We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very enjoyable weekend stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in St Andrews
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A very enjoyable weekend stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

We specifically chose the Scores Hotel for it's ideal location; on the sea front but also close to the Town Centre, and were treated to a very enjoyable stay. The Reception staff were extremely friendly and helpful, and we were delighted with our room on the 3rd floor at the front of the hotel. The room was roomy and well equipped for all our needs, including WiFi and Tea / coffee making facilities.
We didn't use the Bar or Restaurant, other than for breakfast, which was very good with a great selection of freshly cooked food, though I would have preferred a pot of coffee rather than have to call for, "top up 's".
We would definitely stay again and recommend The Scores Hotel.

Room Tip: We were allocated a room at the from facing onto the Bay, as requested, and would highly recommend t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BMM21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilipRolfe, Manager at BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear BMM21,

Thank you very much for posting your review, I was pleased to hear that you enjoyed your break here so much. Glad to hear that you liked your room and view, I hope the weather wasn't too bad when you were here, January isn't the best time here for it!

Thanks also for your comments about the helpfulness of the reception staff, I have passed on these to them. I also note your comments regarding coffee service at breakfast, and we will make more flasks available then.

I very much hope to be able to welcome you back soon,

with best wishes,

Philip Rolfe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    307
    221
    72
    29
    21
See reviews for
125
219
49
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sylva, North Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

We were in St. Andrews for the week of 11 January and had a great stay. The staff was accommodating and we ended up with a great room view. Additionally, the staff went out of their way to make sure that we were charged the correct rate when I had reserved a higher rate online. The breakfast was good, the service good, the rooms tidy and the atmosphere brilliant.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the North Sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilipRolfe, Manager at BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Dear David M,

Very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay here so much and that you had a good time.
I hope the weather behaved itself for you, so you got to see the marvellous views from the hotel!
Thank you for your kind comments and we hope to be able to welcome you back before too long.
I hope you had a safe journey home,

Kind Regards,

Philip Rolfe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

I stayed here on business for one night and could not have been happier with my stay. The location is excellent, the staff very helpful and friendly and the accommodation very good with well sized rooms. The breakfast was good and the chap who was serving breakfast excellent. Could not fault the stay. Recommend this hotel highly as it represents good value in what is an expensive town to stay in.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilipRolfe, Manager at BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear Brian R,
Thanks for your very kind review, I was pleased to hear that you were happy with your stay here and I look forward to welcoming you back in the future. I have also passed on your comments to the staff that looked after you, many thanks!
With best wishes,
Philip Rolfe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

Walked in off if the street and booked hotel for the family two kids aged 15 and 10 . Really good value. The receptionist was a little odd. The rooms are great. We got a junior suite with a view which was spectacular. The breakfast was really good. I would stay again in this charming city

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonoclarkhoward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilipRolfe, Manager at BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear Jonoclarkhoward,

It was very nice to be able to welcome you and your family here recently and I was so glad to hear that you enjoyed your break with us. Sorry the weather was a quite poor though!
I was particularly glad to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast!
Looking forward to welcoming you back again before too long,

Best wishes,

Philip Rolfe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

Bad start. Paper not delivered first morning. In formed it was necause "our" newsagent not open on Friday. A young under manager, James Wilkie overheard this stupid statement and rectified the situation.
Room service available 24 hours but not aparently on a Sunday. Grill menu offered but no hot food after 9pm. (No hot sandwiches after 6pm)
Many restaurants and bars advertised ob hotel's website but only one restaurant open and no bars but drinks could be ordered from a waitress if one could find her!
Asked for airspray as our bathroom was not ventilated. Manager said all bathrooms were ventilated. He had obviously not been to the one in room 200!
Suggested hand rails should be installed on the step steps up tp the hotel entrance but was told this was not the hotel's problem but the Fife council's who had been advised many times about the health and safety risk Food well below Best Western standards.

Room Tip: Sea view essential.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilipRolfe, Manager at BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear Tony S,

Thank you for your review, I am sorry that there were a few aspects of your stay that disappointed.

Unfortunately, our newsagent took a holiday on January 3rd, as he had worked pretty much all over the holidays, I am however, glad that your paper was eventually supplied by my colleague, James. I rtrust you received your chosen paper on the other mornings you were here.

I am not entirely sure why you said that room service wasn't available 24 hours on a Sunday. It is always available 24 hours, irresepective of the day of the week. We do not offer hot food in winter after 9pm, as experience has shown us that there is no demand and we simply cannot keep staff hanging around, just in case. We do however serve hot and cold food from 7am until 9pm and I feel that this is sufficient. As you know, we are very quiet in most of January and thats why we only had one bar (the grill) and one restuarant (the coffee shop) open. My apologies that you found the waitress difficult to track down, we need to keep a close eye on things when quiet.

Yes, you are right about a lack of ventilation in room 200, which will have to be adressed, this is due to changes made recently with the shared wall with the building next door and will be rectified.

The steps at the front are indeed the responsibility of Fife Council, and we are working to get this area improved. Unfortunately, we are not allowed to do so at the moment, but I will be keeping an eye on this so that we have something to report in due course.

I am sorry you felt that the food was "well below" BEST WESTERN standards, I am afraid I don't agree with you, as this is simply not what our many customers have been saying to us. However, we do make mistakes at times and will put right any that we do make without question.

Best Wishes,

Philip Rolfe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menstrie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013

We stayed at the Scores for a recent night out in St Andrews. The hotel is in an excellent location, overlooking the Chariots of Fire beach and the Tay Estuary beyond, and immediately adjacent to the R&A. There is no dedicated parking but there is plentiful parking nearby.

The staff at reception were excellent and very efficient indeed - to be honest these were the only staff we encountered since the hotel function rooms were taken over for a private function and the basement bar is closed for the winter season.

The room we had was first rate - billed as a junior suite, and it had the exceptional view described above - well worth asking for a room at the front. The bed was huge and very comfortable, the bathroom was spacious and had a bath with a good shower above. Both the room and bathroom had obviously been refurbed fairly recently, and all fixtures and furnishings were of excellent quality. No fridge in the room though, which isn't really compatible with the junior suite billing.

Given we had made a last minute booking and that the hotel was basically taken over by the private function, we got an excellent rate (well under £100) for the room, but we agreed that we would return to both St Andrews generally and the Scores hotel specifically for a long weekend at some point in the future. First rate.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a room at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andylovescatrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilipRolfe, Manager at BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Dear AndylovesCatrina,

It was really nice to hear your satisfaction of your stay at the hotel, many thanks for taking the time and trouble to post your report.

I have passed on your kind comments to the reception team here and I was also glad to hear that you liked your room and that you enjoyed the view from it!

We hope to see you back here for another break and we look forward to being of service to you.

Best wishes and thanks!

Philip Rolfe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

We were assigned a newly created junior suite under Alexander's Restaurant in the front of the building. Don't let the basement location put you off. The room was new, large and well appointed. The bathroom was big and beautiful. The big bay window provided plenty of light and looked up to what amounts to your own private patio. The WiFi is a very weak signal to this room and the RJ45 wire connection at the desk did not work. Mr. Eric Brown is a very gracious host and GM. Don't let the Best Western logo bother you. It's a good hotel.

Room Tip: Live a little. Get one of the suites in front (and up) with the big bay window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Golfnut77024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilipRolfe, Manager at BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Dear Golfnut77024,

Thanks for your review after your stay back in August last year.

I was pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit and even more so, when I heard that you liked your suite, you are right in saying that these basement rooms are very spacious. I think they are great, but you shouldn't let the word "basement" put you off in our context here! Sorry to hear however, that the WIFI wasn't too good, we have since modified the system and the signal is much better there now.

I hope that we will have the chance to welcome you back here soon!

Thanks again and best wishes for 2014,

Philip Rolfe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#8 of 18 in St Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,215 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#5 of 18 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
3.1 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 18 in St Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#3 of 18 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.4 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#7 of 18 in St Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
1.6 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#1 of 18 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
Address: 76 The Scores, St Andrews KY16 9BB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in St Andrews
#4 Romantic Hotel in St Andrews
#4 Business Hotel in St Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Scores Hotel is the closest hotel to the 1st tee of the world famous Old Course and the Royal and Ancient Clubhouse.A 5 minute walk will take you to many of the towns attractions including the ancient castle and cathedral ruins, the 600 year old university and the historic town centre.The hotel occupies two traditional Victorian town houses dating back to 1864 and 1880 and retains many of the large former drawing rooms as junior suites. 36 rooms in total, many of which have stunning views views over the West Sands beach whilst others enjoy an outlook over the newly landscaped garden and terraces.Champions Grill has unforgettable views of the West Sands and the 1st tee of the Old Course from its 9 large picture windows - there is no better way to start your day!Alexanders Restaurant offer quality Scottish food in a traditional Victorian setting with white linen, gold chandeliers and a magnificent view.Chariots Bar, names after the film 'Chariots of Fire' (which was partially shot on the West Sands) is a typical Scottish Snug serving Bar and Snack Menus daily, with al fresco dining weather permitting! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western St Andrews
Scores Hotel St Andrews
St. Andrews Best Western
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel St Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing