We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rufflets Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$263
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$187
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Greyfriars Inn(St Andrews)(Great Value!)
US$185
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$283
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Albany Hotel(St Andrews)(Great Value!)
US$236
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$272
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$521
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$383
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Du Vin(St Andrews)
US$256
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$231
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Dunvegan Hotel(St Andrews)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Russell Hotel(St Andrews)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,283)
Filter reviews
1,283 results
Traveller rating
973
221
67
12
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
973
221
67
12
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsturret roomcountry house hotelhomemade shortbreadkinness lodgemolton brown toiletriesterrace restaurantstunning gardensorchard suitea hot water bottleteddy bearfirst classfour poster bedthe main hotelturn down servicelovely hotelafternoon teahigh standard
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
738 - 743 of 1,283 reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We spent a few days at Rufflets in mid-February which is probably the dreariest month of the year but it was like an early spring when we arrived. Our room (No.35) had had a complete overhaul since our previous visit and the new bathroom was a delight. As always, the staff were cheerful, friendly and nothing is too much trouble. The breakfast selection is wide, varied and of the highest quality so it is difficult not too eat too much! We had dinner on three consecutive evenings and, again the standard of dining is of the highest quality anywhere with a varied, beautifully presented selection of dishes made from the finest ingredients; the service is excellent and there is wine-list which is one of the most comprehensive we've seen. If you are looking for the best hotel in the east of Scotland - you've found it! - We'll be back!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Dear Davmax

Many thanks for the comments - we do strive hard to make sure that we are improving the hotel and the levels of service, and to read that we are getting better and better is very encouraging.

The whole team will be pleased to be able to read how much their efforts have been appreciated and we all very much hope that we will be able to see you again in the near future.

With our best wishes,

Stephen (and the whole team!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

This stay lovely, the room was wonderful, the meals i.e. breakfast and dinner, was excellent. the grounds were lovely even in February.. would recommend this hotel to all my friends and family, walking in the grounds was fab

Room Tip: very good rooms bath was massive
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gill1130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Always good to hear that our geusts have enjoyed the time spent with us at Rufflets - and thank you for the kind comments.

The gardens are starting to blossom already and it is good to see the colours coming through in the sunshine (at least it is sunny today!)

Regards

Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

I usually treat my wife to a hotel break for her birthday so I thought we would give Rufflets a visit for the first time. I can honestly say,and my wife agreed, this is one of the best hotels we have stayed at , from the rooms,to the service and not forgetting the fantastic food. From booking right through to departure it was first class. All the staff were great and a special mention for Angela who was excellent in charge of the Terrace and very friendly. We will be back sooner rather than later!

Room Tip: Turret rooms incur a supplement but are well worth it.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Dear Ken

Many thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback - and especially the name-ckeck for Angela - she is a real star.

The whole team do work hard to make sure that all our geusts have a great experience at Rufflets, and I am delighted to hear that the special occasion went so well.

Hope to be able to see you again soon.

With my best regards,

Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

This is a lovely hotel set in beautiful grounds. The staff were all friendly and helpful. Our suit was fantastic with the largest most luxurious bath ever. We both enjoyed a delicious meal in the terrace restaurant. Would love to come back and spend more time relaxing in this great county house.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whitebeetle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Thank you ever so much for the feedback - I was pleased to read how much you enjoyed the hotel, the gardens, and especially the friendly staff.

Hope that you will find time to be able to come back and enjoy it all again.

Regards

Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Our son gives us a treat each Christmas of D.B&B at one of the best Hotels in Scotland. We have just had our break at Rufflets this year, and from the moment we entered till the time we left, we were "at home" and so relaxed. The staff from Reception, Maitre D and waitresses and Bar staff were just delightful and made our stay so very enjoyable. Our room was very elegant and comfy with beautiful modern En Suite and everything you would require for your stay. The food was probably the best we have had from any Hotel that we have stayed in. It will be the first of all of the Hotels that we will definitely be returning to. The garden and grounds are magnificent and so well kept. I raise my hat to you RUFFLETS !!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: I don't think there are any "Bad Rooms" to choose.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Evandale28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

We were all delighted to see that your son had shown such great taste in buying you a special treat at Rufflets this year - and even more so to hear that his choice proved to be such a success.

The team all do take great pride in reading when their hard work has been appreciated - it does add a spring to their step!

So thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback - and maybe he might buy you the same present this year?

With my very best regards,

Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews