We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Agnes Blackadder Hall - University of St Andrews
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a long weekend and found it very convenient for the beach and the bus station. The bar meals are well priced. The breakfast service was very efficient given the large number of guests. If you need a taxi back from town, it will cost around £4. We found the staff friendly. The room we stayed in was particularly peaceful. I would agree that given the cost of other accommodation in the town, this is very good value for money.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Trish14-15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    69
    32
    6
    3
See reviews for
23
68
14
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Filey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

We used this place for the woman's open golf. We were well impressed it is clean, tidy. The rooms are a good size and good value for money. Short walk to the golf @ St. Andrews or the town centre. Breakfast was varied and plentiful. Would use again.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Clipps11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

Like the previous reviewer I've been staying at the Agnes Blackadder Hall for several years, and i agree with much that was said. But I still believe it represents the best value available in this very expensive town. You just won't get ensuite accomodation plus in room tea/coffee, TV and a magniificent breakfast for under £60 anywhere else in St Andrews.

The price has gone up - but only by £5 in the past 5 years. And during the recent Women's Golf Championship Agnes Blackadder might have been tempted to put the price up - they didn't. For a reality check - it's a student residence, and there's no soundproofing between the rooms, the TV's are prehistoric, requiring two remotes and no instructions, but that might not matter to some people. I was, I admit, disappointed to find the coffee shop/bar closed until 5pm, and the excellent 3 course evening meal for about £17 no longer available; this does matter, because AB Hall is some distance from the restaurants in the town, and therefore guests have no choice but to spend their evenings away from their hotel. This must be a problem for conferences. It also means there's no comfortable room to relax in during the day.

The staff are delightful, the rooms clean and the public areas airy and attractive. I guess you just get what you pay for. And maybe this is now a B&B rather than a hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AbigailScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stayed in a double room in the halls in August 2013 for 2 nights. Our expectations were not high but we were pleasantly surprised. The rooms are small but clean. The en suite shower was in no way powerful but we managed, and the water was piping hot so no complaints there. Staff are very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was brilliant. Buffet style, good quality and so much choice. The walls aren't really sound-proof but we took ear plugs and had a perfect night's sleep. We would definitely stay again for a short stay.

Room Tip: Take ear plugs. For cooked breakfast arrive early to beat the queue
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

We have enjoyed going to Agnes Blackadder Hall (formerly New Hall) over the years. It is well located, clean, staff are friendly. Each year I return, there is a wee bit less given to the guests the complimentary toiletries have gone from impressive free toilet bag with shoe shine, nail file, shower cap etc, to the standard tiny soap and bottle of body wash. The platters of fresh cut fruit for breakfast have been replaced by tinned fruit. These cuts it could be argued are reasonable given the times we live in. However, this year when we went there were no papers and no coffee bar during the day. This is a cut too far. Drinking a cup of tea and having a scone or similar while reading the papers as it rains outside is to me an essential facility for any place which makes the claim to be the equivalent of a three star hotel. Oh and did I mention of course as these cuts have been taking place, the prices have gone up.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teatree55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

We used this location as a base for my brothers stag. It was ideal as it was within the price range, had parking and we all got full breakfasts to help with the hangover. Be prepared for a bit of a walk from reception to the rooms as some can be over 5/10 mins trek. We booked a mix of single and double occupancy with the guys sharing getting 2x double beds. Showers are a bit weak for water pressure. This is a basic room but would compare it to a premier inn or travel lodge ( this is better). Easy walk to town.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scaroha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
221 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

We stayed here for three nights in conjunction with a meeting I was attending on campus. From that perspective, the location couldn't have been better. I'd have to say it offered far more than any university dorm I ever lived in! For two people, the dorm room was a bit snug, but I won't complain. The breakfast was worth the trip. They offered a complete English breakfast, ranging from haggis to a range of vegetraian options. In addition, they offered a varied cold buffet, including a wonderful mixed berry compote. We never quite got around to trying the pub as our event kept us going, with evening activities primarily in University-connected facilities.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NoPegasus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#5 of 18 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#3 of 18 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
#10 of 18 in St Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 18 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,981 reviews
6.4 mi away
Drumoig Golf Hotel
Drumoig Golf Hotel
#1 of 1 in Drumoig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#8 of 18 in St Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agnes Blackadder Hall - University of St Andrews? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agnes Blackadder Hall - University of St Andrews

Property: Agnes Blackadder Hall - University of St Andrews
Address: Agnes Blackadder Hall North Haugh | North Haugh, St Andrews KY16 9XW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 Speciality Lodging in St Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Agnes Blackadder Hall - University of St Andrews 3*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open June-August only. Agnes Blackadder Hall is the University of St Andrews' premier residence. We offer the perfect base for those wanting to explore St Andrews, play on the world famous links courses and discover all that the Kingdom of Fife has to offer during the summer months. Our double rooms all feature an en-suite shower room, television, telephone and tea and coffee making facilities. Family rooms are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Hotel.de, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Agnes Blackadder Hall - University of St Andrews reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Hall - University Of St Andrews Hotel St. Andrews
Agnes Blackadder Hall - University Of St Andrews Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing