We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical wedding”
Review of Rufflets Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rufflets Hotel
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in St Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Magical wedding”
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We had the most magical weekend at Rufflets Hotel, celebrating our son's wedding. Over the months leading up to this, the staff were consistently professional and really could not do enough, to ensure the bride and groom were happy with all their arrangements.
The hotel itself is beautifully decorated, in every way, bedrooms luxurious and extremely comfortable, with a very relaxed atmosphere.
Without exception every member of staff was pleasant, helpful and smiling.
The wedding itself was everything any bride and groom could wish for ....the feedback from all our family and guests was very positive.
There were many small instances, of individual staff who went out of their way, to make sure any request was taken care of.
This venue made a very special occasion an outstanding one......thank you!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank FionaMcK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
We were all really pleased to read how much the hard work and effort that we put in to the wedding had been appreciated - and we did very much enjoy being able to look after you all.

Hope to be able to welcome you back some time this year so that you can once again sample the wonderful hospitality that we aim to provide.

Regards

Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    849
    192
    58
    13
    8
See reviews for
224
629
17
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Renfrewshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

New Year 2014 is one we will never forget. Our stay at Ruffletts had a balance of tradition, fun ,great food and enough comfortable space to relax-- on your own or with other guests, who became friends from the old yesr in to the new.
For me , after the dancing was over, the flinging of the haggis rewarded with hot chocolate or mulled wine over a bonfire, was to climb the stairs to a bed that held a surprise-- chocolates AND a hot water bottle!!!!
Thank you to staff and fellow guests.

Room Tip: We had Room 34. Liked it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Irene

and unforgettable for the right reasons it appears.......

Great food, service, atmosphere, dancing plus Haggis Hurling all goes to give a great Scottish experience, and we are all pleased to see that you enjoyed it so much.

We do get a good mix of guests for the House Party, and they all have fun, and we know that they often keep in touch throughout the year as well!

Many thanks for the feedback, and we hope that we will be able to see you back at Rufflets soon.

Regards

Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

This was our first visit to Rufflets. We thought the welcome and the attention given by the staff was outstanding. The food was excellent and this was matched only by the care taken over individual dietry needs. The hogmanay party was the best we have attended and the highland games were great fun, despite the rain.


Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank R L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear R L

It does look as if we have been able to (yet again) provide a great time for our guests over Hogmanay, and we were all delighted to read your (and other's) comments and feedback.

To travel all the way from the south of England might seem a long journey, it is good to know that we were able to show top class Scottish hospitality and we do hope that this wont be the last time you come and see us!

Best wishes for 2014!

Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

This is the second year that we spent New Year at Rufflets. It was fabulous last time and if it's possible, it was even better this time. The welcome that Stephen, his family and all the staff give is outstanding. The hotel was warm and cosy and the food was excellent. The Hogmanay party was simply tremendous - we have never danced so much. Thank you so much to all at Rufflets.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear GJ

As you might expect, we were all really pleased to read your comments, and delighted that you had such a great time with us at Hogmany for the House Party.

It is a lot of hard work for the team, but it is something that we all enjoy doing - and a great way for us to end the year.

We are almost at the end of the first week of the refurb projects - lots happening with some new bathrooms and redecorating bedrooms - already looking forward to re-opening the hotel on the 24th Jan!

Hope to see you again soon.

Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 January 2014

This is our 29th consecutive New Year Break at Rufflets although we do use the Hotel at other times as well. We would rate this perhaps the very best visit. The guests appeared to 'mesh' extremely well this time and the Hotel Staff as always were excellent as was the Food. We were particularily impressed with how kind everyone was to our Grandchildren and to their young friends on Hogmanay.Our Grandson Eli aged 6 tells me he missed only 2 Dances the whole evening - one because it was oversubscribed and the other I would have thought through sheer exhaustion but he rallied and carried on at full speed into the early hours. Keep it up Rufflets - well done.

Room Tip: Room 8 suits our needs very well and has an extra linked twin bedroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hugh j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Well - having been to Rufflets each Hogmanay for so many years, to be told that this one was the best of them all is good to hear - and we will clearly need to raise the bar for the next one!

As always, it was a delight to have your family join you for some of the House Party - and good to see that they also had a great time.

With my best regards,

Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We had a very enjoyable two night break at Rufflets Hotel at the end of November, 2013. Everything about the hotel was warm. The staff were efficient and friendly, the food delicious, (their home smoked salmon is a must) and the temperature throughout the hotel was very comfortable.
Our room and ensuite were spacious, tastefully decorated and well appointed. A very nice touch was turning down the bed and the hot water bottle!!!
Rufflets location is very good for exploring the picturesque East Neuk of Fife, Dundee, Angus and the north east of Scotland, as well, of course, as the beautiful university town of St. Andrews which is only a couple of miles away.
We were on a dinner, bed & breakfast tariff and felt it was very good value for money. We hope to return soon and would have no hesitation in recommending to overseas and local travellers alike.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robertabrien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
We were all delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your recent stay at Rufflets.

The hotel is currently closed for a couple of weeks as we are redecorating and refurbishing more bedrooms and bathrooms - and so we hope that you will be able to return soon to see what we have been doing.

Regards

Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We booked a year in advance to travel from Manchester to spend Christmas here after a stressfull Christmas dinner back in 2012, albeit the planning that was needed to get 2 children and 2 OAP's, plus a car and roof box full of presents up to St Andrews was immense, but so, so worth it! The Kinness lodge is beautiful and so well equipped, it was a joy to not have to take home any dirty washing! (anyone with small kids will understand) The facilities in the lodge are so homely. We had breakfast in the main hotel on two of our four days - it was beautiful and highly reccommended. We booked for the Christmas dinner in the hotel and were told that due to us having small children we'd be best suited to the carvery meal in one of the hotel function rooms, so no problem, a slightly less formal dinner suited us too. We have never had a Christmas day, or Christmas dinner away from home before so paying £50 per head for adults was a treat we all deserved. The quality of the food on Christmas day we felt was below what we were expecting considering the high standard of everything else at the Rufflets, however the staff were amazing and very quick to assist with last minute meal changes or requests. We have fallen in love with Rufflets and are considering to return with the children in the autumn with a view to staying in one of the smaller lodges or within the main hotel. It's a beautiful hotel with lovely helpfull, friendly staff. A walk in the grounds is a must - just take your boots!

Room Tip: The Kinness Lodge is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lewis-Hurst_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
We were pleased to hear that you and the family had such a great time with us over Christmas - and thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback.

Hope that you might find an excuse to return soon.

Regards

Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
4.3 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 16 in St Andrews
3,061 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#3 of 16 in St Andrews
473 reviews
1.5 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#8 of 16 in St Andrews
1,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#12 of 16 in St Andrews
666 reviews
1.9 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#6 of 16 in St Andrews
359 reviews
6.2 mi away
Drumoig Golf Hotel
Drumoig Golf Hotel
#1 of 1 in Drumoig
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rufflets Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rufflets Hotel

Property: Rufflets Hotel
Address: Strathkinness Low Road, St Andrews KY16 9TX, Scotland (Formerly Rufflets Country House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in St Andrews
#1 Luxury Hotel in St Andrews
#2 Romantic Hotel in St Andrews
#6 Business Hotel in St Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rufflets Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury family hotel, situated in 10 acres of secluded gardens, has been under the same family ownership for over 60 years. Located a few minutes' drive from the centre of town, golf courses and beaches, the hotel is popular with couples and families. Rufflets is surrounded by mature gardens which supply the fine dining restaurant. Free parking and WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Rufflets Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rufflets Country House Hotel St. Andrews
Rufflets Country Hotel
Rufflets Country St Andrews
Rufflets Hotel St Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing