We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Scores Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Greyfriars Inn(St Andrews)(Great Value!)
US$185
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Rufflets Hotel(St Andrews)
US$249
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Albany Hotel(St Andrews)(Great Value!)
US$236
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$272
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$521
US$384
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$105
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$440
US$224
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Dunvegan Hotel(St Andrews)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Russell Hotel(St Andrews)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Du Vin(St Andrews)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (715)
Filter reviews
715 results
Traveller rating
327
248
79
36
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
327
248
79
36
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationwest sandsjunior suitegolf coursesea viewtraditional hotelfantastic roomroom was largeenjoyable stayfantastic viewsthird floorbreakfast roomgolf tripshort staystayed for one nightbreakfast was excellentplay golf
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
597 - 602 of 715 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We spent a very enjoyable night here with the family (3 young children). We had a junior suite which was ideal for our family needs with beautiful views over the water. The room was spacious, clean, lovley large bathroom (only downside was there was no shower). Beds were very comfortable.
We had dinner in the restaurant which was lovely. Large varied menu, staff very friendly, food good. Had a lovely cooked breakfast this morning too.
Would definitely recommend this hotel, it has a great location and good value.

Room Tip: The junior suites were ideal for our family, worth spending a little extra on, even if travelling without kids!
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AriannaEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilipRolfe, General Manager at Best Western Scores Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2012

"Beautiful hotel and town and fantastic food". Thanks for the very positive comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future
We expect to finish our 6 new Junior suites by mid June...Eric Brown, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this beautiful hotel and town. The service and the food was just fantastic. We will be staying once again - very soon!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the East (Chariots of Fire) Sands are glorious.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BernardandJoan86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilipRolfe, Manager at Best Western Scores Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2012

Dear BernardandJoan86,

Thank you so much for your review, I was delighted to hear that you had a great time and even more so, to hear that you will be back soon, I look forward to welcoming you then!
I have passed on your lovely comments to all staff at the hotel, thank you for trusting us to look after you, it was a pleasure to do so!

With best wishes,

Philip Rolfe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We stayed at the Scores Hotel on a chilly weekend in February. We found the staff to be very welcoming and friendly, if in need of some extra training in some respects ("Would you like some ice in your Peroni, Sir?"). All areas of the hotel, including our bedroom, were clean and tidy. However, its last makeover was clearly many years ago and it is looking rather dated and in need of rejuvenation in some areas. On the other hand, we were delighted with our room (a junior suite to the front of the hotel) which comprised a huge room with exceptionally impressive views across the Eden Estuary, West Sands and the hills in the distance beyond. Initially we were very pleased that the huge windows didn't admit a breath of the freezing polar wind that was howling through St Andrews when we arrived. However, we were less impressed when the central heating was turned off at 9.30pm and the room became uncomfortably chilly over the next hour. It did come on again early the next morning though and quickly heated the room up again. While we would recommend the hotel on the basis of its good service, cleanliness, good quality food (both at dinner and breakfast) and excellent location close to the beach, golf courses and town centre, the situation relating to parking and access left us with some reservations. Even during the quieter month of February, we found parking anywhere near the hotel to be impossible. On enquiring, we discovered that there is a small car park to the rear. However, access from the car park to the hotel was challenging with luggage and baby in pram having to be moved through the hotel's rear garden, through a gate and down a public alleyway to the street and then along to the front entrance of the hotel. A longer route along the road would need to be taken by the disabled due to steps on the alleyway. This was followed by a game of hide and seek to find the lift. It may be that direct access to the rear of the hotel has been affected by construction works which were ongoing. However, there is a pressing need for better information and signage to/from the car park and improved access from the car park to the hotel. That whinge aside, The Scores is an attractive and friendly hotel which could be exceptional with some renovation and a little more attention to detail.

Room Tip: The rooms to the front of the hotel have a fabulous view across the beach and sea, to the hills in the distance. Although the rear-facing rooms have good enough views over the town of St Andrews waking up to the views over the water would be hard to beat ...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Methven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilipRolfe, Manager at Best Western Scores Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2012

Dear Methven, Eric Brown General Manager replying for Phil who normally writes. Thanks for taking so much time to write. Great to note the positives of clean tidy room, friendly and welcoming staff with good quality food and a great location
Sorry that the heating was not on 24/7 as it often is in the winter. Unseasonally warm winter weather confuses our timeclocks BUT our Duty Managers should revert to manual 24 hour heating if the temperature drops, as it does! We spent £80k replacing 90 % of the bedroom windows recently so that helps too
Parking is a challenge in St Andrews although we are the only hotel in this block ( 8 other hotels ) with any car park ( 12 to 16 spaces if we valet park ) BUT access is not easy. Better since we landscaped the rear gardens and knocked a wall down to allow access to Gillespie Wynd but still a bit like the "North West Passage!" We have plans to improve signage
Parking is also affected by workers from the major contract next door in Hamilton Hall
Regarding refurbishment, we have replaced all TV's in the last 2 years with Flat screens ( 42" in Junior Suites ), upgraded our free WIFI, replaced most beds and have new tartan throws and matching cushions. We have 8 Junior suites out of 30 rooms and are currently adding 6 NEW ones to make 14 in all. Public areas soon! We also have Planning Permission for 30 more Rooms and Suites which should be built by the next Open in 2015
May we please adopt your headline of " A good hotel that could be Exceptional" Be assured we are working on just that!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Only stayed one night on business and the hotel was having a lot of work done so I was not seeing it at its best. Staff could not have been more helpful or friendly. My room was on the top floor so was had interesting lay out but was spotlessly clean and comfortable. The biggest fault I found was the shower (over bath) which at night struggled to be cool enough to stay under and in the morning certainly woke me up due to it changing temperature and flow as other demands were made on the water supply. This could well have been down to the works being carried out however. The full Scottish breakfast was superb. It is also worth taking the lift if only to hear the accent on the "lift going upwards" announcements:)

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilipRolfe, Manager at Best Western Scores Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2012

Dear Jamie S,

Thank you very much for your review after your visit to the hotel earlier this month. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay, but you are right that the hotel is not looking its best and I apologise for this. The work on our hotel (which is to make six new rooms and suites) will be complete by mid June this year and I believe that the work on Hamilton hall (next door to us) will be complete by the late autumn. We have been having work carried out to the hot water and heating system over the last few weeks to put in new pipes for the refurbished areas, so this may have caused the pressure/ temperature fluctuations, but we will be fully investigating this, please accept my apologies for the inconvenience caused.

I was glad to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast, it is great in our restaurant in the morning with the superb views! I am reliably informed by a German colleague that the lady that speaks to you in the lift has a strong Austrian accent, it does amuse people certainly!!

I hope to see you back here again soon and we will be sure to investigate the water temperature fluctuations,

With best wishes,

Philip Rolfe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Friendly, helpful staff, excellent room and breakfast. Excellent sea view from the third floor

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mark l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilipRolfe, Manager at Best Western Scores Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2012

Dear Mark I,
Thank you very much for posting a review of your stay at this hotel, I was pleased to learn that you enjoyed your visit and I hope to welcome you back soon. Thank you for your business, it is much appreciated.
Kind Regards,
Philip Rolfe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews