We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“38th anniversary celebration”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fairways of St Andrews
Ranked #4 of 72 St Andrews B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
“38th anniversary celebration”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Dream come true...Stayed 2 nights overlooking the 17th green. What a wonderful place ! We already want to return. The staff was more than helpful, the food in all restaurants was fabulous and the golf was more fun than we could have imagined.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gebledsoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
40
95
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Fantastic stay at The Fairways last weekend for my partners 40th birthday. Great location, cosy rooms & to make your stay even more enjoyable is the hospitality provided by the owners Jane & Hugh. The bottle of fizz & card left for Joes birthday was an extra special touch. We unfortunately only had the opportunity to stay one night at the Fairways but will be sure to stay here again on our next visit to St Andrews!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoCorcoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Spent the weekend in St Andrews for our anniversary staying at Fairways of St Andrews. Have stayed in St Andrews before at the Rusacks and the Old Course hotel but would have to say Fairways is by far the best and most enjoyable place we have stayed. Great location, just round the corner from the 18th green of the old course and only a few mins walk into the town centre. Very friendly welcome when we arrived. The room we had was very impressive, big, very clean and nicely finished. Breakfast's were really tasty and were made to order. Hugh and Jane were extremely friendly and welcoming and really helped make the weekend so enjoyable with personal touches that you wouldn't get in a hotel like the delicious home baking, the breakfasts and the helpful local knowledge. Will definitely stay here again when we come back to St Andrews.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Majestic0801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We recently had a couple of nights in St Andrews, visiting our daughter who is studying at the university. Hugh (as Jane was away) did an excellent job of looking after us. He even invited our daughter to join us for breakfast.
Fantastic accommodation, food and hospitality. Thank you!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seinajoki, Finland
1 review
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We stayed six nights at Fairways in October. We were four golfers and we could`t have chosen a better place to stay at St Andrews. The location was just in the middle of everything, only 100 yards from the first tee of the Old Course. Every morning Jane and Hugh made wonderful breakfast which was so nutritious, that we ate next time at 6-7pm although we played golf all day long. The rooms were clean and spacious and bathrooms nicely decorated. Bed and blanket were so comfortable, that I slept like a baby. Hugh knows everything about golf in St Andrews area and he for example helped us to choose couple of hidden gems to play during our week. Jane specifically bought cream from supermarket, so my friend could drink his cream-coffee in the morning. In the evenings there were biscuits, cakes, candies etc. waiting for us in the hallway table. So, in every way were treated like family members. We were 100% satisfied for our stay at Fairways of St Andrews. We have already book there another week for autumn 2015. Can`t wait to go there again :)

Juha&boys

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juhamikael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mossel Bay, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Hugh and Jane made my first trip to St Andrews one to remember. The hospitality was brilliant and what nice people to meet. Accommodation was of the highest standard and I can really recommend it. Hope to see you again one day.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J0hann1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2013

From the moment we arrived and were shown into our spacious room with capacious bed, we were contentedly cocooned in comfort. Jane & Hugh were wonderful hosts. Jane effortlessly took care of every whim and desire, supplying oatcakes and cheeses for me [even a platter in our room] and GF bread for my husband. Their professional attitude made us feel nurtured and as if we had just made friends with absolutely the nicest people around.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#4 of 17 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#7 of 17 in St Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,243 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#11 of 17 in St Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#5 of 17 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
0.4 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#6 of 17 in St Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ardgowan Hotel
Ardgowan Hotel
#8 of 17 in St Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairways of St Andrews? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairways of St Andrews

Property: Fairways of St Andrews
Address: 8A Golf Place, St Andrews KY16 9JA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in St Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury 5 star boutique guest house at the famous old course in St Andrews, Scotland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Fairways of St Andrews reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairways Of St Andrews Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing