We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant weekend in St Andrews”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Scores Hotel
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in St Andrews
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Brilliant weekend in St Andrews”
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We booked a late deal and so glad we did, excellent hotel, spacious room, good food, lovely staff and the best location. We had booked a Junior Suite, the room was very spacious, nice touches of tartan on the bedding without being over the top. The suite has a king size bed and it was very comfortable, we had a great nights sleep. We had High Tea on Friday evening in the restaurant, the home bakes were lovely, and then dinner on the Saturday night. We had planned to go out in St Andrews on the Saturday but we had enjoyed the hotel restaurant on the Friday so opted to stay in. Breakfast was self service but plenty of choice and additional items to order off the menu. Eggs Benedict highly recommended.

We were made to feel extremely welcome with one of the staff (I think he was a manager but didn't get his name) chatting on the Saturday evening and then most welcoming at breakfast on Sunday morning.

WE enjoyed our stay very much and will definitely return to The Scores Hotel

Room Tip: The rooms at the front of the hotel have a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilipRolfe, Manager at Best Western Scores Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear Karen T,

Thanks for taking the time to send through your review after your stay here, it was great to meet you and I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Glad to hear that you enjoyed your meals so much and I have passed on your thanks to Chef Richard and his team, hope to see you again soon!

Best wishes,

Philip Rolfe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    310
    224
    74
    31
    21
See reviews for
131
221
49
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Our second stay here and can't wait to return! Staff are amazing - efficient and very friendly - and can't do enough for guests. Our room was lovely with an outstanding view of the beach and sea. Breakfast is great with fantastic variety for both vegetarians and meat eaters. Location can't be bettered. We will definitely be returning in the near future.

Room Tip: Take advantage of winter offers with free upgrades and sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Handsomeprince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilipRolfe, Manager at Best Western Scores Hotel, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Handsomeprince,

Glad to hear that you enjoyed your second visit here, I hope that we will see you again in the near future!
Thanks for your comments on the staff efficiency and friendliness and also how much you enjoyed the food, this was great to hear too.

Best wishes,

Philip Rolfe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

Visited hotel for family lunch and found food excellent and staff very helpful. Hotel is old traditional Scottish house with an essential small is beautiful approach. Close to miles of sand , medieval castle and old golf course.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank jame m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilipRolfe, Manager at Best Western Scores Hotel, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear Jame M,

Thanks for your review which you posted yesterday, I was pleased to hear that you enjoyed your lunch here and also to hear that you found the staff friendly.

I hope that we will see you returning to the hotel sometime soon, and I look forward to welcoming you back.

Best wishes,

Philip Rolfe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We specifically chose the Scores Hotel for it's ideal location; on the sea front but also close to the Town Centre, and were treated to a very enjoyable stay. The Reception staff were extremely friendly and helpful, and we were delighted with our room on the 3rd floor at the front of the hotel. The room was roomy and well equipped for all our needs, including WiFi and Tea / coffee making facilities.
We didn't use the Bar or Restaurant, other than for breakfast, which was very good with a great selection of freshly cooked food, though I would have preferred a pot of coffee rather than have to call for, "top up 's".
We would definitely stay again and recommend The Scores Hotel.

Room Tip: We were allocated a room at the from facing onto the Bay, as requested, and would highly recommend t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BMM21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilipRolfe, Manager at Best Western Scores Hotel, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear BMM21,

Thank you very much for posting your review, I was pleased to hear that you enjoyed your break here so much. Glad to hear that you liked your room and view, I hope the weather wasn't too bad when you were here, January isn't the best time here for it!

Thanks also for your comments about the helpfulness of the reception staff, I have passed on these to them. I also note your comments regarding coffee service at breakfast, and we will make more flasks available then.

I very much hope to be able to welcome you back soon,

with best wishes,

Philip Rolfe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sylva, North Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We were in St. Andrews for the week of 11 January and had a great stay. The staff was accommodating and we ended up with a great room view. Additionally, the staff went out of their way to make sure that we were charged the correct rate when I had reserved a higher rate online. The breakfast was good, the service good, the rooms tidy and the atmosphere brilliant.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the North Sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilipRolfe, Manager at Best Western Scores Hotel, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Dear David M,

Very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay here so much and that you had a good time.
I hope the weather behaved itself for you, so you got to see the marvellous views from the hotel!
Thank you for your kind comments and we hope to be able to welcome you back before too long.
I hope you had a safe journey home,

Kind Regards,

Philip Rolfe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

I stayed here on business for one night and could not have been happier with my stay. The location is excellent, the staff very helpful and friendly and the accommodation very good with well sized rooms. The breakfast was good and the chap who was serving breakfast excellent. Could not fault the stay. Recommend this hotel highly as it represents good value in what is an expensive town to stay in.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilipRolfe, Manager at Best Western Scores Hotel, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear Brian R,
Thanks for your very kind review, I was pleased to hear that you were happy with your stay here and I look forward to welcoming you back in the future. I have also passed on your comments to the staff that looked after you, many thanks!
With best wishes,
Philip Rolfe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#4 of 17 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#7 of 17 in St Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,244 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#5 of 17 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#3 of 17 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,017 reviews
0.4 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#6 of 17 in St Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
1.6 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#1 of 17 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Scores Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Scores Hotel

Property: Best Western Scores Hotel
Address: 76 The Scores, St Andrews KY16 9BB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in St Andrews
#4 Romantic Hotel in St Andrews
#4 Business Hotel in St Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Scores Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Scores Hotel is the closest hotel to the 1st tee of the world famous Old Course and the Royal and Ancient Clubhouse.A 5 minute walk will take you to many of the towns attractions including the ancient castle and cathedral ruins, the 600 year old university and the historic town centre.The hotel occupies two traditional Victorian town houses dating back to 1864 and 1880 and retains many of the large former drawing rooms as junior suites. 36 rooms in total, many of which have stunning views views over the West Sands beach whilst others enjoy an outlook over the newly landscaped garden and terraces.Champions Grill has unforgettable views of the West Sands and the 1st tee of the Old Course from its 9 large picture windows - there is no better way to start your day!Alexanders Restaurant offer quality Scottish food in a traditional Victorian setting with white linen, gold chandeliers and a magnificent view.Chariots Bar, names after the film 'Chariots of Fire' (which was partially shot on the West Sands) is a typical Scottish Snug serving Bar and Snack Menus daily, with al fresco dining weather permitting! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Scores Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western St Andrews
Scores Hotel St Andrews
St. Andrews Best Western
Best Western Scores Hotel St Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing