We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great Hotel”
Review of Rufflets Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rufflets Hotel
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in St Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A great Hotel”
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We arrived for a party night on the 14th of December, we booked a Turret room and we were not disappointed, the room was huge and beautifully decorated, with vast bed that was larger than a King-size was extremely comfortable. The hotel and grounds are stunning and the staff are extremely friendly, they go out their way to make you feel at home. We were there with another couple who were also in a Turret room, we had arrived early, around 11:30 ish. The friend’s room ways already available and we were informed from the friendly receptionist that ours would be ready in 10 minutes. I ordered a bottle of Prosecco and it was delivered to the room in 5 minutes and true to their word, our room was ready on the time they stipulated. The party night was again excellent, the hall was tastefully decorated for Christmas and the tables had enough room around them for people to pass without imposing themselves on the tables. Sometimes you go to venues that shoehorn as much people as they can into a hall, but this was not the case here.
The food was excellent at the buffet, I had the beef blade which was cooked to perfection. We went back to our room after the dance and they had turned down the bed and placed a hot water bottle in the bed, which was a lovely touch.The next morning the breakfast was superb with a great choice of menu. I would definitely go back to stay again.
Bobby and Donna Hodge

Room Tip: Try a Turret room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Dear Robert

Delighted to hear that you had such a good time last weekend for the Party Night.

Being able to enjoy the fun in the Garden Suite, and then to retire to a lovely room is something that many of our weekend guests do - and saves the cost of taxis!

Many thanks for the kind comments - the team do enjoy reading them - and we hope that you might be re-booking for Christams next year.

With my best regards,

Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    856
    192
    58
    13
    8
See reviews for
227
632
17
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

we stayed for two nights with dinner and really enjoyed this hotel .everything was of high standard, from the beautiful decor to the delicious food , the attentive and pleasant staff to the lovely touch of a wee hot water bottle in the bed. The room was very comfortable and tastefully decorated with a large bathroom , great shower and a roll-top bath, luxury!. The menu had a fine selection of dishes much of which is grown in the garden or bought locally is beautifully presented and makes for fine dining experience.Breakfast too was excellent , a lovely choice and freshly prepared. All in all this is the place to stay, and even better if you get a 5p.m. Deal. The Christmas tree and decorations just made this break extra special . ,.the gardens Wow!

Room Tip: any room I think would be fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Delighted to read how much you enjoyed the recent stay at Rufflets.

Throughout the hotel, andf throughout the year, we do work hard to make sure that everyone who visits us does experience the quality of the rooms, and especially the warm friendly service that we provide.

The hot water bottle does go down well - nice surprise when you get into bed at night!

Regards

Stephen Owen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

What a lovely place to stay and work. We stayed for 2 nights and all the staff are so nice and show an interest and understand customer service. You can even tell they enjoy their work. The management are always on hand and talking to customers and setting the scene, the food is fresh and local so really good and some nice wines to choose from. It is a country house so lots of fires to sit around with comfortable seat and couches with loads of magazines to glaze through. We will be back.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Barry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Dear Barry

Many thanks for the kind comments - and yes - it is a great place to work!

Hope to be able to see you again soon - perhaps when the weather is warmer and you can enjoy sitting outside in the gardens as well.

Regards

Stephen Owen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

I enjoyed a very pleasant overnight stay at this hotel, while attending a business meeting in St Andrews the following day. Hotel location is ~0.5 miles out of St Andrews and is set in the peace and tranquillity of the surrounding countryside. The hotel grounds are well kept and give a very good initial impression to the visitor or guest on their arrival. Reception staff are warm and welcoming, with the rooms and hotel communal areas being furnished and cleaned to a very high standard.

We chose to eat in the hotel and enjoyed an excellent 3 course evening meal. Breakfast the following morning was also a delight, with items on the cooked menu being particularly tempting (e.g. cinnamon French toast, buttermilk pancakes, kippers etc). In summary, the hotel was excellent value and I would not hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IndianaJonesA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to leave your comments - I was pleased to read how much you enjoyed the short stay at the hotel.

We may not be the usual type of 'business hotel' (no bad thing) - but we do offer a great place to escape to away from the buzz of the town, and do offer all the things that today's business person needs (and the good free wifi does go down well especially when there are some hotels that continue to charge for this!).

Perhaps you might find time to come back for a more leisurely trip?

Regards

Stephen Owen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013 via mobile

I stayed 1 night with my dad in a twin room on a voucher deal. The room we had was lovely and spacious overlooking the gardens. The dinner was included and very nice, service was excellent. Breakfast was great too with a large choice of cooked options. It is a bit out of town, but we drove in no problem although I wouldn't want to walk the distance. We will definitely be back

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy2601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Dear Wendy

We were all delighted to read that you had enjoyed such a relaxing time at Rufflets - something that many of our guests comment on - and thank you for taking the time to leave your comments.

The town is a very short distance - and when the weather is better it is a lovely walk.

Hope to see you again soon.

With my best wishes,

Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milngavie, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We spent two nights in Rufflets last week. Everything was perfect. Lovely room, charming staff, excellent food. The surrounding gardens were charming even in November and must be beautiful in the summer. Will certainly return.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StevenMcF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
We were all really pleased to read your comments - and delighted to hear that everything was perfect - even though we keep on working to make it even better!

We will be closing for 2 weeks in January to carry out some bedroom refurbishments - a lot of work and money, but it will all be worthwhile.

Hope to see you soon - perhaps once we get to Spring you might be able to come and enjoy the hotel and the gardens even more.

Regards

Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

A really pleasant family owned hotel nestled on the edge of St. Andrews. Quite traditonal in style yet not dated or tired with spacious and comfortable bedrooms and beds. Excellent staff were very friendly, helpful and attentive at all times. The excellent quality food seved in their restaurant from a daily changing menu with local ingredients was delicous for each of the 4 meals taken during this stay.
The only negative chat about my hotel stay is that with this property being an old building there was quite a bit of noise transmission from other guests going up and down the creeky staircase and when other rooms were using their showers there was the sound of the water pump which was enough to wake one from sleep.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hotel_Inspector00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Glad to hear that you enjoyed the stay so much - getting the balance between the traditonal style and keeping it all up to date is not easy, but we continue to work on it.

The hotel will in fact be closing for a couple of weeks to carry out more refurbishments to bedrooms, and I hope you will be back to see what we have done soon.

We are aware that there is a need to upgrade the shower pumps to reduce the sound disturbance, and this will be looked at over the coming months. The creaking staircase is also known - this does let us know when the ghosts of guests-passed are coming down to reception!

Many thanks for the feedback though - all very much appreciated as it does help us a great deal in making sure that we keep things right.

Regards

Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
4.3 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 17 in St Andrews
3,140 reviews
1.5 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#7 of 17 in St Andrews
1,270 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#5 of 17 in St Andrews
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#6 of 17 in St Andrews
340 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#13 of 17 in St Andrews
672 reviews
1.9 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#3 of 17 in St Andrews
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rufflets Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rufflets Hotel

Property: Rufflets Hotel
Address: Strathkinness Low Road, St Andrews KY16 9TX, Scotland (Formerly Rufflets Country House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in St Andrews
#1 On the Beach Hotel in St Andrews
#1 Family Hotel in St Andrews
#2 Romantic Hotel in St Andrews
#6 Business Hotel in St Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rufflets Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury family hotel, situated in 10 acres of secluded gardens, has been under the same family ownership for over 60 years. Located a few minutes' drive from the centre of town, golf courses and beaches, the hotel is popular with couples and families. Rufflets is surrounded by mature gardens which supply the fine dining restaurant. Free parking and WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Rufflets Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rufflets Country House Hotel St. Andrews
Rufflets Country Hotel
Rufflets Country St Andrews
Rufflets Hotel St Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing