We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still good value.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Agnes Blackadder Hall - University of St Andrews
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Still good value.”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Like the previous reviewer I've been staying at the Agnes Blackadder Hall for several years, and i agree with much that was said. But I still believe it represents the best value available in this very expensive town. You just won't get ensuite accomodation plus in room tea/coffee, TV and a magniificent breakfast for under £60 anywhere else in St Andrews.

The price has gone up - but only by £5 in the past 5 years. And during the recent Women's Golf Championship Agnes Blackadder might have been tempted to put the price up - they didn't. For a reality check - it's a student residence, and there's no soundproofing between the rooms, the TV's are prehistoric, requiring two remotes and no instructions, but that might not matter to some people. I was, I admit, disappointed to find the coffee shop/bar closed until 5pm, and the excellent 3 course evening meal for about £17 no longer available; this does matter, because AB Hall is some distance from the restaurants in the town, and therefore guests have no choice but to spend their evenings away from their hotel. This must be a problem for conferences. It also means there's no comfortable room to relax in during the day.

The staff are delightful, the rooms clean and the public areas airy and attractive. I guess you just get what you pay for. And maybe this is now a B&B rather than a hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AbigailScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    70
    32
    6
    3
See reviews for
23
69
15
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stayed in a double room in the halls in August 2013 for 2 nights. Our expectations were not high but we were pleasantly surprised. The rooms are small but clean. The en suite shower was in no way powerful but we managed, and the water was piping hot so no complaints there. Staff are very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was brilliant. Buffet style, good quality and so much choice. The walls aren't really sound-proof but we took ear plugs and had a perfect night's sleep. We would definitely stay again for a short stay.

Room Tip: Take ear plugs. For cooked breakfast arrive early to beat the queue
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We have enjoyed going to Agnes Blackadder Hall (formerly New Hall) over the years. It is well located, clean, staff are friendly. Each year I return, there is a wee bit less given to the guests the complimentary toiletries have gone from impressive free toilet bag with shoe shine, nail file, shower cap etc, to the standard tiny soap and bottle of body wash. The platters of fresh cut fruit for breakfast have been replaced by tinned fruit. These cuts it could be argued are reasonable given the times we live in. However, this year when we went there were no papers and no coffee bar during the day. This is a cut too far. Drinking a cup of tea and having a scone or similar while reading the papers as it rains outside is to me an essential facility for any place which makes the claim to be the equivalent of a three star hotel. Oh and did I mention of course as these cuts have been taking place, the prices have gone up.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teatree55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

We used this location as a base for my brothers stag. It was ideal as it was within the price range, had parking and we all got full breakfasts to help with the hangover. Be prepared for a bit of a walk from reception to the rooms as some can be over 5/10 mins trek. We booked a mix of single and double occupancy with the guys sharing getting 2x double beds. Showers are a bit weak for water pressure. This is a basic room but would compare it to a premier inn or travel lodge ( this is better). Easy walk to town.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scaroha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
237 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We stayed here for three nights in conjunction with a meeting I was attending on campus. From that perspective, the location couldn't have been better. I'd have to say it offered far more than any university dorm I ever lived in! For two people, the dorm room was a bit snug, but I won't complain. The breakfast was worth the trip. They offered a complete English breakfast, ranging from haggis to a range of vegetraian options. In addition, they offered a varied cold buffet, including a wonderful mixed berry compote. We never quite got around to trying the pub as our event kept us going, with evening activities primarily in University-connected facilities.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NoPegasus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013 via mobile

A very pleasant surprise
when I found out it was student accommodation wasn't looking forward to it but was it a surprise brilliant service spotless rooms great location five minute walk to the town
Had some food in the Vic great service in there too
Would recommend it to anyone thinking of staying in St. Andrews on a budget

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
446 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

If you are looking for value accommodation in St. Andrews that is within walking distance of the St. Andrews' golf courses and the main town of St. Andrews, the Agnes Blackadder Hall is a good option. It is a 10-15 minute walk to either of the St. Andrews' club houses, and about 10 minutes to the main part of the town. The rooms are somewhat dated, basic and compact. There is a small television and bathroom in each room. This is not 4 star accommodation but it is good value for the money. There is a small "pub" downstairs and several sitting areas. Breakfast is included (avoid the scrambled eggs, do not be afraid to try the haggis). Internet is available for a fee.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don_K_Kingston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#6 of 17 in St Andrews
340 reviews
6.4 mi away
Drumoig Golf Hotel
Drumoig Golf Hotel
#1 of 1 in Drumoig
210 reviews
3.3 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 17 in St Andrews
3,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#7 of 17 in St Andrews
1,270 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#13 of 17 in St Andrews
672 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#5 of 17 in St Andrews
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agnes Blackadder Hall - University of St Andrews? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agnes Blackadder Hall - University of St Andrews

Property: Agnes Blackadder Hall - University of St Andrews
Address: Agnes Blackadder Hall North Haugh | North Haugh, St Andrews KY16 9XW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 Speciality Lodging in St Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Agnes Blackadder Hall - University of St Andrews 3*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open June-August only. Agnes Blackadder Hall is the University of St Andrews' premier residence. We offer the perfect base for those wanting to explore St Andrews, play on the world famous links courses and discover all that the Kingdom of Fife has to offer during the summer months. Our double rooms all feature an en-suite shower room, television, telephone and tea and coffee making facilities. Family rooms are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Agnes Blackadder Hall - University of St Andrews reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Hall - University Of St Andrews Hotel St. Andrews
Agnes Blackadder Hall - University Of St Andrews Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing