand and talking to customers and setting the scene, the food is fresh and local so really good and some nice wines to choose from. It is a country house so lots of fires to sit around with comfortable seat and couches with loads of magazines to glaze through. We will be back.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Barry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Dear Barry

Many thanks for the kind comments - and yes - it is a great place to work!

Hope to be able to see you again soon - perhaps when the weather is warmer and you can enjoy sitting outside in the gardens as well.

Regards

Stephen Owen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,214)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

711 - 717 of 1,214 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2013

I enjoyed a very pleasant overnight stay at this hotel, while attending a business meeting in St Andrews the following day. Hotel location is ~0.5 miles out of St Andrews and is set in the peace and tranquillity of the surrounding countryside. The hotel grounds are well kept and give a very good initial impression to the visitor or guest on their arrival. Reception staff are warm and welcoming, with the rooms and hotel communal areas being furnished and cleaned to a very high standard.

We chose to eat in the hotel and enjoyed an excellent 3 course evening meal. Breakfast the following morning was also a delight, with items on the cooked menu being particularly tempting (e.g. cinnamon French toast, buttermilk pancakes, kippers etc). In summary, the hotel was excellent value and I would not hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IndianaJonesA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to leave your comments - I was pleased to read how much you enjoyed the short stay at the hotel.

We may not be the usual type of 'business hotel' (no bad thing) - but we do offer a great place to escape to away from the buzz of the town, and do offer all the things that today's business person needs (and the good free wifi does go down well especially when there are some hotels that continue to charge for this!).

Perhaps you might find time to come back for a more leisurely trip?

Regards

Stephen Owen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013 via mobile

I stayed 1 night with my dad in a twin room on a voucher deal. The room we had was lovely and spacious overlooking the gardens. The dinner was included and very nice, service was excellent. Breakfast was great too with a large choice of cooked options. It is a bit out of town, but we drove in no problem although I wouldn't want to walk the distance. We will definitely be back

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy2601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Dear Wendy

We were all delighted to read that you had enjoyed such a relaxing time at Rufflets - something that many of our guests comment on - and thank you for taking the time to leave your comments.

The town is a very short distance - and when the weather is better it is a lovely walk.

Hope to see you again soon.

With my best wishes,

Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We spent two nights in Rufflets last week. Everything was perfect. Lovely room, charming staff, excellent food. The surrounding gardens were charming even in November and must be beautiful in the summer. Will certainly return.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StevenMcF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

We were all really pleased to read your comments - and delighted to hear that everything was perfect - even though we keep on working to make it even better!

We will be closing for 2 weeks in January to carry out some bedroom refurbishments - a lot of work and money, but it will all be worthwhile.

Hope to see you soon - perhaps once we get to Spring you might be able to come and enjoy the hotel and the gardens even more.

Regards

Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

A really pleasant family owned hotel nestled on the edge of St. Andrews. Quite traditonal in style yet not dated or tired with spacious and comfortable bedrooms and beds. Excellent staff were very friendly, helpful and attentive at all times. The excellent quality food seved in their restaurant from a daily changing menu with local ingredients was delicous for each of the 4 meals taken during this stay.
The only negative chat about my hotel stay is that with this property being an old building there was quite a bit of noise transmission from other guests going up and down the creeky staircase and when other rooms were using their showers there was the sound of the water pump which was enough to wake one from sleep.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hotel_Inspector00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Glad to hear that you enjoyed the stay so much - getting the balance between the traditonal style and keeping it all up to date is not easy, but we continue to work on it.

The hotel will in fact be closing for a couple of weeks to carry out more refurbishments to bedrooms, and I hope you will be back to see what we have done soon.

We are aware that there is a need to upgrade the shower pumps to reduce the sound disturbance, and this will be looked at over the coming months. The creaking staircase is also known - this does let us know when the ghosts of guests-passed are coming down to reception!

Many thanks for the feedback though - all very much appreciated as it does help us a great deal in making sure that we keep things right.

Regards

Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights,3rd and 4th December 2013 on a 5pm voucher and it was excellent from beginning to end.The hotel is beautifully decorated and our room(36) was lovely.The food in the restaurant was a real treat,and the staff in the restaurant were very,very friendly especially Angela.All the staff in the hotel were really pleasant and very helpfull ,we had a problem when checking out as the Forth Road Bridge was closed and the staff went out of their way to help us with this by finding out info on this,very kind indeed,thankyou.One small suggestion (not a complaint) perhaps background music in the restaurant could be a little louder as it really couldnt be heard!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank malz0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Many thanks for the feedback - and it is good to hear the staff getting mentioned (and Angela yet again by name - she is a star!).

Glad that you managed to get back home alright after all the storms that day - and hope that the next time the weather will be better for you.

Regards

Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Came here for my dads 70th birthday with the family,6 adults 4 children.We had both family rooms
and a double room,all the rooms were great and both family rooms are ideal for a family of four.Service and food on both dinner and breakfast over the two days was great.The staff could not do enough to help.

Room Tip: Family room in main building is fantastic for a family of four.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gordon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Dear Gordon

Really pleased to read how much you enjoyed the family celebration at Rufflets recently, and especially so with the family accommodation.

We do have the two family rooms (both with 2 separate bedrooms and family bathrooms), and are in fact going to be developing a 3rd family option in the main hotel in February next year. These rooms, in addition to the self-catering lodges, do give our clients great options for the extended family.

Also pleased to see that you enjoyed the food and the service - and that it was all pitched right for the whole party.

Regards

Stephen Owen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
4.3 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 17 in St Andrews
3,409 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#5 of 17 in St Andrews
537 reviews
1.5 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#8 of 17 in St Andrews
1,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#12 of 17 in St Andrews
695 reviews
1.9 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#3 of 17 in St Andrews
452 reviews
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#6 of 17 in St Andrews
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rufflets Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rufflets Hotel

Address: Strathkinness Low Road, St Andrews KY16 9TX, Scotland (Formerly Rufflets Country House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in St Andrews
#1 On the Beach Hotel in St Andrews
#2 Romantic Hotel in St Andrews
#2 Luxury Hotel in St Andrews
#6 Business Hotel in St Andrews
Price Range: £100 - £295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rufflets Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury family hotel, situated in 10 acres of secluded gardens, has been under the same family ownership for over 60 years. Located a few minutes' drive from the centre of town, golf courses and beaches, the hotel is popular with couples and families. Rufflets is surrounded by mature gardens which supply the fine dining restaurant. Free parking and WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your Rufflets Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rufflets Country House Hotel St. Andrews
Rufflets Country Hotel
Rufflets Country St Andrews
Rufflets Hotel St Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing