We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, Good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Scores Hotel
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in St Andrews
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great location, Good hotel”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

This hotel is all about location. Located only steps from the Old Course, a few blocks from Town Centre and a few blocks from the Castle & Cathedral. Ideal for golfers & non-golfers.

The rooms are a standard room but nice and clean. What more can you ask for. We were fortunate to have a sea view room and you could even get a peak at the Old Course too.

Our booking included breakfast which was very convenient. Breakfast included continental breakfast items as well as a hot buffet there were also some additional hot items that could be ordered off the menu. One morning we had to leave the hotel before breakfast was to start but the front desk let us know that the continental breakfast was set-up early for those heading out for early rounds of gold. So that was nice as we didn't have to sorry about finding breakfast at 6am! The staff in the restaurant was was very friendly and service was quick.

We also had a dinner included I our booking we weren't even aware of. It was a very nice 3 course meal. The hotel dining room isn't bust at all at dinner so it was also a nice quite dinner.

The front desk staff are great. Always would greet us with a smile and a hello. Very friendly. The day we checked out they even stored our luggage for us until after our round of golf so we didn't have to have it sitting I our rental car all day.

Overall a good place to stay

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 519Saskatoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilipRolfe, General Manager at Best Western Scores Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear 519Saskatoon,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel.

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and the comments about our service. The staff will always be here to greet you with a smile and a hello. We do hope to see you if you return to St Andrews in the future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    313
    231
    75
    34
    23
See reviews for
135
228
51
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Magnolia, United States
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I have stayed here twice now and I'll stay here again and again. The staff is incredibly friendly, food is good and the scenery is truly incredible. The hotel itself is beautiful and I love how they have maintained the architecture. Easy walking distance to all the great restaurants and shops. There are newer hotels in and outside of St. Andrews, however I will be hard pressed to try anything different since these folks have always made me feel welcome.

Room Tip: Parking is limited so if you can park and walk, recommend that. We did park and walked all over town...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank guinnessc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilipRolfe, General Manager at Best Western Scores Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Guinness C,

Thank-you ever so much for taking the time to post a review about the hotel. We are very pleased to hear you have enjoyed staying with us these last two times and will endevour to maintain a high standard of service for your next visit.

Looking forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenafly, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

The Scores Hotel is one of the most conveniently located hotels to the St. Andrew's Old Course and other attractions in St. Andrews. Our junior suite overlooked the Royal & Ancient Clubhouse and the 1st and 18th holes of the Old Course. The staff was very pleasant and accommodating. The on site restaurant was very good for the morning breakfast and the one dinner. Aside from easy access to the Old Course, the hotel is situated just a few minutes away from the Leuchars train station for easy access to Edinburgh. I would consider staying at the Scores Hotel during any future visit to Scotland.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Randy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My husband and I stayed here for two nights for a university reunion. We were given a room overlooking the sea, which was much appreciated, as the St Andrew view is wonderful. The rooms were comfortable and well appointed, the breakfast was good, but what really stood out was the service - all staff were exceptionallly pleasant and helpful, especially the reception staff. A very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lesley_wilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Me & my fiancé stayed here for an overnight on our trip to St. Andrews recently and I found this to be a really pleasant hotel. All the staff were friendly, the room was spacious and the bathroom was a good size also. The bed was extremely comfortable and our room was at the front which meant we had a fantastic sea view to wake up to which was lovely.
The breakfast was good and the hotel is in a great location especially if you are travelling to play golf as it's literally a two minute walk from the Old Course.
It's a 5-10 minute walk to town centre/shops etc so overall a great and enjoyable stay. Would definitely recommend.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tinkerbell1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Augustine, Florida, United States
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Scores is the most conveniently located hotel to the Old Course in St. Andrews. Right outside the front door is the R&A and the first tee box and 18th hole of the Old Course. The service was excellent and the rooms were very spacious for two people. We had a total of 12 guys on our trip and everyone felt that the accommodations were superb. There was a complimentary breakfast every morning that has a wide variety of delicious hot and cold items to choose from. We also ate dinner there twice and the food was very good as well. The Haddock and chips was perfect and my friends raved about the lamb shank. Scores is also located close to 2 of the best pubs in St. Andrews, Dunvegan and 1 Golf Place. I am sure there are other hotels like the Old Course Hotel with more amenities, but Scores can't be beat for cost, location and service.

Room Tip: 104 has a great view of the North Sea and the R&A.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Mass.
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Location is wonderful for a group of golfers; within a short pitch shot of the Old Course as well as many good restaurants (Little Italy, Forgans) and pubs; staff was friendly and helpful; and the rooms were simple and clean. All (including price) considered, an excellent choice when staying in St. Andrews.

Room Tip: Upper floors; 3rd floor would be best choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank indeptrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
3.1 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 17 in St Andrews
3,197 reviews
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#7 of 17 in St Andrews
1,286 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#5 of 17 in St Andrews
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#3 of 17 in St Andrews
396 reviews
0.1 mi away
Greyfriars Hotel
Greyfriars Hotel
#11 of 17 in St Andrews
311 reviews
6.4 mi away
Drumoig Golf Hotel
Drumoig Golf Hotel
#1 of 1 in Drumoig
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Scores Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Scores Hotel

Property: Best Western Scores Hotel
Address: 76 The Scores, St Andrews KY16 9BB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in St Andrews
#3 On the Beach Hotel in St Andrews
#4 Business Hotel in St Andrews
#4 Romantic Hotel in St Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Scores Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Scores Hotel is the closest hotel to the 1st tee of the world famous Old Course and the Royal and Ancient Clubhouse.A 5 minute walk will take you to many of the towns attractions including the ancient castle and cathedral ruins, the 600 year old university and the historic town centre.The hotel occupies two traditional Victorian town houses dating back to 1864 and 1880 and retains many of the large former drawing rooms as junior suites. 36 rooms in total, many of which have stunning views views over the West Sands beach whilst others enjoy an outlook over the newly landscaped garden and terraces.Champions Grill has unforgettable views of the West Sands and the 1st tee of the Old Course from its 9 large picture windows - there is no better way to start your day!Alexanders Restaurant offer quality Scottish food in a traditional Victorian setting with white linen, gold chandeliers and a magnificent view.Chariots Bar, names after the film 'Chariots of Fire' (which was partially shot on the West Sands) is a typical Scottish Snug serving Bar and Snack Menus daily, with al fresco dining weather permitting! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Scores Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western St Andrews
Scores Hotel St Andrews
St. Andrews Best Western
Best Western Scores Hotel St Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing