We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely lunch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rufflets Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rufflets Hotel
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in St Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Cupar Fife
Level Contributor
259 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
“lovely lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

We had lunch last Saturday in the library area of the bar. We thought the selection to be very good, from the table d'hote menu @ 12.75 for two courses and 15.75 for three .
The quality of the food was very good. The Pecora made from haggis though was overcooked.
Service was very efficient . We will return

Room Tip: Secluded spot
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wyandour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback - and we were pleased to see how much you enjoyed the lunch - and we look forward to be able to see you again in the near future.

Regards

Stephen Owen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,091 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    828
    186
    57
    12
    8
See reviews for
219
615
14
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
234 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Have both stayed here and eaten in bar and restaurant and everything has always been great. Rooms lovely, clean, spacious and very well-appointed; food and drink excellent; service top-drawer. Quite expensive - but you get what you pay for!

Room Tip: All rooms are good in my experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack_Bosworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Simon

Good to see that you have been able to enjoy a wide variety of the facilities at Rufflets - and we very much appreciate the feedback. We do work hard to make sure that the levels of quality are maintained across the board and it is re-assuring to read when it has all been achieved.

Do keep an eye on our website - we do have some great offers available from time-to-time which makes it a bit softer on the pocket....and so we hope to see you again at some point in the future.

With my best wishes,

Stephen Owen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Congleton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

After lots of research, we held our very small, intimate wedding here in late July, at relatively short notice (for a wedding!). What a fabulous hotel, in a beautiful location, with easy access to the wonderful St Andrews. We didn't book the weather, but it turned up anyway (26C with beautiful sunshine). The accommodation is fabulous - reception, public rooms and bedrooms (can recommend the Orchard Suite and Turret Room). The food was excellent (breakfast and dinner) and the staff.....absolutely fabulous. A special mention to Kerry Hinton and her team for their superb wedding arrangements, making our wedding day, relaxed, fun and very enjoyable. A final mention must go to Happy Mutts (via Rufflets) for looking after our two Labradors during our stay. Thank you everyone so much for helping to create a fabulous memory. We'll definitely be back in the future. Rick & Anne (Mr & Mrs Dickson)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Rick and Anne

I was pleased to see that all the hard work done in the research for a venue paid off so well - and also that we even managed to make sure that the sun shone for the wedding as well. It was really good to be able to provide such an intimate and personal location for your wedding - and thanks to Kerry's hard work it did all seem to go well.

Happy Mutts are a small business that we work with - they can provide kenneling if needed - and they also supply us with the special dog treats that we put into the doggy welcome pack and they do go down well.

Hope to be able to see you all again soon (inc the labs).

Regards

Stephen Owen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Our party of 4 stayed in rooms 22 ( twin) & 25 (double) overnight last week. Both rooms were clean & very comfortable.
We had a DB&B deal & dinner was delicious; steak,duck, risotto & rhubarb brûlée were all excellent.
Breakfast buffet was good & the full Scottish breakfast went down well.
All staff were extremely friendly & helpful, making us feel very welcome.
The hotel gardens are lovely for a stroll & the patio area at the rear of the hotel provided a place to relax in the sunshine.
Nice touches :
Instead of a "privacy" bedroom door sign you have "Rufflets" the teddy bear in your room to place outside your door if do not want disturbed .
The night we stayed was the centenary of the start of WW1 & the lights were dimmed by staff at 10pm for an hour as part of the "Lights Out" tribute. Very respectful.
I would not hesitate to go back.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Many thanks for the feedback and the kind comments - it is all very much appreciated. We were pleased to see that you enjoyed the short stay with us - and we did feel that it was very appropriate for us to mark that specific date.

Can only hope that you are able to come back at some point soon and stay for longer - there is so much to do in the local area so it is very worthwhile to make it an extended stay.

Hope to be able to welcome you back soon - would like to be able to explain why commemorating the day was so important to Rufflets.

With my best wishes,

Stephen Owen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blairgowrie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Although this hotel is a little out of town, it is well worth a visit. We bid for one of the hotel's suites for our stay on July 29, 2014 but unfortunately didn't get one. However, our room was a large corner room with a magnificent en-suite bathroom complete with a large whirlpool bath and a shower, the most powerful I have experienced. The room was very well appointed. The food was excellent as was the service. I highly recommend Rufflets for a quiet relaxing stay.

Room Tip: Try for Gilroy's suite. I am told it is excellent and adds to the experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlbertBogle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Delighted to read how much you enjoyed the short stay with us at Rufflets - and sorry that we couldn't facilitate the upgrade - theSuites were all occupied at the time. However it was good to see that you did find the room used up to scratch.

Thank you for the recommendation, and also for taking the time to give us your feedback - hopefully the next time we will be able to make the Gilroy Suite available for you.

Regards

Stephen Owen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

Recently stayed in the Gatehouse at Rufflets Hotel, as we were attending a wedding and wanted the family to be close together instead of split up in the hotel. I knew the rooms were going to be more simply furnished than the rooms in the hotel, but was disappointed when I saw room 3. Marks on the wallpaper, marks on the carpet and just dismal looking. Rooms 1 and 2 were better and looked as though they had been upgraded. The wedding, the wedding co-ordinator and the serving staff were fantastic though. Just a pity about that room in the gatehouse. I will return again but will stay in the hotel this time.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank willow73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback after your recent stay - we do read them all and find both positive and negative comments a great way to measure guest satisfaction levels.

We are aware of the issues with the Gatehouse rooms - they are outwith the main hotel, more simply furnished, and priced accordingly, and I am pleased to say that we do have this area planned for some refurbishment over the winter.

I was pleased to read how much you enjoyed the wedding though - the team are very good indeed, and it is good for them to see when the hard work pays off.

Do ask for me personally if and when you are thinking of returning and I will make the arrangments for the room/s personally.

With my best wishes,

Stephen Owen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Rufflets was an incredibly lucky find for us to enjoy 4 days with Granny, children & dogs - we were all made so welcome by all the staff and Kinness Lodge was a real treat with each bedroom having it's own lovely bathroom and all rooms as good as the others. Even the two dogs got their own welcome goody treats! One highlight was the exceptional dinner in the restaurant with Angela looking after us so well, nothing was too much trouble and the food and wines were superb. Very much hoping we will be back there again soon!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 346southwest123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Good to hear that everyone (children, Granny and the dogs) had a good time with us at Rufflets in one of our sefl-catering lodges. They do offer a great alternative to hotel rooms for larger groups - they have everything that is needed - plus the extra benefit of having your own private sitting room.

Angela was chuffed to get the name-check - she is a great girl to have in the restaurant and she has a good team around her. Never too 'stand-offish' - which makes the service even warmer.

Thanks for taking the time to leave your comments, and we hope to see you all again soon.

Regards

Stephen Owen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
4.3 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 18 in St Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,930 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#5 of 18 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
1.5 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#8 of 18 in St Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#3 of 18 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
#11 of 18 in St Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
1.9 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#7 of 18 in St Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rufflets Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rufflets Hotel

Property: Rufflets Hotel
Address: Strathkinness Low Road, St Andrews KY16 9TX, Scotland (Formerly Rufflets Country House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in St Andrews
#1 Luxury Hotel in St Andrews
#2 Romantic Hotel in St Andrews
#6 Business Hotel in St Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rufflets Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury family hotel, situated in 10 acres of secluded gardens, has been under the same family ownership for over 60 years. Located a few minutes' drive from the centre of town, golf courses and beaches, the hotel is popular with couples and families. Rufflets is surrounded by mature gardens which supply the fine dining restaurant. Free parking and WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Rufflets Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rufflets Country House Hotel St. Andrews
Rufflets Country Hotel
Rufflets Country St Andrews
Rufflets Hotel St Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing