We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Scores Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
The Dunvegan Hotel(St Andrews)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ardgowan Hotel(St Andrews)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Du Vin(St Andrews)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hazelbank Hotel(St Andrews)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Russell Hotel(St Andrews)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vardon House(St Andrews)
View Hotel
Greyfriars Inn(St Andrews)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Kinnettles Hotel(St Andrews)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Albany Hotel(St Andrews)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (715)
Filter reviews
716 results
Traveller rating
327
248
79
37
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
327
248
79
37
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationwest sandsjunior suitegolf coursesea viewtraditional hotelfantastic roomroom was largeenjoyable stayfantastic viewsthird floorbreakfast roomgolf tripshort staystayed for one nightbreakfast was excellentplay golf
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
323 - 328 of 716 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2014

This hotel is all about location. Located only steps from the Old Course, a few blocks from Town Centre and a few blocks from the Castle & Cathedral. Ideal for golfers & non-golfers.

The rooms are a standard room but nice and clean. What more can you ask for. We were fortunate to have a sea view room and you could even get a peak at the Old Course too.

Our booking included breakfast which was very convenient. Breakfast included continental breakfast items as well as a hot buffet there were also some additional hot items that could be ordered off the menu. One morning we had to leave the hotel before breakfast was to start but the front desk let us know that the continental breakfast was set-up early for those heading out for early rounds of gold. So that was nice as we didn't have to sorry about finding breakfast at 6am! The staff in the restaurant was was very friendly and service was quick.

We also had a dinner included I our booking we weren't even aware of. It was a very nice 3 course meal. The hotel dining room isn't bust at all at dinner so it was also a nice quite dinner.

The front desk staff are great. Always would greet us with a smile and a hello. Very friendly. The day we checked out they even stored our luggage for us until after our round of golf so we didn't have to have it sitting I our rental car all day.

Overall a good place to stay

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 519Saskatoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilipRolfe, General Manager at Best Western Scores Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear 519Saskatoon,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel.

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and the comments about our service. The staff will always be here to greet you with a smile and a hello. We do hope to see you if you return to St Andrews in the future.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I have stayed here twice now and I'll stay here again and again. The staff is incredibly friendly, food is good and the scenery is truly incredible. The hotel itself is beautiful and I love how they have maintained the architecture. Easy walking distance to all the great restaurants and shops. There are newer hotels in and outside of St. Andrews, however I will be hard pressed to try anything different since these folks have always made me feel welcome.

Room Tip: Parking is limited so if you can park and walk, recommend that. We did park and walked all over town and thoroughly enjoyed it.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank guinnessc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilipRolfe, General Manager at Best Western Scores Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear Guinness C,

Thank-you ever so much for taking the time to post a review about the hotel. We are very pleased to hear you have enjoyed staying with us these last two times and will endevour to maintain a high standard of service for your next visit.

Looking forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

The Scores Hotel is one of the most conveniently located hotels to the St. Andrew's Old Course and other attractions in St. Andrews. Our junior suite overlooked the Royal & Ancient Clubhouse and the 1st and 18th holes of the Old Course. The staff was very pleasant and accommodating. The on site restaurant was very good for the morning breakfast and the one dinner. Aside from easy access to the Old Course, the hotel is situated just a few minutes away from the Leuchars train station for easy access to Edinburgh. I would consider staying at the Scores Hotel during any future visit to Scotland.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Randy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My husband and I stayed here for two nights for a university reunion. We were given a room overlooking the sea, which was much appreciated, as the St Andrew view is wonderful. The rooms were comfortable and well appointed, the breakfast was good, but what really stood out was the service - all staff were exceptionallly pleasant and helpful, especially the reception staff. A very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lesley_wilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Me & my fiancé stayed here for an overnight on our trip to St. Andrews recently and I found this to be a really pleasant hotel. All the staff were friendly, the room was spacious and the bathroom was a good size also. The bed was extremely comfortable and our room was at the front which meant we had a fantastic sea view to wake up to which was lovely.
The breakfast was good and the hotel is in a great location especially if you are travelling to play golf as it's literally a two minute walk from the Old Course.
It's a 5-10 minute walk to town centre/shops etc so overall a great and enjoyable stay. Would definitely recommend.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Tinkerbell1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews