We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic family wedding”
Review of Rufflets Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rufflets Hotel
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in St Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fantastic family wedding”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

I attended a family wedding the first weekend in May, staying in the hotel for the weekend. Although the room rate is more than what I would usually pay, it is St. Andrews and I cannot say that I was not well looked after. The service, food, and staff were nothing short of excellent all weekend. I would highly recommend this venue.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnsbrown1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Mr Brown

Thank you so much for giving us your feedback - we were all delighted to read how much the family wedding had been enjoyed, and we are grateful for your recommendation.

With my best regards

Stephen Owen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    849
    192
    58
    13
    8
See reviews for
224
629
17
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen23
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We stayed in one of the hotel lodges for our friends wedding and was very impressed witht eh quality of the establishment and the friendliness of the staff. The wedding reception was well-organised and the food was of a very high quality. Would thoroughly recommend the hotel to friends and family

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aberdeen23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to leave your comments after the recent stay in one of our Lodges - they are really good for small groups - especially when attending weddings.

Good to note that the celebrations went well, and many thanks for the recommendation.

Regards,

Stephen Owen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2014

The hotel is comfortable and stylish. The food is beautifully presented and tastes delightful.
The staff are helpful, friendly and very well trained. The hotel is an excellent base for touring Fife.

We will return.

Room Tip: Enjoy the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Callum K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Callum

Delighted to read how much you enjoyed the stay with us at Rufflets - and the hotel is a fantastic base to use when exploring the area. There is a lot to be able to do and see (over and above the golf), and we hope to see you again soon.

With my best wishes,

Stephen Owen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We had one night away with evening meal and breakfast.

1. the hotel itself is incredible, beautiful building and lovely gardens (hard to believe maintained by one gardner!). our room was top of the tower and had good views, very spacious, huge bed (but two beds pushed together sadly). nice moden spacious bathroom.

2. staff were incredibly friendly and welcoming throughout. serving staff at the meal and breakfast were also impecable.

3. evening meal was really good, great selection of foods and well presented. portions were a tad sparse for me, i could have managed a bag of chips afterwards, but thats me. breakfast was whole and hearty, great selection of cooked and continental foods.

only sore points were: an old teabag still in the teapot! nasty, but this was quickly countered upon finding a tin of locally made shortbread! also there was a wedding going on next door, which we werent warned about pre booking, to be fair the disco was off at midnight.

Room Tip: ask staff for a room that suits you, we missed out on the room we wanted but staff suggested another...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misfit_mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
We were all delighted to see how much you had enjoyed the brief stay with us at Rufflets, and we hope that it won't be your last.

Apologies for the 'sore point' issue - a minor thing that should not have happened, but it was good to be able to read how good the rest of the experience was - and thank you for taking the time to leave your comments.

With my best regards,

Stephen Owen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Only adverse commenet is that hotel porch entrance appeared grubby brass on doors faded and paintwork dirty this does not reflect the hotel which was very clean and comfortable . Good excellent and service excellent .

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Islayh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Many thanks for the feedback - and we appreciate the comments on all levels.

The porch is somehting that we will look at to ensure that it does match with the quality of the rest of the hotel - which as you have pointed out, is excellent.

With my best regards,

Stephen Owen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We had a fantastic time at Rufflets Hotel. The hotel grounds were beautiful, lovely to explore or simply sit and relax The food was absolutely sensational. Staff were brilliant. Our room was so comfortable, great big bed, beautifully decorated with luxury fittings. We couldn't have wished for more.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viv238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Viv

Many thanks for the very kind comments - it does appear that we have hit the mark on all levels, and that the service and quality have met and even exceeded expectations - something that we as a team take great pride in doing for all our guests.

Hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.

With my best wishes,

Stephen Owen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helensburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights in April. Lovely welcoming hotel with helpful staff. We had a large room on the first floor overlooking the side garden. Only slight negative was that you could not adjust the shower temperature which was very hot. We asked if someone could look at it and although this was done it was still very hot and you could only stay under it for a couple of minutes.
Restaurant was excellent and we had 2 very good meals here. Plenty of choice on menu and on the evening meal menu.
Lovely grounds to walk about it in and in a nice peaceful setting in the countryside just outside St Andrews.
Would definitely return for another visit.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Anne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Anne

I was most pleased to be able to read that you and your husband had enjoyed such a good time with us at Rufflets, and reassured to see that it won't be your last.

Sorry about the issue with the shower controls - I am glad to say that it has now been resolved so that our guests can enjoy a long (and not too hot) shower in that room.

Look forward to seeing you again in sunny St Andrews.

With my best regards,

Stephen Owen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
4.3 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 16 in St Andrews
3,061 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#3 of 16 in St Andrews
473 reviews
1.5 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#7 of 16 in St Andrews
1,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#12 of 16 in St Andrews
667 reviews
1.9 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#5 of 16 in St Andrews
359 reviews
6.2 mi away
Drumoig Golf Hotel
Drumoig Golf Hotel
#1 of 1 in Drumoig
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rufflets Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rufflets Hotel

Property: Rufflets Hotel
Address: Strathkinness Low Road, St Andrews KY16 9TX, Scotland (Formerly Rufflets Country House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in St Andrews
#1 Luxury Hotel in St Andrews
#2 Romantic Hotel in St Andrews
#6 Business Hotel in St Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rufflets Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury family hotel, situated in 10 acres of secluded gardens, has been under the same family ownership for over 60 years. Located a few minutes' drive from the centre of town, golf courses and beaches, the hotel is popular with couples and families. Rufflets is surrounded by mature gardens which supply the fine dining restaurant. Free parking and WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Rufflets Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rufflets Country House Hotel St. Andrews
Rufflets Country Hotel
Rufflets Country St Andrews
Rufflets Hotel St Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing