We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect evening out in St Andrews”
Review of Little Italy

Little Italy
Ranked #7 of 142 Restaurants in St Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Small family run Italian Restaurant offering value for money without cutting any corners. Catering for business lunches/dinners, family meals, Celebrations - what ever your event, please let us know and we will try to cater to your needs. With so many repeat customers, we aim to offer excellence!! This is being achieved by a dedicated and loyal team of staff.
Scotland
2 reviews
“Perfect evening out in St Andrews”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

As regular patrons of Little Italy, often for a pasta and a glass of wine after golf, we were looking for something a bit special to celebrate my wife's birthday. We were not disappointed. The food was excellent, the service prompt but relaxed, attentive and friendly. The atmosphere on a Sunday evening was great.
We look forward to our next visit and would highly recommend it but don't go on spec. -be sure to book in advance as it is very popular.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank roytwp37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruno M, Manager at Little Italy, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience at the Little Italy.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards

Bruno & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,333 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    899
    295
    89
    27
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Lovely last minute lunch”
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

We had heard good things about this restaurant from a local friend but still surprised to open the door and find it was packed! The very nice waiter said to us to call back in 15 minutes and there would be a table for us - there was, the best one in the window! We all had the two course lunch for £7.95 and it was all delicious, honest home cooked food in generous portions. The waiter had brought a carafe of tap water without being asked and later brought a fresh replacement without being asked too. All gave a good impression.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruno M, Manager at Little Italy, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor.

Delighted you enjoyed "honest home cooked food in generous portions", something we take great pride in.

Looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards

Bruno & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fab tasty food in a bustling little restaurant”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Decided to try here after reading reviews on Tripadvisor and we weren't disappointed. Highly recommend booking in advance as the restaurant was full the night we dined and they were turning people away. Friendly staff, and delicious food, my hubby said it the best Italian he's had in ages which coming from him is praise indeed. Great atmosphere and despite it being really busy they didn't rush you at all. Would definitely dine here again.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 259thompsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruno M, Manager at Little Italy, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience at the Little Italy.

"Decided to try here after reading reviews on Tripadvisor and we weren't disappointed. Highly recommend booking in advance as the restaurant was full the night we dined and they were turning people away."

We are delighted you were not disappointed and like you advise, book in advance.

Looking forward to your next visit.

Regards

Bruno & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice Food, But!!”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We visited twice in a week whilst playing in a golf tournament, from past experience we knew that you can only get in by booking in advance. The standard of food and service is generally very good but on our second visit we arrived in a downpour with an umbrella. Wet umbrellas it seems are not allowed in the restaurant and must be left outside, the result of course was that by the time we left the umbrella had been used by smokers standing outside (no problem with that) and then stolen by someone who presumably arrived before the rain started. An umbrella stand in the restaurant would hardly be a radical idea but the staff suggestion of ringing round the customers who had left to see if anyone had 'accidentally' stolen it was hardly practical. Our experience means that next time we are in town we will not be returning.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruno M, Manager at Little Italy, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Many thanks for the review.

We too are disappointed in the issue with you umbrella, I am sure you agree that the size of the restaurant is sufficient for the tables we have and to accommodate a stand would cause and health and safety issue. AS for the gesture of phoning round, agree, is not the best suggestion - but it does show that we were and still concerned at the incident.

If with someone else removing your property from out with the restaurant stands, we find this unfair as it does not relate to the food, drink or general service, as you indicate you normally enjoy - but we will respect your decision and wish you the best.

Regards

Bruno & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Absolutely fantastic food. The atmosphere is brilliant too. A must if you are in St Andrews but, better to book and not be disappointed at being turned away.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank linda c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruno M, Manager at Little Italy, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

Delighted at your comments and more so that you visit was enjoyable.

As per your advice, we also strongly recommend booking in advance.

Looking forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Regards

Bruno & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Little Italy also viewed

 

Been to Little Italy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing