We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing luxury.”
Review of Rufflets Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rufflets Hotel
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in St Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 February 2014

This is a lovely hotel set in beautiful grounds. The staff were all friendly and helpful. Our suit was fantastic with the largest most luxurious bath ever. We both enjoyed a delicious meal in the terrace restaurant. Would love to come back and spend more time relaxing in this great county house.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whitebeetle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Thank you ever so much for the feedback - I was pleased to read how much you enjoyed the hotel, the gardens, and especially the friendly staff.

Hope that you will find time to be able to come back and enjoy it all again.

Regards

Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,173)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

633 - 639 of 1,174 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2014

Our son gives us a treat each Christmas of D.B&B at one of the best Hotels in Scotland. We have just had our break at Rufflets this year, and from the moment we entered till the time we left, we were "at home" and so relaxed. The staff from Reception, Maitre D and waitresses and Bar staff were just delightful and made our stay so very enjoyable. Our room was very elegant and comfy with beautiful modern En Suite and everything you would require for your stay. The food was probably the best we have had from any Hotel that we have stayed in. It will be the first of all of the Hotels that we will definitely be returning to. The garden and grounds are magnificent and so well kept. I raise my hat to you RUFFLETS !!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: I don't think there are any "Bad Rooms" to choose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Evandale28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

We were all delighted to see that your son had shown such great taste in buying you a special treat at Rufflets this year - and even more so to hear that his choice proved to be such a success.

The team all do take great pride in reading when their hard work has been appreciated - it does add a spring to their step!

So thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback - and maybe he might buy you the same present this year?

With my very best regards,

Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

This hotel is excellent. We had a wonderful stay here last weekend. The staff are very professional and friendly...a rare combination these days! The food is first class well served by staff in delightful surroundings . The bar staff were very tolerant of our late night antics and I applaud them for that as we kept them up late. Thank you guys. The bedrooms were so comfortable with the lovely touches that make it unique. We will certainly be back to enjoy this beautiful hotel .

Room Tip: We stayed in Rooms 35 36 and 37 - all very comfortable rooms with large showers and baths to enjoy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susanwizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

It is always reassuring to hear that we have been able to help make family get-togethers go so well. As a country house that often appears to be like a home-from-home, we (as in the whole team) can make it all a very relaxed environment, all set in a wonderful hotel.

In addition to the 24 bedrooms, we also have some lodges that are ideal for family occasions - so maybe the next time you might want to look at those as an option?

Delighted to hear that you made full use of the bar (hope that you didnt manage to sample all of the 110 whiskies that we have!) - and I did hear that you were all very well-behaved.

Thank you for the feedback - it is always appreciated.

With my best regards,

Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We stayed here for two nights at the end of last year and thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience. The received a warm welcome, all staff were very pleasant, seemed efficient and good at their jobs.

We were delighted with our room which was very nicely furnished, clean, comfortable and well kitted out . The lounge, dining room and bar areas were very attractive and it was lovely to relax by the fire with pre and post dinner drinks. Food was very enjoyable throughout our stay.

The grounds of this hotel must be stunning in summer. It's not cheap here but what you get is definitely worth the tariff. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anne8527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

I was delighted to read that you had such a food time with us during your recent stay.

We do work very hard to provide that warm, relaxing place to come and stay - and all balanced by equally warm, friendly and efficient service.

The gardens are superb in the spring and summer - with the formal gardens and terrace, plus some quiet, peaceful and private corners that you can disappear into as well.

Hope to see you again soon.

Regards

Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

My Husband and I recently stayed at this hotel on a dinner, bed and breakfast basis. The standards throughout the the hotel were very high. We would highly recommend this hotel if looking for a peaceful, relaxing few days away.

Room Tip: Room at the top of the hotel was very comfortable and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonchat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Many thanks for the review and feedback - we are pleased to read that you both enjoyed the short stay with us, and very much appreciate the recommendations...and we hope that you might be able to come back soon.

Regards

Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

This is a very traditional, comfortable country house hotel with an excellent restaurant. I think it could be a little stuffy at times but we stayed on a Saturday night so it was busy and had a great atmosphere. Both dinner and breakfast were absolutely delicious with an excellent range of dishes prepared using top quality ingredients. Service was prompt and polite. One of the best restaurants in the area.
Of particular importance to us is the way the hotel caters for dogs. Dogs are not allowed in the main hotel but they have some lodges in the grounds where dogs are welcome. These are perhaps a little basic in terms of decor and furnishing but they are perfectly comfortable and very clean. Because they are slightly away from the main hotel (only a minute or so) we didn't have to worry about the odd bark annoying other guests. There was separate parking directly outside the lodge and plenty of space for walks. We only stay in hotels which take dogs and this is one of the best.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
Thank jaraGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Dear Jara

Many thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback after your recent stay.

With 10 acres of gardens and grounds, we are very well suited for guests who wish to bring thier dogs with them, although as you say, we only allow dogs into the various lodges that we have at the hotel.

Glad to hear that you (all three) had such a good time, and we hope to be able to welcome you back when there is more daylight to enjoy all 10 acres (plus beaches and country walks no doubt!)

With my best regards,

Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Just home from 2 nights at Rufflets and we had a lovely time,from the moment we checked in to we checked out was first class.We stayed in room 30 which was on its own at the top of the hotel,the room was huge a very comfortable bed also a sitting area with 2 chairs and a sofa and a desk and plenty of lamps to make the room cosy.The bathroom also was huge with bath and separate shower,and plenty of storage space.Overall the room was lovely,could maybe do with a wee make over.But no complaints from us as we were on a special rate through Itison.The hotel stands in lovely grounds and all the public areas are beautiful,there are lovely rooms to sit and relax in also a lovely bar which is so beautiful at nights with open fire and candles.Lastly the restaurant it is beautiful and all the food we ate was amazing,great choice at breakfast to our meals at night(3 courses) they were outstanding.All this and every one of the staff were very lovely and friendly,also a few extra touches that we loved-the teddy to put outside your door if you did not want to be disturbed to the bed being turned down and a hot water bottle in side.Lovely lovely lovely,will be back.x

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Dear Brenda

We were all pleased to read the review that you so kindly left - thank you for the feedback.

We do work hard from start to finish to ensure that our guests do have an excellent experience - and this goes across the whole team - and it is reassuring to see that we do succeed to deliver on so many levels.

Hope that it wont be long before you get the chance to return.

Regards

Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
4.3 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 17 in St Andrews
3,324 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#5 of 17 in St Andrews
516 reviews
1.5 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#8 of 17 in St Andrews
1,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#11 of 17 in St Andrews
687 reviews
1.9 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#3 of 17 in St Andrews
427 reviews
6.2 mi away
Drumoig Golf Hotel
Drumoig Golf Hotel
#1 of 1 in Drumoig
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rufflets Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rufflets Hotel

Address: Strathkinness Low Road, St Andrews KY16 9TX, Scotland (Formerly Rufflets Country House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in St Andrews
#1 Family Hotel in St Andrews
#2 Romantic Hotel in St Andrews
#2 Luxury Hotel in St Andrews
#6 Business Hotel in St Andrews
Price Range: £118 - £290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rufflets Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury family hotel, situated in 10 acres of secluded gardens, has been under the same family ownership for over 60 years. Located a few minutes' drive from the centre of town, golf courses and beaches, the hotel is popular with couples and families. Rufflets is surrounded by mature gardens which supply the fine dining restaurant. Free parking and WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Rufflets Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rufflets Country House Hotel St. Andrews
Rufflets Country Hotel
Rufflets Country St Andrews
Rufflets Hotel St Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing