We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A dorm is still a dorm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Agnes Blackadder Hall - University of St Andrews
Reviewed 12 June 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights as a part of a conference. This is a dormitory complex on the newer part of the university campus (not by the beautiful stately 600 year old buildings of St. Andrews). The rooms were so small it was difficult to move around the bed. The bathroom flooded while the shower was on and there was a note to keep the door closed so the shower steam would not set off the fire alarm (?). There was no iron for clothes or hair dryer, but there was a laundry with an iron on the first floor. The bed was quite uncomfortable. There was a 10 inch tube TV mounted on the wall. You could pretty much hear anyone talking in the halls or shutting the many firedoors. The halls were like a maze and there was only one small coffin-like lift in the whole complex.

The internet connection was really annoying. While we were given access to the internet for free, you had to log back in after only 5 minutes of down time with a long complicated code - ugh!

There was free parking, easy check-in, and the breakfasts were included and reasonably good. While this was an economical alternative to the expensive hotels, there were a number of B&Bs that offered more comfortable accommodations at a similar price.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DrTom234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2012

Our room was modern, comfortable and spotlessly clean. New Hall is an easy walk from the centre of St Andrews, and provides ecellant value if you don't need hotal trappings such as room service or a trouser press. We had an en-suite family room and the children (10 and 14) loved it. A good quality buffet breakfast is included too.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Man-in-black-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResidenceManager13, Manager at Agnes Blackadder Hall - University of St Andrews, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2013

Thank you very much, glad you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

The inexpensive lodgings in the New Hall residence on the grounds of St. Andrews University was really perfect for our two-day stay. Staff are friendly and available, and the rooms, while spartan, were fully adequate. Breakfast was quite generous, and even haggis was on the menu. New Hall is an easy walk from the bus station and downtown.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kawayne41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

This was my first visit to St Andrews and was pleasantly surprised at the value for money accomodation offered by the University, my wife,12 year old son and i stayed in a twin room in the new halls for £99 for bed and breakfast which was all you can eat buffet style. St Andrews is stunning and this is a great way to see the sights on a budget

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Very good value, with excellent breakfast - they will even cook up fish for you freshly and the vegetarian options was fantastic. Tiny rooms but with all the relevant features, decent showers etc.

Don't come here for a romantic break, but do if you need somewhere sensible to seep in St Andrews.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012 via mobile

My son suggested we try this accommodation and it was a really good shout. Spacious room with 2 double beds. Plenty of towels, toiletries. There was a tv, kettle with tea bags n biscuits in the room. There is also vending machine in lobby with a bar and dining area where brekkie was served which was included.Laundry on site with iron and hair dryer available on request. There is free parking also available and a permit provided. Friendly reception area and tourist info readily available.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Scozziemythbuster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

As an alumni who never stayed in hall, it was great to finally get the chance on my recent visit.

Other reviewers have noted that rooms are small. They're not massive, but we booked a twin (which is actually a double double) and had plenty of room, including a large wardrobe and two desks. Beds had cheap mattresses, but were fine for one night. Shower was well powered. Overall, rooms were clean but very very warm. We had the windows open 24/7 and were never cool, and the sun rarely came out.

Reviewers are correct when they note that the hotel is a ten minute walk from the town; but so is the Old Course Hotel ... A shop would be good though, agreed. Breakfast is entirely self-service so somewhat chaotic, but excellent quality.

Overall, if you set your expectation for a budget hotel similar to Travelodge or Premier Inn, you won't be disappointed. You might even be delighted. You'll definitely have money leftover to eat and drink somewhere lovely.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DoctorSpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
3.3 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#5 of 17 in St Andrews
3,413 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#6 of 17 in St Andrews
407 reviews
6.4 mi away
Drumoig Golf Hotel
Drumoig Golf Hotel
#1 of 1 in Drumoig
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa
5.2 mi away
The Inn at Lathones
The Inn at Lathones
#1 of 1 in Lathones
535 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Inn at Kingsbarns
The Inn at Kingsbarns
#1 of 3 in Kingsbarns
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agnes Blackadder Hall - University of St Andrews? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agnes Blackadder Hall - University of St Andrews

Address: Agnes Blackadder Hall North Haugh | North Haugh, St Andrews KY16 9XW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 Speciality Lodging in St Andrews
Price Range: £78 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Agnes Blackadder Hall - University of St Andrews 3*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open June-August only. Agnes Blackadder Hall is the University of St Andrews' premier residence. We offer the perfect base for those wanting to explore St Andrews, play on the world famous links courses and discover all that the Kingdom of Fife has to offer during the summer months. Our double rooms all feature an en-suite shower room, television, telephone and tea and coffee making facilities. Family rooms are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Agnes Blackadder Hall - University of St Andrews reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Hall - University Of St Andrews Hotel St. Andrews
Agnes Blackadder Hall - University Of St Andrews Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing