We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel for a short break”
Review of Rufflets Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rufflets Hotel
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in St Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 January 2014

enjoyed a 1-night stay here (we had a discount deal)

good points...
nice and friendly staff
comfortable room
fantastic started and main course
lovely wines
peaceful and quiet
close enough to st andrews for a quick drive
great breakfast

not so good points
nice sofas to lounge on - shame there weren't real coal fires
dessert was disappointing - my poor choice (choc tart didn't taste fresh)

Room Tip: they have bungalows adjacent to the hotel - although a short walk - worth it if you want to take you...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loobylu22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Delighted to hear that you had a great time when you came for the short break, and we do appreciate the comments.

The real fires were taken out quite a few years ago - and whilst we do know that they are not quite the same, find that the gas fires do look good, give plenty of heat, and cause less mess.

But perhaps the next time you come we wont need the fires as we will be enjoying another great Spring and Summer in St Andrews as we did last year.

With my best wishes,

Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,153)
There are newer reviews for Rufflets Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

645 - 651 of 1,153 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2014

Pre-Christmas two-night break, which was wonderful and relaxing. Good food, lovely staff and very comfortable surroundings. Very friendly establishment, and sitting with a refreshment in front of a fire in December was lovely.

Being just outside the town centre made it lovely and quiet.

Would highly recommend, and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Dear Irene

Glad to hear that you enjoyed the relaxing time at Rufflets before Christmas - sitting by the fires is a pleasant way to spend an hour or two - whether it be with a cup of tea or a glass of wine.

Hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel sometime soon.

Regards

Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Have visited this hotel over the years with family and friends mainly for teas, coffees and enjoyed relaxing in their comfortable lounges with lovely views across a beautiful garden. A great location just on the outskirts of St. Andrews.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scotland007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to leave your thoughts after the recent visit.

We do know that many other people are able to come and enjoy the ambience of the hotel, even if they are not staying over-night - it is a beautiful and tranquil haven to use, even just for coffee.

Regards

Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

This was a two night break with dinner. My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed it. The rooms, lounge areas and food were all excellent. We found the staff very friendly and helpful. We loved the turndown service and the added little touch of the hot water bottle. We will definitely be back and have already recommended it to some of our friends.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LizzieC1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2013

We are all really pleased to see that you both had such an enjoyable time at the hotel, and thank you for the feedback.

Being able to escape from all the pressure of the festive season to the hotel is something that we know people enjoy - it is a peaceful 'port in the storm'.

Hope to see you back soon.

Regards

Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We arrived for a party night on the 14th of December, we booked a Turret room and we were not disappointed, the room was huge and beautifully decorated, with vast bed that was larger than a King-size was extremely comfortable. The hotel and grounds are stunning and the staff are extremely friendly, they go out their way to make you feel at home. We were there with another couple who were also in a Turret room, we had arrived early, around 11:30 ish. The friend’s room ways already available and we were informed from the friendly receptionist that ours would be ready in 10 minutes. I ordered a bottle of Prosecco and it was delivered to the room in 5 minutes and true to their word, our room was ready on the time they stipulated. The party night was again excellent, the hall was tastefully decorated for Christmas and the tables had enough room around them for people to pass without imposing themselves on the tables. Sometimes you go to venues that shoehorn as much people as they can into a hall, but this was not the case here.
The food was excellent at the buffet, I had the beef blade which was cooked to perfection. We went back to our room after the dance and they had turned down the bed and placed a hot water bottle in the bed, which was a lovely touch.The next morning the breakfast was superb with a great choice of menu. I would definitely go back to stay again.
Bobby and Donna Hodge

Room Tip: Try a Turret room
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2013

Dear Robert

Delighted to hear that you had such a good time last weekend for the Party Night.

Being able to enjoy the fun in the Garden Suite, and then to retire to a lovely room is something that many of our weekend guests do - and saves the cost of taxis!

Many thanks for the kind comments - the team do enjoy reading them - and we hope that you might be re-booking for Christams next year.

With my best regards,

Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

we stayed for two nights with dinner and really enjoyed this hotel .everything was of high standard, from the beautiful decor to the delicious food , the attentive and pleasant staff to the lovely touch of a wee hot water bottle in the bed. The room was very comfortable and tastefully decorated with a large bathroom , great shower and a roll-top bath, luxury!. The menu had a fine selection of dishes much of which is grown in the garden or bought locally is beautifully presented and makes for fine dining experience.Breakfast too was excellent , a lovely choice and freshly prepared. All in all this is the place to stay, and even better if you get a 5p.m. Deal. The Christmas tree and decorations just made this break extra special . ,.the gardens Wow!

Room Tip: any room I think would be fine.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Delighted to read how much you enjoyed the recent stay at Rufflets.

Throughout the hotel, andf throughout the year, we do work hard to make sure that everyone who visits us does experience the quality of the rooms, and especially the warm friendly service that we provide.

The hot water bottle does go down well - nice surprise when you get into bed at night!

Regards

Stephen Owen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

What a lovely place to stay and work. We stayed for 2 nights and all the staff are so nice and show an interest and understand customer service. You can even tell they enjoy their work. The management are always on hand and talking to customers and setting the scene, the food is fresh and local so really good and some nice wines to choose from. It is a country house so lots of fires to sit around with comfortable seat and couches with loads of magazines to glaze through. We will be back.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Barry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Dear Barry

Many thanks for the kind comments - and yes - it is a great place to work!

Hope to be able to see you again soon - perhaps when the weather is warmer and you can enjoy sitting outside in the gardens as well.

Regards

Stephen Owen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
4.3 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 17 in St Andrews
3,270 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#5 of 17 in St Andrews
506 reviews
1.5 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#7 of 17 in St Andrews
1,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#13 of 17 in St Andrews
681 reviews
1.9 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#3 of 17 in St Andrews
410 reviews
6.2 mi away
Drumoig Golf Hotel
Drumoig Golf Hotel
#1 of 1 in Drumoig
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rufflets Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rufflets Hotel

Address: Strathkinness Low Road, St Andrews KY16 9TX, Scotland (Formerly Rufflets Country House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in St Andrews
#1 On the Beach Hotel in St Andrews
#2 Luxury Hotel in St Andrews
#2 Romantic Hotel in St Andrews
#6 Business Hotel in St Andrews
Price Range: £122 - £309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rufflets Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury family hotel, situated in 10 acres of secluded gardens, has been under the same family ownership for over 60 years. Located a few minutes' drive from the centre of town, golf courses and beaches, the hotel is popular with couples and families. Rufflets is surrounded by mature gardens which supply the fine dining restaurant. Free parking and WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Rufflets Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rufflets Country House Hotel St. Andrews
Rufflets Country Hotel
Rufflets Country St Andrews
Rufflets Hotel St Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing