We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb break in St Andrews”
Review of Rufflets Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rufflets Hotel
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in St Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We can highly recommend this hotel - welcoming and attentive staff, fabulous bedroom with huge and comfortabe bed, Molton Brown toiletries, homemade shortbread, tea and iced water in the room. Delicious dinner and breakfast all served with a friendly smile. We will certainly be visiting again.

Room Tip: We had a large family room which overlooked the car park. The gardens are lovely so try and book a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorraine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Delighted to read how much you enjoyed the time with us at Rufflets - the whole team do work ever so hard to be able to provide the great levels of service that are expected - and always seem to do so with a smile......hope to be able to see you again soon.

Regards

Stephen Owen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,216)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

606 - 612 of 1,217 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2014

Brought my two elderly aunts for lunch and was delighted with whole experience. We had drinks on the terrace overlooking the lovely gardens, then enjoyed three course lunch, which included beautiful chicken liver parfait, goujons of coley and chips, sticky toffee pudding. Service was discreet, polite, friendly and good, the meal was beautifully presented in comfy and charming surroundings. Felt more like being guests in a country home than a hotel. Was also great value for money.

We left comfortably full but not stuffed so just the right balance!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kateluke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Having the chance to enjoy the service, food and ambience of Rufflets and the fabulous weather that we (sometimes) get is a real treat, and we were delighted to read how well it had all gone - and we were especially pleased to note that you will be back again (and then again and again.....)

With my best wishes,

Stephen Owen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Attended a wedding here. Perfect. The discreet , highly organised wedding planner ensured day went smoothly.Couldnt fault the day. Venue beautiful,perfect size, gardens made lovely setting for photos and fireworks.Food was of excellent quality , served promptly to all guests.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C7AMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

We were all really pleased to read your comments on how well the wedding went - we do work ever so hard to provide what appears quite simple - ensuring that the whole day is a relaxed and enjoyable experience for everyone.

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback - it is always very much appreciated.

With my best regards,

Stephen Owen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

My wife and I were looking for a nice place to stay for a trip to St Andrews to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary and decided on Rufflets after reading the reviews on trip advisor. We were not disappointed. I went for one of the turret rooms ( Room 11 ) and it was very nice, with a fantastic view over the lovely hotel gardens and even a small sun terrace. The staff were all very pleasant and made you feel welcome. Dinner in the Terrace restaurant was very good, as was our breakfast in the morning. There was a wedding in the hotel during our stay and the noise from the function suite could be a problem for some if you wanted an early night but the music stopped at midnight and it was not a problem for us. St Andrews town centre is less then 2 miles from the hotel, so a short car/taxi journey. You could walk but there are no pavements on the road outside the hotel. We had a fantastic stay and would not hesitate to go back again !

Room Tip: Room 11 has a great view of the gardens and a small terrace with garden furniture.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

We were all delighted to read how much you had enjoyed your recent stay with us at Rufflets, and thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback.

The whole team do work ever so hard to ensure that our guests do have a wonderful time with us, and they do very much appreciate being able to see when the effort has been recognised.

Hope to see you back in St Andrews soon.

With my best regards,


Stephen Owen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Located 1.5km out of the busy St Andrews centre and easy to find , great for golfers by car since there is sufficient parking space , a professional welcome and great personal service , first class dinner & breakfast , next time we will stay there again,
E & A , Belgium

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EddieBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback after your recent stay with us at Rufflets - we were all delighted to be able to see how much you had enjoyed the experience.

We look forward to being able to welcome you back at some point in the near future.

Regards

Stephen Owen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Have just spent a weekend at Rufflets with my husband and elderly mother. The accommodation was very disappointing to say the least. We stayed out in one of the Family lodges - no 26 and found it very basic indeed. The twin bedded room had nothing accommodating about it at all -maybe ok for kids but certainly not for adults. It was very poorly lit for an elderly person. The bathroom was the most attractive room. The larger bedroom was supposedly just refurbished but the only incline of this was the stench of paint during our 3 day stay. Our clothing stored inside the wardrobes was extremely affected with this too. If you opened the window to help alleviate the smell, the bugs from the garden decided to visit. The padded headboard at the back of the bed was full of water stains. The bedding however was lovely and clean. The view from the main bedroom window was beautiful, as were the gardens leading to the Lodge. The main Hotel was lovely and if there had been any vacant rooms, would have certainly requested a transfer. We had taken my mother there for a treat and although she never commented on her disappointment with her room,(apart from the lighting) I felt there was no warm touches about it. The Staff however were very welcoming and attentive - especially Angela in the Dining room/Bar. Such a lovely person who knows her job very well indeed. Apart from breakfasts, we only dined once as found the evening dinner satisfactory.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank annar677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Many thanks for taking the time toi give us your feedback after your recenht stay with us at Rufflets.

I was disappointed to read that you found the family accommodation unsatisfactory - we have taken all your points on board and will be looking at the comments in some detail.

It was however pleasing to see that the experience that you had of all the other services that we provide were very good indeed.

With my best regards,

Stephen Owen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

While we are in the middle of our stay at the Kinness Lodge at Rufflets, we could not be more pleased at this accommodation which sleeps up to 8 people. Each of the 4 bedrooms has individual baths. The dining at Rufflets has been a tremendous experience. Dinner overseen by the terrific Angela was a comfortable and delicious affair The wait staff was responsive and smiling. We felt important and cared for throughout. Angela was kind enough to arrange for dinner at two other locations for the other two nights we were to be in St Andrews, no muss and no fuss. Breakfast was also a good experience with a full menu and great muffins to boot. If one does not want to be in the tumult of St Andrews proper, this is a short distance and easy alternative. By the way, the Kinness Lodge comes complete with a comfortable common room including a wide screen TV and also includes a service room with washer and dryer For those that might be on an extended vacation, it made freshening up our cloths very easy.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank TARCPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Good to see that you were able to enjoy all the fabulous facilities in Kinness Lodge - it is ideal for groups of golfers or simply family parties - all with the wonderful hotel on the door-step!

Angela is a real star - not only giving the very good (and friendly) service, but also using her knowledge of the local area when giving advice.

Hope that you all had a safe trip home, and we look forward to seeeing you for that next trip to St Andrews.

With my best wishes

Stephen Owen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
4.3 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 17 in St Andrews
3,413 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#5 of 17 in St Andrews
538 reviews
1.5 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#8 of 17 in St Andrews
1,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#11 of 17 in St Andrews
695 reviews
1.9 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#3 of 17 in St Andrews
452 reviews
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#6 of 17 in St Andrews
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rufflets Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rufflets Hotel

Address: Strathkinness Low Road, St Andrews KY16 9TX, Scotland (Formerly Rufflets Country House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in St Andrews
#1 Family Hotel in St Andrews
#2 Romantic Hotel in St Andrews
#2 Luxury Hotel in St Andrews
#6 Business Hotel in St Andrews
Price Range: £100 - £297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rufflets Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury family hotel, situated in 10 acres of secluded gardens, has been under the same family ownership for over 60 years. Located a few minutes' drive from the centre of town, golf courses and beaches, the hotel is popular with couples and families. Rufflets is surrounded by mature gardens which supply the fine dining restaurant. Free parking and WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your Rufflets Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rufflets Country House Hotel St. Andrews
Rufflets Country Hotel
Rufflets Country St Andrews
Rufflets Hotel St Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing