We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Down hill”
Review of Mitchell Deli

Mitchell Deli
Ranked #14 of 142 Restaurants in St Andrews
Price range: US$8 - US$19
Cuisines: British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Purveyor of fine food and wine. Enjoy a snack from the deli, prepared from locally sourced, seasonal produce. Fully licensed for on & off sales, live music at weekends.
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Down hill”
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

Visit this deli resturant frequently nice staff all rushing about achieving very little , long wait for an americano ! When it arrived I asked if they had stopped the tasty piece of tablet they said they were out of it . But would try to find some miracously they produced a small tub of which I received a piece saying they found a piece. !

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LAA555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mitchells110, General Manager at Mitchell Deli, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Hi LAA555,

Thank you for your review, we appreciate the feedback.

I am sorry to hear that you waited a long time for your coffee and that we had run out of our tablet.

I hope this does not discourage you from visiting us again as it was an unusual occurrence.

We look forward to welcoming you soon.

Kind regards,

Laura Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    466
    363
    147
    107
    57
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food, well served”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Great variety and quality at Mitchell's. We had a great meal, and were well attended to by Ruth. Will come again for sure.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank George K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mitchells110, General Manager at Mitchell Deli, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Hi George K,

Thank you for your review, we appreciate the feedback.

I am pleased to hear that you had a great meal and Ruth looked after you well. She will also be pleased to have been mentioned.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards,

Laura Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
102 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“a shabby chic restaurant and great take away”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

If you are looking for a great atmosphere and delicious food- go to Mitchell's. The eggs Benedict and the scrambled eggs with salmon are wonderful! Also- if you just want some take away- the bacon rolls are to die for! The Mitchell's staff is very friendly and accommodating. By the way- there is also a great selection of cheeses, crisps, wine, jams, and meats to purchase . Mitchell's is one of our favorite restaurants in St. Andrew's! Whether it is for breakfast, lunch, dinner, or afternoon coffee or tea- Mitchell's never disappoints.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank barbara e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mitchells110, General Manager at Mitchell Deli, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Hi Barbara e,

Thank you for your 5* review!

The team at Mitchell's are so happy to read your feedback. We are very pleased you enjoyed so many meals with us.

Our Deli has a great selection of products and I am glad you enjoy them.

We look forward to welcoming you soon.

Kind regards,

Laura Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tam Ky, Vietnam
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Richard singleton saved your reputation”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We only went for coffee. The waiter showed us to a table. We told him only in for coffee but he gave us menus, reeled off the cakes list and chatted briefly. He then disappeared and never came back. We waited and waited. I beckoned another waiter who was horrified and apologised and his service was superb as was the huge scone which we then decided to have. If you do go here ask for Richard Singleton. Truly professional - I hope that Mitchell treat him well - he saved the day

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Isobel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mitchells110, General Manager at Mitchell Deli, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Hi Isobel B,

Thank you for your 5* review.

I am sorry to hear that you were left for a long time after being seated. I am so pleased that Richard was able to look after you and managed to turn your experience into a positive one.


We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards,

Laura Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Graduation celebrations”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Arrived in at Andrews to meet my son who was graduating, after 8 hour drive... And found Mitchell's! How fab... Great styling, fab food and Roisin Donnelly was so welcoming and lovely!! Helped with menu choice, chatted with us about what we were doing and shared a few of her adventures ... Great personality and a real asset to Mitchell's. Thank you, back again soon !!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SFR63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mitchells110, General Manager at Mitchell Deli, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Hi SFR63,

Thank you for your 5* review! We appreciate the feedback.

I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Mitchell's and Roisin added to your experience.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards,

Laura Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mitchell Deli also viewed

 

Been to Mitchell Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing