We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class service”
Review of Rufflets Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rufflets Hotel
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in St Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 January 2011

My husband and I stayed here for our anniversary. The hotel is lovely, full of character. The one thing which puts it head and shoulders though is the staff. We stayed in the four poster turret room, I would recommend this for a romantic night away. We had pre-dinner cocktails which were incredibly strong! The meal was fantastic and the waiter was very helpful. We stayed on a cold, wet, windy November evening and being snuggled up in the hotel was lovely. I would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laurajtyler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,233)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,115 - 1,121 of 1,233 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2010

Stayed at this country hotel between Christmas and New Year. Lovely surroundings, friendly, well trained staff. Good food, but only minor issue was that the dinner menu was the same on the 2nd evening. This won't stop us going b

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank puffingirl73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2010

We booked a dinner, bed and breakfast deal for mid December as a quiet getaway. When we arrived we were given a free upgrade to one the Turrett rooms. It was stunning! Beautiful room with a balcony and sitting area which allowed a panoramic view over the gardens. The bathroom was huge with a big whirlpool bath. The food was exquisite and the service perfect.

I couldn't recommend the hotel enough, beautiful food and fantastic service. Can't wait to go back

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MacD82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2010

The hotel is set in its own well kept garden with a stream running through it and 2 quaint small stone bridges over the stream. The hotel is a refreshing change from large hotels with leisure clubs and full of people (which incidentally, I do enjoy) There is a feeling of privacy, homeliness, personal service and great food. As a keen golfer it was interesting to see from pictures around the hotel that Jack Nicklaus and his family stayed here every time the British Open was held at St Andrews in the last 40 years or so. I can see why the hotel would offer privacy to all manner of people. My wife and I have been there a number of times over the years and we keep going back
It is not for those seeking pampered modern luxury, quiet relaxation, good food and service are this hotel's forte.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J-Leonard_6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2010

All through the evening of our stay - and into the next morning - my parents and I kept uttering one phrase over and over again: if only we were staying longer than one night! Rufflets is a beautiful little country house with an absolutely stunning little garden and orchard. Certainly from what I read on their website I was expecting something larger and grander than the petite country house it is, but in actual fact what I found was more impressive and welcoming for its modest scale. We were lucky to be needing accommodation in St Andrews (which is just a few minutes drive away) during an off-peak time, so we got a real bargain to boot.

Some highlights: lovely large rooms, delightful creaky stairs, the atmospheric bar where you can enjoy a superb latte or a nip of whisky after dinner (we dined out), and the unfailingly attentive service. Go there for the oasis-like garden and the scrumptious Scottish breakfast, such a treat. Possible shortcomings: it's not trendy or technologically-advanced if that's what you're after, and there's no pool and gym. But really, who needs such feeble modern amenities when you have a teddy on your bed!

Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
1  Thank Agatha_Runcible
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2010

We were looking for something a bit outside of town- quiet and comfortable. Our room was on the top floor and was very comfortable. Full bath with shower was nice. Computer in lobby with wifi. Nice little bar with pleasant bartender. Our dinner didn't meet our expectations unfortunately. Service was fine, but neither of us really enjoyed our meals.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caperMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2010

See comments in box above. Would love to return on another trip to St. Andrews, Scotland.
Hotel is close enough to town for convenience, but away from traffic and noise of the town. A great place to relax after golfing all day. Great restaurant and food.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mikegleason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
4.3 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#5 of 17 in St Andrews
3,500 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#4 of 17 in St Andrews
554 reviews
1.5 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#8 of 17 in St Andrews
1,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#11 of 17 in St Andrews
698 reviews
1.9 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#3 of 17 in St Andrews
466 reviews
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#6 of 17 in St Andrews
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rufflets Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rufflets Hotel

Address: Strathkinness Low Road, St Andrews KY16 9TX, Scotland (Formerly Rufflets Country House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in St Andrews
#1 Family Hotel in St Andrews
#2 Romantic Hotel in St Andrews
#2 Luxury Hotel in St Andrews
#6 Business Hotel in St Andrews
Price Range: £102 - £315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rufflets Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury family hotel, situated in 10 acres of secluded gardens, has been under the same family ownership for over 60 years. Located a few minutes' drive from the centre of town, golf courses and beaches, the hotel is popular with couples and families. Rufflets is surrounded by mature gardens which supply the fine dining restaurant. Free parking and WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Rufflets Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rufflets Country House Hotel St. Andrews
Rufflets Country Hotel
Rufflets Country St Andrews
Rufflets Hotel St Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing