We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In love with Rufflets!”
Review of Rufflets Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rufflets Hotel
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in St Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“In love with Rufflets!”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

after having spent 7days exploring the Lake District and the Highlands, we arrived at Rufflets and were met by wonderful staff! After checking in to our beautiful rooms, we went for a walk around the grounds. it was fantastic! Very peaceful and lovely...Stephen Owen the Operations Director was a love and hosted a most incredible dinner with his lovely wife and daughter. It was all around a fantastic stay. The next day he was so kind to take us around St Andrews and Castle course. I will always think of Rufflets and hope to come back!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chersco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
It does seem that you, like many of our guests, do fall in love with Rufflets once thay have been able to come and stay.

It is a special hotel, in very special place - and the peace and tranquility, backed up by the care and attention that the staff take in providing the great service, is all something needs to be experienced first-hand.

I trust that the rest of the trip around our beautiful country went well, and that the journey home was trouble free!

Regards

Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    864
    194
    61
    12
    8
See reviews for
231
637
17
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Everything was great about the hotel, service, rooms, breakfast could not be faulted. Highly recommend and only a 5 minute taxi to the centre of St Andrews. A hidden Gem amongst all the big franchised hotels

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamiecameron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time and effort to leave your feedback after the recent stay, and we are pleased to see that you enjoyed it so much.

The hotel is only a short drive into the hustle and bustle of the town, and so our guests can enjoy the peace and tranquility of the hotel and gardens, but also pop into St Andrews to soak up the atmosphere.

Hope that you might be able to find time to return - it would be a pleasure to be able to welcome you back.

Regards

Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

Before we ever arrived in Scotland, the staff at Rufflets were very helpful and accommodating. They helped arrange our private car from and to Edinburgh Airport, and made dinner recommendations and reservations for our stay.
The staff were all lovely, our room was perfect, the house and grounds were just beautiful and welcoming. The restaurant, for dinner and breakfast, was peaceful, with simple elegance and delicious meals.
Everyone at Rufflets made us feel like we were home, and made all of our needs during our stay simple to meet. We will definitely stay there again. Thank you.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank ewdorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
I was delighted to read how much you enjoyed the stay at Rufflets, and we do take great efforts to make sure that our guests have a good experience from even before they arrive with us.

We know that at Edinburgh airport can be a bit difficult to sort transfers or taxis, and so quite often we will use a local company to meet and greet when people fly in.

Thank you for your feedback, and I hope that you might be able to make it over again soon.

With my best regards,

Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cockermouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Our family took a 4 night break at Kinness Lodge and we all found it the perfect place to stay. If you enjoy walking there is a couple of different ways in to St Andrews either straight down the road or the more scenic way of Lade Braes Walk if you cut throuh the cemetry, this takes approimately 30-40 mins. The lodge was spacious & clean and very comfortable and it even had its own 'pet' chaffinch that would tap on the window of the room that you were in to say hello!!! There is an excellent forest park called Tentsmuir about 15 minutes drive away from Rufflets where you can walk or cycle around and take in the wildlife and if you go on the beach to the east of the forest there are a colony of seals and when we visited we must have seen at least 50 !!! I have been informed by my wife and children that we are DEFINATELY returning to Kinness Lodge and Rufflets. Thankyou for our visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear David

Glad to see how much you enjoyed the stay in Kinness Lodge with the family - it is indeed a great option for accommodation at Rufflets.

It does seem that you have been able to explore much of the area - and there is much more to see and do (and Kingsbarns beach is my own favourite) and St Andrews is not all just about golf!

Hope to be able to see you all again soon - and would be delighted to give you some pointers as to the other places to visit in the area.

Regards

Stephen Owen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We booked our 2 nights bed and breakfast and dinner through Itison as we needed our batteries recharged. Our stay was wonderful. Our room looked on to a lovely garden. Lovely wee touches like a teddy bear instead of a do not disturb sign, , shortbread to die for. The hotel was just so relaxing and the staff excellent. As for the food what can I say but yum. It was so nice to be served and nothing was too much bother for the waiters. Lounges were comfortable with plenty of up-to-date reading material. There is also a beautiful garden if you wished to take a stroll. Roll on the next Itison offer it was a wonderful opportunity for hubby and I to rest our weary bones and leave fully recharged. We were so lucky the weather was glorious and we had a chance to explore the surrounding area which held many memories for me.

Room Tip: Ask to overlook the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Estelle47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Estelle

We were all delighted to see how much you enjoyed the whole experience at Rufflets - and that you were very much able to recharge the batteries.

Rufflets is a great place to unwind, especially if the weather behaves itself, and I do hope that we will be able to welcome you back at some point in the future.

Many thanks for taking the time and effort to leave your comments - we do take them all seriously - and they do help us understand what does work, and also what doesnt!

Regards

Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crieff, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We visited Rufflets 12 years ago and were very impressed with the place on all levels. Pity this visit did not live up to the memories. The food and wines were all excellent. The majority of the staff were very warm and friendly. The exception being the waitress at breakfast who was obviously not happy when we asked for our finished breakfast plates to be cleared to allow us to use our side plates. Staff also did not notice we had run put of toast and the butter was rock hard so you could not spread your toast. I know that sounds petty but it is the little things that make am experience into something special. The decor of the hotel was modern and had a corporate feel to it. This may be fine for some people but when I book into a county house hotel I expect the decor to be country house. The hotel does have many different areas to sit and relax and a very nice bar area with seating so it never feels overcrowded.
Bedrooms are very comfortable and the showers were outstanding. A nice touch was the homemade shortbread waiting in the room on arrival. Dressing gowns in the rooms and Molten and Brown soaps etc, brilliant. All in all we had a very pleasant stay but I have stayed in better places for the same money.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trish f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Trish

Many thanks for the comments left after your recent stay with us at Rufflets. It does seem that for the most part it was a very good visit - but I was sorry to read of the issues with the service at breakfast. It is unusual to read this sort of thing, and sometimes we can all have an off-day, but it should not have impacted on your experience.

As far as the decor is concerned, we do look to maintain the country house feel - albeit with a contemporary touch, and I am sorry that it wasnt to your taste.

With my best regardss,

Stephen Owen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

My husband and I received an overnight dinner, bed and breakfast stay as a gift recently and thoroughly enjoyed our night away. We checked in on a Saturday and were pleasantly surprised by the large room we were staying in, with a recently renovated bathroom which was also generously portioned. Dinner that night was served in the main dinning room and we were served with a delicious basket of bread to nibble on. The feta and beetroot tart and haddock as starters were thoroughly enjoyable and the meal was off to a strong start. For mains I had the gnocchi and my husband had the venison. Both were extremely enjoyable. For desert we shared a sticky toffee pudding and cheese selection. The only downside being that the grapes on the cheeseboard were frozen and the table next to us commented that this had been a feature when they had eaten there in the past.

The next morning breakfast was served in the same dining room and unfortunately was a disappointment for me. My husband had the full scots and enjoyed it, however the French toast was essentially deep fried sliced white bread and unfortunately not to my taste. To make matters worse some of the continental pastries were stale. All in a slight disappointment after the previous evening. Nevertheless we enjoyed our stay and would recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMart2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback - it is very much appreciated - and we were delighted to see how much you enjoyed the stay with us at Rufflets.

We have noted the comment on the French toast - a minor but important thing to be getting right and we have been able to sort out this quick simply.

Hope to be able to welcome you back at some point in the future.

Regards

Stephen Owen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
4.3 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 17 in St Andrews
3,201 reviews
1.5 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#7 of 17 in St Andrews
1,286 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#5 of 17 in St Andrews
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#13 of 17 in St Andrews
676 reviews
1.9 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#3 of 17 in St Andrews
398 reviews
6.2 mi away
Drumoig Golf Hotel
Drumoig Golf Hotel
#1 of 1 in Drumoig
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rufflets Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rufflets Hotel

Property: Rufflets Hotel
Address: Strathkinness Low Road, St Andrews KY16 9TX, Scotland (Formerly Rufflets Country House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in St Andrews
#1 On the Beach Hotel in St Andrews
#2 Romantic Hotel in St Andrews
#2 Luxury Hotel in St Andrews
#6 Business Hotel in St Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rufflets Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury family hotel, situated in 10 acres of secluded gardens, has been under the same family ownership for over 60 years. Located a few minutes' drive from the centre of town, golf courses and beaches, the hotel is popular with couples and families. Rufflets is surrounded by mature gardens which supply the fine dining restaurant. Free parking and WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Rufflets Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rufflets Country House Hotel St. Andrews
Rufflets Country Hotel
Rufflets Country St Andrews
Rufflets Hotel St Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing