We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly and accommodating” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in St Andrews
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly and accommodating”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Stayed here for a long weekend as we were getting married in the University. It's a lovely hotel - although a bit quirky in its functionality. However the character of the place, the size of the accommodation and the really friendly staff all make for a relaxing time.

They ran an evening welcome reception for us and managed the unusual food (Basque Pintxos and Cider) to perfection. The Crema Brie was fabulous. Donna and her team did us proud. Our guests were VERY impressed with it all.

It is probably due something of an overhaul to the rooms but for the price, the location and the welcome it is great value. Having the suite with its own terrace overlooking the West Sands was very relaxing.

Room Tip: Many of the rooms have good sea views. None are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scruff1e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    308
    221
    73
    29
    21
See reviews for
126
220
49
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights and played golf at the old course. Everyone of the 8 of us could not fault any part of our stay here. We all had excellent rooms, very comfortable, spacious and clean with lovely high ceilings. The breakfast was very good, with an ample selection.
The best part of the Hotel were the staff who made us all feel very welcome and nothing was ever too much trouble.
Thanks

Ian & friends

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Forest9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumbarton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

nothing was to much trouble could not do enough to help all the staff need a particular recommendation on there care and respect of nothing was to much trouble could not have done anymore for anyone really would like to thank certain people Thank you all very much

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alig35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

we stayed for 2 nights in april and really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. we have 2 kids under six so managed to secure the flat like apartment with 2 bedrooms, for a really good price (phoned direct). location is great also, with about a 5 min walk to the town centre and 1 min walk to the beach. breakfast as you'd expect with great views.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
1 Thank Mr M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ewellis
Level Contributor
68 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

The hotel is beautifully sited, overlooking the magnificent beach at St. Andrews and within easy walking distance of the university. Our room was large, comfortable and reasonably well appointed. It's not the Ritz, but it's comfortable. Front desk staff were welcoming and pleasant, and the dining room staff were happy to meet our requests for food and drink. As a university parent, I am happy to make the Scores my St. Andrews home.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ewellis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

Stayed mid April as part of the winter golf package on a D, B & B basis. Very friendly and helpful staff and they couldn't do enough for you. Dinners and breakfasts were very good. Twin room overlooking the beach was fine.

Room Tip: The sea view rooms at the front have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drogheda, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

4 of us on a golf trip to St Andrews stayed 4 nights in the Scores Hotel. A small friendly and very welcoming hotel with a fantastic location. Excellent dinner menu and food was always pipping hot. Staff were extremely helpful and friendlys and always recognised their guests and had time for a few words with their guests. A few steps from 18th green on the old course at St Andrews. Highly recommend this hotel to visitors to St Andrews, we were fortunate and got seaview rooms to enhance our stay, the rooms were spotlessly clean and roomy. Look forward to a return visit.

Room Tip: Request seaview rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Noeline Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#4 of 18 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#8 of 18 in St Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,221 reviews
3.1 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#5 of 18 in St Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#3 of 18 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.4 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#7 of 18 in St Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
1.6 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#1 of 18 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
Address: 76 The Scores, St Andrews KY16 9BB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in St Andrews
#4 Business Hotel in St Andrews
#4 Romantic Hotel in St Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Scores Hotel is the closest hotel to the 1st tee of the world famous Old Course and the Royal and Ancient Clubhouse.A 5 minute walk will take you to many of the towns attractions including the ancient castle and cathedral ruins, the 600 year old university and the historic town centre.The hotel occupies two traditional Victorian town houses dating back to 1864 and 1880 and retains many of the large former drawing rooms as junior suites. 36 rooms in total, many of which have stunning views views over the West Sands beach whilst others enjoy an outlook over the newly landscaped garden and terraces.Champions Grill has unforgettable views of the West Sands and the 1st tee of the Old Course from its 9 large picture windows - there is no better way to start your day!Alexanders Restaurant offer quality Scottish food in a traditional Victorian setting with white linen, gold chandeliers and a magnificent view.Chariots Bar, names after the film 'Chariots of Fire' (which was partially shot on the West Sands) is a typical Scottish Snug serving Bar and Snack Menus daily, with al fresco dining weather permitting! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western St Andrews
Scores Hotel St Andrews
St. Andrews Best Western
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel St Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing